We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Disappointed”
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #86 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
Reviewed April 6, 2007

Rooms were very small and we needed two upgrades before we were happy. Ended up with and Eaton Club room Executive suite on the 16th floor. These are about $3000.00hk a night but, but if you are staying more than a couple of days, this would be more comfortable. The club room came with it's own 1st floor staff, free internet, and free drinks and food from 6.00pm to 8pm. American breakfast on the 4th floor was so, so. Ist floor staff were great and more familar with western requirements. You can book in and out through this reception. Location was central ,a choice between the two MTR subway staitions, still had you walking a couple of blocks either way. Temple street markets across the road, with general night market in one street then food the next. Everone was getting into the food if you new what to get. Again we decided to go it a lone regards tours. A long walk to the harbour stopping at most of the large department stores, then a Star Ferry to Hong Kong Island then a bus to the Stanley Markets and repulse bay was achievable but a full day. Another trip along the same lines to the Peak just about coverered what you could see in a short time. Overall ideal for the business man or a short stay.Money changer across the road from the main car prk entrance was consistant.

  • Liked — Club room was about the min size you would want for a weeks stay.
  • Disliked — A left over smoking smell that was right through the hotel. Now non-smoking
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BIGDEALAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    1,839
    486
    127
    66
See reviews for
755
1,422
321
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

I stayed at the Eaton frm 17 March for 6nights. Booked the executive room. Great for space not much of a view though. If you get the 180 degree window room, ur looking over part of Nathan Rd. If you get the slighty bigger room, u have no view at all. I stayed 1night at the slightly bigger one but then asked to move to the 180 degree window as i wanted some kind of view.

Very nice bed, comfy! Bathroom is nice as well, only one thing i didnt like about the bathroom is they have shower curtins and not glass ones.

The E club was very nice. Very cosy. Worth the money. Breakfast is nice varietly. Afternoon snacks with free alcohol is lovely but if your there for few nights, the afternoon snack becomes abit boring as they dont change much. Loved the all day coffee! All day internet access.

The coffee shop down stairs are GREAT for buffet lunch. Cheap, Cost HK $88 + 10% surcharge.( worked out to be like $Aust $15 each) You get a good variety and a world of desserts!!! Fruit juices self serve.

Dinner at the same place will put u back HK $238 + 10%.
However dinner time you get more variety like cold crabs, oysters, yabbies, and heaps more. It also included one main meal u choose frm the menu. Did i mention a world of desserts....... =) I personally think the buffet was enough without the main! Drinks not included.

Starbucks is a 30 sec walk. Heaps of shops close by. Temple Street night market is 2min walk. Jordan Station MTR 5mins walk.

One thing u might like to note is when u check in they freeze the WHOLE AMOUNT of ur stay plus about HK200 more (incase u use room service or mini bar) in ur bank account. (like u have pre-paid it) but if you dont use room service or mini bar they realease the extra amount.

But yeh loved hkg and the hotel. Would go back even if its just a stopover. Would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Liked — E Club and Coffee Shop
  • Disliked — Shower curtins
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Zany82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2007

I was there twice in March.

Both times I was pleased with the service. The rooms are quite small. I was travelling alone so it was fine for me. The rooms are clean and bright.

I had problems with the internet the first stay and the tech guy came promptly and fixed my problem.

The bell hops are polite and courteous. Practically everyone was polite and courteous.

The front desk area can get quite busy. There's no sense of order so you'll have to keep an eye or you'll miss yout turn.

The free continental breakfast is nothin to rave about but it was adequate for a quick morning snack. The wait staff can be a little pokey.

The hotel is in the middle of it all. Located in Yau Ma Tei between Mong Kok and Jordan.

Don't bother exchanging money at the hotel. I got 7.33HKD=1HSD when I was there. Use your ATM card.

As for charging stuff. Apply for Capital One. They don't charge any extra fees and they give you the true exchange rate.

Temple street is only two blocks away. There's plenty of restaurants and shops all around. The street vendors only deal in cash.

There's even a great laudromat a couple of blocks away. Why pay 50HKD a shirt at the hotel when you can get all of it done for 37HKD.

There's a kewl fast food great restaurant across the street. I've seen some of the staff eat there. Everything's written in Chinese so you'll have to ask the wait staff what's available if you don't read Chinese.

OH BRING TISSUE WITH YOU. Almost all outside restaurants don't provide any tissues and be wary that some restaurants only have floor toilets.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank justchln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2007

2 nights in this compfy and modern big hotel. Think we had standard queen room, size was ok with modern decor, big compfy bed and great view of downtown Kowloon. Great location, walking distance to lots of shops, parks, bars and restaurants. Has rooftop spa and pool with relaxed feel and again great views of city. Hotel offers great value for money rates especialy on their website and if your a travel agent you get a very good discount. Disapointed with staff customer service except for spa/pool staff, he was very sweet. Would definately go back.

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank J&GShoreham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2007

We stayed at the Eaton, Hong Kong for 4 days in Nov 2006. The hotel is VERY central, and close to the Temple Street Night Market (3min walk) and on Nathan Road which has 100's of shops.
The closest undergrounr station is about a 7 min walk which was quite manageable.
The hotel is very smart but rather expensive and the rooms are very, very small...hardly room to move for 2 people with luggage etc.
Just across the road from concierge area, is a small, great, cheap restaurant that is open till very late. There is also a MacDonalds across Nathan road for emergency food!
Hotel staff were friendly and amicable and accommodating.
The breakfast was absolutely GREAT with really amazing fresh food and an extensive spread.
The windows in the hotel do not open.
Awesome pool on top floor.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank SA_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2007

The Eaton is everything you would desire for a good and comfortable stay,well located on Nathan Rd in Kowloon.
We stayed in the newly renovated Eaton room,which is small,really small but very well laid out,which gives the room a really cosy feeling lcd tv et all.
Bathroom is up to the mark with everything you would want your bathroom to have.
The only problem we found is that if a couple in a room have seperate bags..there is no place to keep more then one bag because of the room sizes being so very small.
Service is also up to the mark,no complaints here.
A part of our travelling party stayed at the Eaton Club room which is another thing altogether.Much bigger room,bigger bathroom and access to the E-club in which I swear I saw complimentry Moet and chandon flowing like water. :)
If I stayed in Kowloon,I would definately consider staying here again.


  • Liked — Hi tech newly renovated rooms
  • Disliked — Room size was really really small.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank traveller365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

Everyone we met were exceptionally polite and helpful. The room, although small, was very comfortable, clean and new. I would stay at Eaton again on my next visit to Hong Kong because of its great value. A little gem!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank climber544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#101 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#30 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#88 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Property: Eaton, Hong Kong
Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a daily Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. With 4 restaurants and a bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant, a chilled Japanese izakaya style restaurant, a coffee shop and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing