We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for Hongkong”
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #87 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for Hongkong”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for the second Time in Hongkong this August. 2 Years ago we have been in the Ibis Hotel and there we got a really small room so we wanted to change the Hotel.

The Eaton is located centrally at Kowloon and is great if you want to visit the markets in Hong Kong. The room was small but still Ok compared to Ibis. From the Airport you can take the Bus A21 and will arrive 2 minutes walk from the Hotel.

The Negative Things:
1, The Staff isnt good at giving directions. The standard awnser is: Take the Taxi. For Ocean world there is the Bus 171 near the Hotel, for China Ferry Terminal the Bus 271 near the Hotel drives there etc. I would also recommend using the Bus 271 which is 2 minutes to the North on Nathan Road to reach the TST promenade. Its faster than walking to the MRT.
2, Allthough we havent eaten the Breakfast i find it a bit expensive. 170 HKD = 17 Euro. So for 2 Persons you pay about 40% of the roomprice for breakfast.

Otherwise the Hotel was fine, we loved the rooftop pool to cool us down in the afternoons.

A small Tipp: Outside the Hotel there is an chinese restaurant to the left of the 7/11. Go and eat there ! Its cheap and very good. They got also plenty of western food!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel_R86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    1,863
    492
    129
    66
See reviews for
768
1,436
323
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tai Wan
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I choose this hotel due to cheap price. When i checked in this hotel, the boy was nice bt it spent me much time to wait for the room.. But the food in this hotel is not gd as expected. I prefer had my breaskfast outside

The pool area is very clean. N the girl was really helpful. She helped me to check the location and gave me some recommendation about our tour. Appeciate that! N the massage chair is awesome! Feel relax after long day walking

The room is too small and old... no slipper provided until i asked.. The room was not tidy enough.

I would like to stay here again as its quite near the mtr but hope that next time they could offer me a bigger room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tharan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions for business and as an extended holiday,the hotel has always been of a high standard and all the amenities you would want in a hotel.
There is a very nice open air seating ares where you can relax with a coffee or order a snack or meal. There is a pool on the roof and has a pleasant and relaxing ambiance.All the staff at this hotel are very helpful and cannot do enough for you.The windows are all sealed but there is air conditioning ,views are over the shopping area and rooms are very modern and of a high standard
The hotel itself is in the shopping area of Kowloon and MTR (underground rail) is a short walk away if you want to venture further afield ,or just go for a walk along Nathan road towards the harbour area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Eaton Hotel on the Kowloon side of Hongkong twice over the last year ,its very clean friendly and good value for money .I have been to Hongkong many times with my girlfriend who is Chinese we managed to get a great deal at the Eaton ( one of the e-club rooms ) the staff in the e-club lounge are first class and tend to your every need , the breakfast buffet is really nice a great choice .On the evenings theres a good choice of drinks in the lounge from champagne to solf drink theres something for everyones taste .The rooms tend to be a little on the small side but are well equiped . The location is good for Nathan road but its quite a walk down to the star ferry terminal , at taxi is around 25 hongkong dollars . Theres a small swimming pool on the roof of the hotel with plenty of sun loungers and also a well equiped gym .If you don't mind the walk from the hotel to the water front theres lots to see not only shops and restaurants but also Kowloon park with its many old tropical trees and plants.There are good links with MTR stations close to the hotel , from Jordan to the hotel it takes around ten mimutes to walk .

Room Tip: Go for the E-club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights after spending two weeks in Vietnam and can honestly say this was our least favourite hotel.

As strangers to Hong Kong the hotel was emailed prior to arrival to confirm a non- smoking room was available and to find out best way to get to hotel from the airport. We were advised to catch the hotel shuttle bus from the airport with estimated travel time of 45 minutes. 75 mins later we arrived! Hot, tired and unimpressed with being stuck in a slow moving coach.

On arrival there seemed to be some confusion about our room being ready and a non-smoking as had been requested. Some mumbled mutterings and scurrying away leaving us wondering what was going on was not a great introduction to the hotel. Room keys issued and we were sent on our way - but which way? We had no idea where lifts were? The lady who checked us in realised we had no idea where to go and pointed us to the lifts.

Our room was clean and small - too small for two average sized adults with a suitcase each but judging by the TA reviews Hong Kong rooms are small. Air con fantastic- shower fine despite it feeling like we were showering in a closet. Bed comfortable and black-out screens/ curtains made for a restful nights sleep.

Maybe we had been spoilt by the service we had received throughout our travels in Vietnam? Our stay at Eaton didn't live up to our expectations or some of the more positive reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel, it's services and how it worked just seemed so confusing - where was the pool? Did it exist? Cafe or restaurant services? - worked those our ourself by end of stay.

Would we stay here again? - No. Would we recommend - No.

Surely there must be better hotels in Hong Kong for comparable cost?? Felt like we paid to stay in a very impersonal spaceship for two nights. We suggest staff take a trip to Vietnam to experience exceptional customer service and friendliness.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShibbyandTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton H, Manager at Eaton, Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments.

We are sorry that our services failed to meet your expectation, We appreciate your feedback and rest assured we have shared your comments with our colleagues, we should be more attentive to guests at all times. On the other hand, we do have bigger rooms, like newly renovated Club rooms and Suites that come with club lounge privileges and breakfast that cater for different customer needs, we are sorry that these rooms are very popular and may be sold out during your visit.

Once again, thank you and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stan Chau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
202 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed three nights with E club package on 16th floor. Nice clean hotel with easy access to the MTR. The train from airport has shuttle bus connection that drops you off at front of Hotel. Friendly staff. Lovely roof top pool. Room very comfortable and the E Club package well worth while.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob6282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned after staying 8 nights at the Eaton Hotel. We had a room on the 10th floor overlooking Nathan Road, and while not huge it was more than adequate. We upgraded to the E Club before departing and it was well worth the extra money. It included a substantial continental breakfast, cocktails and nibbles in the evening and tea and coffee throughout the day. Would recommend that guest use this facility. Staff were lovely, very helpful and courteous. While it's probably not the best located hotel in Hong Kong, it's an easy 5 minute walk to Jordan MTR. However Temple Street market and the Jade market are very close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2ofusMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#99 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,257 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#90 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#30 of 718 in Hong Kong
845 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,281 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Property: Eaton, Hong Kong
Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a daily Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. With 4 restaurants and a bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant, a chilled Japanese izakaya style restaurant, a coffee shop and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing