We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with an amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Ranked #16 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with an amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is a gem. Hotels in HK are typically tiny due to space constraints, but because the property is located in Shatin, room size is exceptional.

Definitely go for the rooms facing the harbour, views are to die for, with a huge glass window spanning from the bay window to the ceiling. Service is also great. Absolutely loved my stay here!

As mentioned, the only negative point about this property is the location, but it is an easy 30 minute ride to the city centre, or you can get a taxi. There's also a shuttle bus that brings you to Hyatt at Tsim Tsa Tsui. I had no problems with the location at all since the hotel is right next to the train station and I have no interest staying in the city centre, where is it noisy and dirty.

Did not try the breakfast here so no comments. The Peking Duck at the hotel restaurant is supposedly good and locals drive here for the dish, would love to try it next time.

I also stayed at Hyatt Tokyo, which paled in comparison. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for rooms facing the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen_cjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,754
    590
    134
    44
    22
See reviews for
367
557
168
1,165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have stayed in the Grand Hyatt a couple of times and find it lovely. The rooms aren't huge but they have everything you need and a view! . The Italian Restaurant and the Chinese Restaurant are considered two of the BEST in HK! The hidden extra is the pool area/spa/grill.....after a busy morning it is the PERFECT place to relax. The pool is beautiful and heated..I was there when the outside temp was 68/70. I had a wonderful poolside lunch and then relaxed on the terry covered chaises. There is a lot of construction outside the hotel but that is true of most of HK. The Harbor view is Grand and it is a 5 min(or less) taxi ride to the Star Ferry, which takes you to Kowloon.
I will certainly stay there again next Feb!

Room Tip: It has a wonderful Grand Club on the 30th floor if you can have access to that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryWilNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

i stayed at the hotel for work for two nights, in room 1707.
the level of service ive experienced was amazing - almost all of the staff i encountered left a wonderful impression. (there was a rather brusque woman at check in though, but she was the only one).
the room is not huge, but it's ok.
it is rather dated but there is a grandeur.
the hotel is undergoing some renovation and it gets noisy. I was ok with it because you'll get used to the sound.

Room Tip: room 1707 doesn't have any sort of view, so if a view is important to you, avoid this series.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kceteew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Turner217
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My father and I stayed at this hotel in January 2013. When you first walk into the lobby the lobby is just stunning. Staff that worked at the front desk were beyond friendly, and spoke english well. The rooms are nice and clean, the bathroom was very lovely, and was always warm. The hotel was in a good location to get to the Star Ferry for an easy commute to Lantau Island. It's a very short walk from the hotel. We had no problems getting anywhere as the hotel staff at the front desk made it very easy to understand with maps, and cards that you can give to the cab driver. We had a great view from our room of all the buildings that lit up, you could also see the buildings on Lantau Island. The breakfast buffet was perfect. It was kept clean, and had so many options you didn't know where to start. Staff was very attentive and friendly. I also used the fitness center while I was staying there. Very clean, staff was friendly. They also give you bottled water if you ask. This was one of the best stays at a Hyatt I've ever had, and I've stayed at quite a few. I'm selecting family for the "What sort of trip was this?" because I was with my father.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Turner217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong during the Chinese New Year. Everything was wonderful: the hotel, the room, the view, the food and drink, the staff. We even loved the elevators and the toiletries.

The top few floors of the Grand Hyatt are in an area that looks and feels like a separate small hotel. The main elevators take guests to the 30th floor, which is dominated by the Grand Club. The club is among the largest and most impressive we’ve encountered at any hotel anywhere in the world. There’s a reception desk which is usually staffed by two or three people, a sitting area the size of a small hotel lobby, and a stairway that leads to a dining room the size of many hotel restaurants. Both floors of the club have breathtaking views of the city, the harbor, and the islands and mountains beyond. Adjacent to the club are two small elevators that take club-level guests to their rooms on higher floors. (These are the elevators we loved: instead of enclosed boxes they are platforms with faux-Victorian handrails enclosed in glass cylinders that afford more beautiful views.)

We were staying on the club level because we are lucky enough to get occasional suite upgrades from the Hyatt Gold Passport program. Of course, hotel upgrades aren't always as good as they sound: at many hotels the "suite" is a just a bedroom with a small adjacent study sitting or study area. At the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, however, you really know you are in a suite. We had a spacious and elegant Ambassador Suite, consisting of an enormous living room with an office (desk, credenza, fax machine, etc.) at one end and a large and comfortable sitting area at the other; a large bedroom and bathroom; an extra half-bath off the living room; and a small galley-style kitchen, also off the living room with a separate entrance from the hallway. The walls, the floors, and the furnishings were exquisite: lots of marble and hardwood, no synthetic materials that I could find. And both the living room and the bedroom had the same extraordinary city and harbor views we had seen in the Grand Club.

Prior to our arrival we had been slightly apprehensive, because we had read a few reviews by people who suggested that the Grand Hyatt is “outdated” or “tired”. While those who are looking for a sleek and shiny chrome-and-glass hotel that was built the day before yesterday should stay elsewhere, everything we saw was well-maintained and looked great. Hotels like this are evidence that when it comes to high-end construction and decor older is usually better, since newer often means more compromises, short-cuts, and gimmicks. Indeed, I was surprised to learn that the Grand Hyatt is only about thirty years old, since so many of the details reminded me of those to be found in pre-World War II buildings in New York and other cities.

As impressive as the physical setting is, the hotel staff is even better. In addition to the reception desk staff and the waiters and waitresses the Grand Club has several butlers. We did not make many requests so we never learned the full range of what the butlers do, but one of them did offer to unpack our bags for us, and when we requested ice in the room another butler arrived in a couple of minutes with the largest and most expensive-looking ice bucket I’ve ever seen. The club staff is led by manager Jake McHugh, a preternaturally nice person who seems to work from early morning until late at night and who knows everything there is to know about Hong Kong and more besides. But it’s not just the Club staff who are terrific: others with whom we dealt, from Front Office Manager Rike Erdbrink and her colleagues to the concierges and bell staff and the hotel driver who took us to the train station, all displayed extraordinary levels of efficiency, capability, and courtesy.

Another feature we liked is the large and well-equipped fitness center – not just an exercise room – that’s open 24 hours a day. The hotel restaurants are also said to be good, but we didn't eat at these restaurants, in part because we were more than satisfied with the breakfasts and evening cocktails/hors d'oeuvres in the Grand Club, and also because we wanted to sample Hong Kong specialties at some of the small "local" restaurants in Wan Chai.

The Grand Hyatt’s only mild drawback is that it’s not as close as many other hotels to Hong Kong’s excellent public transportation system. The nearest MRT station, Wan Chai, is about a ten-minute walk, and the nearest stop for the free shuttle to the Airport Express train is at the Convention Center, also several minutes’ walk from the hotel – there’s a covered bridge but most people will still find it too far to walk with anything beyond carry-on luggage. Fortunately, taxis are plentiful and inexpensive: the fare to Hong Kong station (the Airport Express terminus) and most other downtown locations is in the range of four to six US dollars.

Our stay at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong was not only among the high points of a wonderful vacation, it ranks among the best hotel experiences we’ve ever had. We have stayed at only a few of the hundred or so hotels that are generally regarded as among the best in the world – the Oberoi in Mumbai, the President Wilson in Geneva, the Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel, the Royal Hawaiian and the Waldorf-Astoria come to mind – but the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is as good as any of these world-class hotels and better than most.

Room Tip: If you can possibly afford it, consider booking a club-level room; the Grand Club experience at this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AssimilatedCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Grand Harbour king room on the 18th floor. It had a great view over the Harbour to Kowloon. Unfortunately both the weather and the pollution was dreadful so the view was often obscured. Also they are doing major renovations around the Harbour so the view will be better in the future. They are also renovating inside the hotel and between 10-5 weekdays you can definitely hear and feel the jack hammers. However we were hardly in the room so it wasn't an issue. We ended up with our daughter staying unexpectedly and there was still enough space in the room. It is a bit dated but still lovely. The breakfast was fantastic. The staff are always available to help you in any way possible. The pool is fantastic. They also held our bags on our last day and then let us return, have a shower in the most well appointed pool bathroom and helped organise our taxi to the airport! It is pricey but the service and overall quality is well worth it. Great location. Handy to subway, ferry, trams and there is always a taxi. Greta stay!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I returned here in December for the first time in 2 years and feel it is looking tired. On the same trip also stayed at the Four Seasons which is better. Rooms at the GH are very comfortable and the club level service is excellent. Breakfast food is good but again FS beat it. The location is slightly out of the way - you need a taxi to get almost anywhere although it is only a short walk to wanchai star ferry

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,768 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,466 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Property: Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel is only 5 minutes by car from Central and Causeway Bay; and 40 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong features 542 luxurious rooms and suites, nine acclaimed restaurants and bars offering a fabulous range of cuisines including Chinese, Italian, Japanese and international fare, in the heart of the Wanchai district. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong boasts extensive entertainment facilities such as a 50-metre outdoor heated pool and a 24-hour fitness studios and a 400-metre jogging path. Please be informed of the waterfront promenade project that is currently undertaking outside the hotel. The project is at times visible from and audible at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing