We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Possibly the worst hotel experience i have had! - thank you sir!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #84 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst hotel experience i have had! - thank you sir!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2005

The staff are at least polite although I am not sure they actually understood English!

Check Out Conversation;
Receptionist: How was everything?
Me: Pretty disappointing there have been a few problems.
Receptionist; Very good sir, thank you! (smile)
Me: No! I am saying this is possibly the worst hotel experience I have had in recent years.
Receptionist; Very good sir, thank you! (smile)
Me: (I looked blankly at him and left)

I never did expalin my issues to him, it was going to be hard work. This is what you can expect from the Eaton;
1. Looks impressive from the outside and has a nice bar.
2. Pokey little rooms. Despite travelling with my wife I was given a twin rather than a double. When I complained they tried to SELL me an upgrade.
3. 8.30am+ constant drilling and banging. Do not try and sleep in.
4. Moved to a higher floor to avoid the drill where I could hear the lift everytime it passed.
5. At no point will you be assisted with your baggage
6. Non smoking rooms still smell of smoke

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GurtStroubrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    1,815
    482
    127
    65
See reviews for
743
1,405
317
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2005

small dingey rooms with black marks on the wall. small tv and a horrible view from the standard room small window. The bar area was nice though offering live music some nights with a good atmosphere. the pool was great but even the view from there was spoilt by small windows and the gym was tiny. better hotels around the TST area like the sheraton

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2005

The hotel is very modern and has good facilities: gym etc. Room size is smaller than European standards, but we understand this is typical in HK. Very clean, friendly staff and free internet! Good 3* hotel.

Helpful?
3 Thank Pete047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2005

We stayed at the Eaton Hotel in June for 7 nights.

The Room.
HK is increadibly hot and humid at this time of the year but so the air con in the room was a godsend! We had a room on the 12th floor which ahd a view down nathan road and over the lobby lounge below. There have been complaints about the size of the rooms but we stayed in a standard room and didn't find it small at all! The room was nice and clean but the walls were a little grubby just from general wear and tear. The bathroom had a bath and shower and an automatic hair dryer. There was also a retractable washing line across the bath which came in very handy when we encountered our first tropical rainstorm!

Hotel Staff and Facilities.
The hotel staff were pleasant and courteous at all times. We didn't really engage with them much as we were out of the hotel for most of the day. We did not visit any of the bars or restaurants in the hotel but they all looked very nice. The swimming pool on the roof is very nice! The pool is quite small but at the time I was the only person using it which was fantastic!

Location.
For me the hotel was in an almost perfect location (ok, I would have prefered a hotel overlooking the harbour but who wouldn't?). Jordan MTR is a 5 min walk away and using our octopus cards we found it very easy to get around. We were one stop away from the TST area which contains a multitude of bars and restaurants and also the avenue of stars (which is the best place the see the light show). In the other direction, it is a few stops away from the Chi Lin Nunnery (highly recommended) and also various bus routes into the new territories. Also, temple street market is just round the corner. All major tourist attractions are easily accessable from this hotel.

Overall.
Extremely happy with my hotel choice and would go back again any day!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nothingness1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney Vale, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2005

If you are looking for a hotel that is central to everything then this is it. We stayed here for 7 nights in June and were very impressed with all aspects of the hotel.

We decided to upgrade to an executive room and it is well worth it, floor to ceiling windows, with great views of the nightlife of Hong Kong. Breakfast is included with this room in the Aroma Cafe and though it is only a continental breakfast was more than adequate to start the day with. Internet access is available and we found it quite easy to get a machine.

The pool on the roof is wonderful, although only small it serves its purpose of allowing you to cool down after walking in the heat all day.

The bathroom was more than functional and served our needs. The room itself was excellent, although small by Australian standards it was quite well designed with all the mod cons and more than comfortable.

As the hotel is away from the tourist area of Tsim Sha Tsui you are not hassled by tailors each time you walk out the door. Jordan MTR is about a 3 minute walk and we found that by walking up the back streets (Chi Wo Street) this brought you out at the entrance to the MTR and was much more pleasant as there were no crowds this way looking at the shops, also a great noodle bar up this street.

The Temple STreet night markets are another 3 minutes away and fantastic. The MTR can easily get you to Mongkok (much cheaper for shopping) and over to Hong Kong island for sightseeing.

The staff at the hotel are courteous and polite at all times and when we had questions they were answered quickly and things arranged exactly as we had expected.

I booked with this hotel direct and found i got a better rate by going through them direct, and all with no hassles.

There are so many restaurants in the area to choose from it is unbelievable, but for a great one go up Nathan Road till you reach Austin Road, turn left and past the car dealership. On the right hand side you will see a restaurant with yellow vinyl seats, the waiters are great, the food is fabulous and so cheap all we ever seemed to do was eat.

The Eaton seems to be central for everything, you are right in between Hong Kong Island and Mongkok and Sham Shui Po, the markets in Mongkok are easily reached with a pleasant walk up Nathan Road and you can either get the MTR back or a taxi for about $25HK.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling to Hong Kong, but organise transfers to and from the airport with the hotel as it is cheaper than getting a taxi and just as easy.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2005

Stayed at the Eaton in May 2005 in a standard room. Rooms were smallish but still quite adequate with large bathrooms and comfortable bedding. Staff and service were exceptional. If you are going to Hong Kong to shop it is in ideal location next to the night Markets and halfway up Nathan Rd and 5 minutes walk to the MTR. And if you go to Hong Kong get an Octopus card to travel with as they make getting around Hong Kong a breeze.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank HB00763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2005

Upon arrival the Eaton hotel gives the impression that your stay will be fabulous. Helpful bellmen, decent check in, nice lobby, good selection of restaurants AND free managers cocktail happy hour from 6-8pm.
The location- it's a bit of a hike to the subway, no decent restaurants were found close by, but night market & jade market are close, so that's fun.
The room was not great considering the price, very small w/twin beds (hard as a rock, but if you've travelled in Asia, you'll be used to that), dark & sort of stinky, but a very large nice bathroom.
Internet service was the sketchiest I've ever encountered. While it was only available an hour each day due to some "technical difficulties" (and believe me the jet lag had me checking email at ALL hours) we were charged for a full 24 hours of service each day- even though they admitted the service was down for 24 hours, we had tried to log on, so we were charged...no appologies. And don't get overly happy at that happy hour...it only includes a couple of drinks and specific ones at that, but they'll keep bringing them (without asking if you'd like another) for as long as you sit.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OsideLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#98 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Property: Eaton, Hong Kong
Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#74 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a daily Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. With 4 restaurants and a bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant, a chilled Japanese izakaya style restaurant, a coffee shop and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing