We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,200)
Filter reviews
3,200 results
Traveler rating
2,240
717
159
49
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,240
717
159
49
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiffingrissinigrand club loungeharbour roadconvention centerconstruction noisebusiness hotelbusiness tripvictoria harborchinese restaurantharbor view roomexcellent hotelfour seasonsmtr stationhongghrenovation
Filter
Updating list...
2,018 - 2,023 of 3,200 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

i stayed at the hotel for work for two nights, in room 1707.
the level of service ive experienced was amazing - almost all of the staff i encountered left a wonderful impression. (there was a rather brusque woman at check in though, but she was the only one).
the room is not huge, but it's ok.
it is rather dated but there is a grandeur.
the hotel is undergoing some renovation and it gets noisy. I was ok with it because you'll get used to the sound.

Room Tip: room 1707 doesn't have any sort of view, so if a view is important to you, avoid this series.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kceteew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My father and I stayed at this hotel in January 2013. When you first walk into the lobby the lobby is just stunning. Staff that worked at the front desk were beyond friendly, and spoke english well. The rooms are nice and clean, the bathroom was very lovely, and was always warm. The hotel was in a good location to get to the Star Ferry for an easy commute to Lantau Island. It's a very short walk from the hotel. We had no problems getting anywhere as the hotel staff at the front desk made it very easy to understand with maps, and cards that you can give to the cab driver. We had a great view from our room of all the buildings that lit up, you could also see the buildings on Lantau Island. The breakfast buffet was perfect. It was kept clean, and had so many options you didn't know where to start. Staff was very attentive and friendly. I also used the fitness center while I was staying there. Very clean, staff was friendly. They also give you bottled water if you ask. This was one of the best stays at a Hyatt I've ever had, and I've stayed at quite a few. I'm selecting family for the "What sort of trip was this?" because I was with my father.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Turner217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong during the Chinese New Year. Everything was wonderful: the hotel, the room, the view, the food and drink, the staff. We even loved the elevators and the toiletries.

The top few floors of the Grand Hyatt are in an area that looks and feels like a separate small hotel. The main elevators take guests to the 30th floor, which is dominated by the Grand Club. The club is among the largest and most impressive we’ve encountered at any hotel anywhere in the world. There’s a reception desk which is usually staffed by two or three people, a sitting area the size of a small hotel lobby, and a stairway that leads to a dining room the size of many hotel restaurants. Both floors of the club have breathtaking views of the city, the harbor, and the islands and mountains beyond. Adjacent to the club are two small elevators that take club-level guests to their rooms on higher floors. (These are the elevators we loved: instead of enclosed boxes they are platforms with faux-Victorian handrails enclosed in glass cylinders that afford more beautiful views.)

We were staying on the club level because we are lucky enough to get occasional suite upgrades from the Hyatt Gold Passport program. Of course, hotel upgrades aren't always as good as they sound: at many hotels the "suite" is a just a bedroom with a small adjacent study sitting or study area. At the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, however, you really know you are in a suite. We had a spacious and elegant Ambassador Suite, consisting of an enormous living room with an office (desk, credenza, fax machine, etc.) at one end and a large and comfortable sitting area at the other; a large bedroom and bathroom; an extra half-bath off the living room; and a small galley-style kitchen, also off the living room with a separate entrance from the hallway. The walls, the floors, and the furnishings were exquisite: lots of marble and hardwood, no synthetic materials that I could find. And both the living room and the bedroom had the same extraordinary city and harbor views we had seen in the Grand Club.

Prior to our arrival we had been slightly apprehensive, because we had read a few reviews by people who suggested that the Grand Hyatt is “outdated” or “tired”. While those who are looking for a sleek and shiny chrome-and-glass hotel that was built the day before yesterday should stay elsewhere, everything we saw was well-maintained and looked great. Hotels like this are evidence that when it comes to high-end construction and decor older is usually better, since newer often means more compromises, short-cuts, and gimmicks. Indeed, I was surprised to learn that the Grand Hyatt is only about thirty years old, since so many of the details reminded me of those to be found in pre-World War II buildings in New York and other cities.

As impressive as the physical setting is, the hotel staff is even better. In addition to the reception desk staff and the waiters and waitresses the Grand Club has several butlers. We did not make many requests so we never learned the full range of what the butlers do, but one of them did offer to unpack our bags for us, and when we requested ice in the room another butler arrived in a couple of minutes with the largest and most expensive-looking ice bucket I’ve ever seen. The club staff is led by manager Jake McHugh, a preternaturally nice person who seems to work from early morning until late at night and who knows everything there is to know about Hong Kong and more besides. But it’s not just the Club staff who are terrific: others with whom we dealt, from Front Office Manager Rike Erdbrink and her colleagues to the concierges and bell staff and the hotel driver who took us to the train station, all displayed extraordinary levels of efficiency, capability, and courtesy.

Another feature we liked is the large and well-equipped fitness center – not just an exercise room – that’s open 24 hours a day. The hotel restaurants are also said to be good, but we didn't eat at these restaurants, in part because we were more than satisfied with the breakfasts and evening cocktails/hors d'oeuvres in the Grand Club, and also because we wanted to sample Hong Kong specialties at some of the small "local" restaurants in Wan Chai.

The Grand Hyatt’s only mild drawback is that it’s not as close as many other hotels to Hong Kong’s excellent public transportation system. The nearest MRT station, Wan Chai, is about a ten-minute walk, and the nearest stop for the free shuttle to the Airport Express train is at the Convention Center, also several minutes’ walk from the hotel – there’s a covered bridge but most people will still find it too far to walk with anything beyond carry-on luggage. Fortunately, taxis are plentiful and inexpensive: the fare to Hong Kong station (the Airport Express terminus) and most other downtown locations is in the range of four to six US dollars.

Our stay at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong was not only among the high points of a wonderful vacation, it ranks among the best hotel experiences we’ve ever had. We have stayed at only a few of the hundred or so hotels that are generally regarded as among the best in the world – the Oberoi in Mumbai, the President Wilson in Geneva, the Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel, the Royal Hawaiian and the Waldorf-Astoria come to mind – but the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is as good as any of these world-class hotels and better than most.

Room Tip: If you can possibly afford it, consider booking a club-level room; the Grand Club experience at this hotel is really something. And if you have a Gold Passport suite upgrade, this is the place to use it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AssimilatedCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in the Grand Harbour king room on the 18th floor. It had a great view over the Harbour to Kowloon. Unfortunately both the weather and the pollution was dreadful so the view was often obscured. Also they are doing major renovations around the Harbour so the view will be better in the future. They are also renovating inside the hotel and between 10-5 weekdays you can definitely hear and feel the jack hammers. However we were hardly in the room so it wasn't an issue. We ended up with our daughter staying unexpectedly and there was still enough space in the room. It is a bit dated but still lovely. The breakfast was fantastic. The staff are always available to help you in any way possible. The pool is fantastic. They also held our bags on our last day and then let us return, have a shower in the most well appointed pool bathroom and helped organise our taxi to the airport! It is pricey but the service and overall quality is well worth it. Great location. Handy to subway, ferry, trams and there is always a taxi. Greta stay!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank lwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I returned here in December for the first time in 2 years and feel it is looking tired. On the same trip also stayed at the Four Seasons which is better. Rooms at the GH are very comfortable and the club level service is excellent. Breakfast food is good but again FS beat it. The location is slightly out of the way - you need a taxi to get almost anywhere although it is only a short walk to wanchai star ferry

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews