We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it!”
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #100 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2007

I stayed at this hotel between 2-5 Feb 2007 as part of a stopover to Australia package. I booked a Superior room which was on the 14th floor. This was certainly high enough to escape any ambient noise from the hotel or from the traffic down below on Nathan Road. The room was of a decent, but not exceptional size, the double bed was large, clean and comfortable if a little on the firm side. The bathroom was clean and well-stocked with toiletries and two fresh bottles of water every day (a nice touch I thought). There is a free-to-use safe in the room for storing your valuables. The room also has a TV with channels showing English Premiership football and BBC World for those who like a taste of home.

There are three restaurants on-site that feature varied menu choices from traditional Cantonese/Chinese food to more western style dishes such as fish and chips, pasta, steak sandwiches etc. There is also a buffet service available. The food is good and the prices are quite competitive (expect to pay around £25 for a main meal for two, with drinks). There is also a coffee shop with complimentary internet access. If you prefer, there is a Starbucks just around the corner, and numerous other restaurants within 10 minutes walk.

Access to the on-site gym is included in the price and is fairly well-equipped with treadmills, exercise bike and a cross-trainer, plus a good selection of free weights, although a little light on weights machines. There is also an open-air swimming pool adjacent to the gym which I didn't use.

The hotel and restaurant staff are courteous and friendly, always keen to help - although I didn't really have any cause for complaint during my stay.

The location of the hotel, whilst not particularly central, does not pose a problem due to the proximity of the Jordan MTR (subway) station. You can buy a card at the airport for HKD300 (about £20) that entitles you to a return trip on the Airport Express train and unlimited MTR travel for 3 days, so this worked out perfect for me. The Jordan MTR station is a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and from here you can journey pretty much anywhere you want to go in Hong Kong. Having said all that the Temple Street night market and Jade market, plus loads of shops, are all within easy walking distance.

All in all I will probably stay at this hotel again if I return to Hong Kong.

Stayed: February 2007
6  Thank apo1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,954)
There are newer reviews for Eaton, Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,291 - 3,297 of 3,954 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2007

The Eaton was very near to all the markets and shops and easy access to Hong Kong Island.

The room was average, very small but clean. Reception is on the 4th floor, on the first evening we were on the 5th floor but unfortunately we could hear the music from the lounge on the 4th floor so we moved to a room higher up which was fine. I then had to get a room of my own because I was keeping my friend up all night snoring. I got myself an Eaton club room it was £80 a night including breakfast and use of the lounge. It was definately worth having an Eaton club room they were definately bigger.

I would recommend a stay at the Eaton Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank laurat-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

Lovely hotel, with friendly staff. Only problem was that we were on the 11th floor but were still kept awake by the noise of the traffic. Be careful we booked an executive room but were put into a club room, although we did question this at check in but to no avail. 20mins walk to Harbour, right in the heart of the shopping centre, short walk to night market.

Stayed: January 2007
5  Thank Jacketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2007

Stayed at the Eaton two nights end of January. Small but nicely furnished rooms, great shower/bath, beautiful swimming pool on roof. Nice exercise room, but did find elipitical machine not working. Other equipment all worked fine. Staff very accomadating, everybody polite and helpful. Within a couple of blocks of Temple street and Jade markets. Subway also within two blocks. E club worth extra price, I was picked up at the airport in a luxury bus, very nice happy hour and breakfast. Will stay here again if I return to Hong Kong.

Eric Bernauer

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ColoradoEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

Given frequent complaints about small hotel rooms in Hong Kong and the excellent room rates available at the Eaton, I booked a suite. Very nice room; decent size. Hotel in good condition. Being allowed to check in at 8am after overnight flight was a bonus. Good location for Jade Market, Temple Street night market, etc. Probably my hotel of choice on return to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Donaldswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We found the Eaton Hotel to be a great choice, especially location. Opposite the temple markets, a few hundred metres from Jordan MTR. Walking distance to ladies market and down to the harbour (although I must confess we did use the MTR on more than one occassion). Rooms were as we had expected in Hong Kong - small but were more than comfortable. The smorgasborg breakfast was sensational - fully cooked if you wanted and delicious fruits. and allowed us to generally skip lunch. Drinks in the hotel were pricy, as they seemed to be everywhere in Hong Kong. Under the Hotel was a really nice coffee shop with free internet access. We usually ate on one of the street restaurants in Temple street - had no problems. All in all a very happy.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gazzaINperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

Stayed in the Eaton Hotel for two nights from 16-18 January as part of our honeymoon.

Booked the hotel based on the reviews mentioned below; and after my stay there I would concur with the positive reviews. In all, the Eaton is a comfortable and good value hotel.

The staff were great and very helpful. All of them were very accomodating and showed us the sights and markets of Kowloon and Hong Kong. Mykee (?) in particular helped us initially get our bearings.

The rooms are small but at less than USD200 net, it presented great value for a good Hong Kong Hotel. It appeared that the room we had was recently renovated and felt well appointed.

Will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Hong Kong!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heavy_in_Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,685 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 721 in Hong Kong
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#35 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,173 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#99 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,294 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $103 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. Restaurants and bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing