We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #101 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Really good location on Nathan Road and only a short walk to the MTR. Mid range hotel. Rooms clean and comfortable but compact. Breakfast is fine. Didnt eat there at night as there are so many good places to eat in HK.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,957)
There are newer reviews for Eaton, Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,002 - 2,008 of 3,957 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Was staying at Eaton Hotel from 4 to 9 Nov with my wife.

Good:
1. Excellent service from check in staff. Quick, friendly and helpful. Her name was Amy.
2. Nice clean and renovated room.Room was bright and cheery We got a room on the 17th floor. The view was great. It was facing the church across the road and some condominiums nearby.
3. Room size was ok unlike what some commented that it was small and tiny.
4. Free wifi in room.
5. Encountered an extremely rude service from the female staff at the fitness centre. She was rude and unfriendly. However, issue was raised to Elves Leung, Assistant Manager for Front Office. It was quickly looked into and resolved. She sent her apologies. Once again, great efficiency and good service. Elves did a great job.
6. Good location of the hotel on Nathan Road which is just next to Temple Street. However, do take note that Temple Street can be pretty dodgy when night falls with its many saunas and massage palours in service. Girls dressed in skimpy clothings were standing around offering their services.
7. You could walk from your hotel to TST. A short leisurely walk of 15 to 20 minutes will bring you to the heart of TST. Or you could also choose to walk to Langham Place in Mongkok. Wife and I walked from Eaton to Langham Place to Olympian City in Tai Kok Tsui. You could enjoy the many shoppings and eateries along the way. And walking is good...to burn off the calories from consuming all the good food hong kong offers!
8. Fitness centre in the hotel is well equipped...it also has a rooftop pool with a beautiful view of the city. The centre is also equipped with two massage chairs to massage away your sores and aches from a day of shopping. Fitness centre is 24/7. Pool closes at 11pm.
9. We also enjoyed the free taichi class offered by the hotel.
10. You could just take the airport express to kowloon station and board the airport express bus service K1 which will bring you right to Eaton's doorsteps.

Bad:
1. Female staff at Fitness Centre was unfriendly and rude.
2. Temple Street can be a little dodgy in the evening.
3. Checkin counters located on 2nd floor, not on ground. Maybe a little difficult to locate for someone just arriving.
4. Room walls can a little thin. Could hear the tv blasting away next door during our stay.
5. The pricing of food at the restaurant inside the hotel seem a little too pricey. I would recommend that you eat at the many eateries along Nathan Road.

I will consider staying in Eaton in my next trip to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiongbahruboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just rang their reservations line for assistance as I had previously heard they were fantastic. So decided to ring them first to put through a large booking. Halfway through the conversation the Eaton "assistant" on the other end of the line who sounded very bored, sighed and then hung up on me. Well done. Just lost yourself some customers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Jhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton H, General Manager at Eaton, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest

We are aware of your phone call and the subsequent phone call when you called back and spoke to our Reservations Manager.

I am aware that at the time of your call there was some drilling noise close by which affected the conversation between you and one of our agents. I would like to assure you that your call was not ended intentionally and we sincerely regret that you had this experience.

Sincerely yours,

Shane Pateman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was my first stay in Hong Kong so it's hard to compare value and experience. This is one of the hardest hotels I've ever reviewed. On the good side, the rooms are modern, clean, pleasing to the eye and the wifi is free. The location for a first timer in Hong Kong is fantastic, right on Nathan Road in Kowloon with great access to the metro, the night markets and shopping district. On the not so good side, it's noisy that close to a major road in Hong Kong and I had the worst sleep of a two week business trip! When the refurb was done the bathrooms weren't, so the grouting isn't as fresh as you'd like and the plumbing features everything I hate about UK hotels with a slow-draining shower over bath aimed at the navel, so you end up banging your head on the shower rose trying to wash your hair while you paddle in 3 inches of water (I'm entirely average in height - tall folks would have a nightmare!) The desk set up was smart, but all the sockets were taken up with hotel appliances so my laptop cable trailed across the high traffic area between the bed and bathroom. The staff were eager to please, but we encountered a lot of junior or untrained staff and the seniors seemed harried. Because of the busy Nathan Road location, I suspect you're never going to get an early check in or a late check out and the cramped reception area upstairs was super busy. I suspect this is not unusual in Hong Kong, which is one of the most densely populated places on the planet. The reason for a three and not four star review comes from poor concierge service - I left my luggage, which contained laptop and travel documents with the concierge on the ground floor and specifically requested and supervised it's stowage into the secure area. On my return, my bag had been removed from secure store and was out in the poorly supervised drop off area looped to other bags with a non-locking chain arrangement. No-one would have been able to make off with the bag, but they certainly could have opened it and removed contents. Not remotely good enough to earn anything but an average review. I might stay again, but I'd be equally keen to look around other hotels in a similar area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WellingtonKiwiJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in September. The hotel is reasonably priced and the Queen bed comfortable. The room itself is small, but we spent most time out so it worked well as a base. Clean and secure, easy to get to Kowloon MTR for access to the airport. A hotel bus to Hong Kong MTR station stops outside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieBooboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We liked this hotel and its location on Nathan Road. It was recommended by a work colleague who is originally from Hong Kong. It has no street presence. It almost disappears and unless you know where to look, you could miss it. We were a little disappointed when we first arrived. Our room on 18th floor facing Nathan Road was quiet, very attractively appointed and a great refuge after a busy day touring in Hong Kong. We had the club room which I recommend. It operates from early morning until 10:30 p.m. and offers free beverages, an adequate breakfast, and snacks. Offerings change throughout the day.The internet worked really well. This was a good spot for us in Kowloon. We had to walk about 20 minutes to get the Star ferry, but we loved the energy and bustle on Nathan Road. We really liked this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My Dad and I booked this hotel for 8 nights. Our initial room was a disaster, we had two tiny single beds pushed together with a glass- floor to ceiling -panel into our shower which left us without any privacy! Following a few attempts to resolve the situation, a Manager, Vincent, changed our room to give us larger beds with a locker between them and a private ensuite bathroom. The level of cleanliness, restaurants and bar in the hotel are all top notch. Location is good, close to shops, temple st night market and short taxi ride (v cheap, about €5/50HKD), to the ferry terminal and airport express station. There are 21 floors. Rooms are small but that's the norm in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Beware when booking twin room that the beds are separated!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret17294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,691 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 721 in Hong Kong
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#98 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,295 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#35 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,177 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $104 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. Restaurants and bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing