We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but expensive”
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #85 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, but expensive”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Eaton Hong Kong hotel is conveniently located on the busy Nathan Road, so market places and restaurants were all at a stone's throw away. The hotel room was very small, for the rental one pays, but I was told that it was a norm in Hong Kong. Breakfast was included in the rental, which was a good thing. Our room was a corner unit, & had a long curved window, but due to other buildings in the proximity, there was nothing much that we could see. But higher floors are relatively quieter, so ask for one while booking.
The hotel staff was courteous and attended us well. The concierge service was quite helpful in guiding us to locations, which helped us to explore the city on our own, without hiring a cab even once! They can also help to book you a day's tour to Macau.
The Airport Express bus stop is about 200m, & Jordan MTR station is about 400m away from the hotel. The Temple street market is about 300m walk from the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel for family vacations.

Room Tip: Higher floors are relatively quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    1,838
    485
    127
    66
See reviews for
754
1,421
321
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zhuhai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Has airport express bus to HKG. Check in was smooth and quick. Loved the design of the hotel and the restaurant and bar had decent food, but a bit on the high side for pricing. However within walking distance (15 min or less) to a ton of restaurants which were cheap.

Would stay here agai

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mswisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed for 4d3n and back for a 3d/2n earlier this month (dec). Very satisfied. Room very clean and well maintained albeit a little small. After my feedback for our first night, the front desk manger was prompt to upgrade mine, on a good will basis, to one which was slightly bigger and with a bath tub.

A further surprise to us on our trip back from China, we were welcomed by a newly renovated room and nicer than the previously already nice room.

Some hiccup though from the concierge with no so useful information. Definitely not intentional but still an overall high rating from me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Location: the hotel is right off Nathan Road, an exciting place to shop or just to walk around. The nearest subway station is Jordan, about seven-minute walk to the south. The Temple Street Jade Market is a short walk to the west, so is the Tin Hau Temple. Going to or from the airport is easy and inexpensive: taxi from the hotel to the Kowloon Airport Express station (average 10 minutes, about HK$35 depending on traffic, assuming two pieces of luggage) and then the Airport Express (20 minutes, HK$70). The location of this hotel is perfect.

Accommodation: the room is small. My best guess is that the area measures about 100 square feet. However, considering the location and the price (my wife and I paid US$165 per night, service charge and full breakfast included). Everything is clean. I wouldn't mind the small size. Except for two tiny drawers at the bottom of a small closet, there is no place to put underwear, socks, PJ's etc. That's the major negative of the room. We literally had to live out of suitcases. My advice to the hotel: put a couple drawers underneath the bed or somewhere. Other than that, the room is a no-fuss place to sleep, albeit a bit small. By the way, Internet access is free for all guests.

Service and meals: the staff we encountered had no problem communicating in English. Everyone was very polite. We needed an iron and ironing board, and the housekeeping folks delivered the items right away. We had full breakfast at the Metro Cafe (included in the room rate), which we enjoyed very much. Picking up a taxi from the hotel was a cinch. The concierge folks were nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AviatorYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just got back from HK after staying at Eaton for 3 nights. We chose this hotel mainly for its location. Its only about 5 mins walk from Jordan's MTR. Temple Street Night Market is just a short walk across the street. Mongkok/Ladies' Market is 2 stations away and Tsim Tsa Tsui is one station away in the other direction.

Checking in at the reception was a breeze and the staffs were courteous and efficient. We stayed in the Club room on the 12th floor. Room was nice and cosy. Bathroom was clean and well equipped. The only grouse that I had was the flushing of the water closet. Had to press the handle a few times in order to do the flush, rather annoying. Housekeeping team was friendly, attentive and efficient. Breakfast at the E-club was a little disappointing, so we opted the full buffet breakfast at the Metro. Good mix of food spread, well worth the additional $ top up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton H, Manager at Eaton, Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments.

We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and impressed with the service attitude of our staff. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the faulty flushing handle, please let us know which room so we can arrange our Engineering staff to fix it immediately.

Our E Club breakfast offers continental breakfast with a few popular hot food items and caters exclusively to our Club Room and Suite guests. We are glad that you enjoyed the option of our wider spread of breakfast buffet items at our Metro Buffet and Grill restaurant.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stan Chau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at my computer
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Costs about £100 a night for smart room but I booked it with my Cathay Pacific flight from Travel Republic. Breakfast was included but the offering seemed meagre so every day I upgraded for HKD30 (under £3) to the full breakfast which was excellent value choice of help ypurself juices, fruits, meats, European Asian hot dishes (try an omelette cooked to order) pancakes pastries tea coffee. I never had to eat again all day.
Six minute walk from Yau Ma Tei Station, across the road from Temple Street (market) and MacDonalds cafe complete with rice dishes.
Swimming Pool on the 21st Floor was never crowded when I went and was good place to unwind.
Reception lobby was on the first floor (L)

Room Tip: Opt for the bigest room you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclist60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The included breakfast is a continental, bad fruit and old bread followed by tang. This was a shock. Also the hotel has modest service and is far from everything except bad shopping. I really cannot add more except that I was I very disappointed in my stay. I complained and got no response. Elevators in the morning were awful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zaphodm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton H, Manager at Eaton, Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments.

We understand that you have booked our Smart Room which is inclusive of Express Breakfast.
We are committed to provide fresh food items and we are sorry that you were disappointed with the quality provided. Should guests prefer full buffet breakfast instead, they can pay a very reasonable extra charge to enjoy buffet breakfast at our Metro Buffet & Grill which offers a wider spread of breakfast items, we are sorry if this option wasn’t offered to you and resolve to your satisfaction during your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and will work on to improve our customer service skills.

Sincerely yours,

Stan Chau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#100 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#29 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#88 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,717 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Property: Eaton, Hong Kong
Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a daily Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. With 4 restaurants and a bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant, a chilled Japanese izakaya style restaurant, a coffee shop and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing