We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Eaton sweetens with free internet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #84 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Eaton sweetens with free internet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the Eaton Hotel Hong Kong for 5 nights in April 2013 in a deluxe room.

For the price we paid the room delivered on most counts, and yes it is tiny as everyone says and it's a squeeze to store two suitcases but we really weren't in the room all that long. Most days we were out around 9am and then didn't get back until very late in the evening. This is Hong Kong - it's about the shops and food!

The free internet is the highlight for me for this hotel as that does save you a few dollars each night and the speed was OK. We weren't doing any downloads but for emails and websurfing it was OK.

The location is good and we found ourselves walking to the ferry terminal and to the harbour though there is a MTR station within a 5 minute walk if you need to go further afield.

We had breakfast once at the hotel and it was reasonable. Breakfast isn't easily available in cafes around the hotel (except for McDonalds and Starbucks). At night time there are lots of restaurants close by to choose from.

If you are looking for a good economical hotel with no frills then I'd say give it a go. If relaxing in your room is your thing I'd say look for a hotel with larger rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syd_Hotel_Boi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    1,795
    474
    124
    63
See reviews for
724
1,386
311
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had a deluxe room for 3 nights at Eaton Hotel in May-13. Room-wise, it seemed to be newly renovated as the decor looked new. TV had many international channels, complimentary bottled water was also provided on a daily basis and most importantly WIFI was free of charge in the room. The only downside I felt was that the room was really small! Somehow, the size of the room reminded me of First World Hotel at Genting Highlands.

The location of Eaton Hotel is good, somewhere in the middle of Jordan and Yau Ma Tei MTR station. It is about 5mins walking distance to Jordan station and about 8mins if you are walking to Yau Ma Tei station. There are quite a lot of restaurants and eateries near the hotel, some of them operate 24hrs, as such I had no issues finding food late at night. In addition, everyone's favourite MacDonald's is just right across the road while Starbucks is next to the hotel in case you can't get used to HK food.

Overall a good stay at this 4 star hotel. Definitely a place worth considering again if I am back in HK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celestar989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Location is excellent but extremely small room. Ceilings are low which makes it even smaller. No room for more than one suitcase. One person at a time in the bathroom. Fridge in bedside table that did not work. Breakfast just ok...powdered orange juice. Fingermarks on all doors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMartin270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Second stay at Eaton Hotel- it is a lovely hotel in the midst of the hustle & bustle- disappointed tho as I wasn't informed of VERY NOISY renovations on all floors from 8-21 (floors) during the day which will go on for a few months!!
If you leave at 10am and come back after 6pm it won't affect you but no peace for an afternoon nap!! The room mentioned below is a 'Smart' room- I had a look and those rooms are on Floors 5, 6 & 7- newly renovated, very clean & almost sterile with Shower & Toilet cubicles in room- reception explained designed for the younger generation! I always book a 'Deluxe room' on the 15th Floor which although small for 2 people is ideal for just myself- new modern wood and bamboo decor, cosy and clean with great sandstone and wood bathroom and touches of oriental detail.

T Bar is great and swimming pool too after a long day of shopping. Hope this helps if considering staying here- Ask to see room first and do enquire about noisy renovations! Club & Business rooms & Lounge not available during renos either!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is the best option for a tourist. First of all the location is brilliant. Everything is a walking distance, shopping mall, attractions, nightmarket, food etc.You can get the star ferry or the subway to get to the otherside. Make sure to check out the Hillwood street to the south where its packed with various restaurants.

Room size is quite small but dont be surprised its quite usual in HK. Its very comfy clean and of course affordable.

24/7 McD is across the road which is a plus for a late night munchies or after night out in the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muuji B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Eaton Hotel Hong kong, is a brilliant hotel BUT we did ask for a room as high as posible for the views but this turned out to be a newly refurbished room which was quite small (as they always are in Hongkong) and the toilet and shower were in the actual bedroom as was the handbasin. There was a very small wardrobe which had 4 hangers in it and absolutely no drawer space at all. If this happens on our travels we usually utilise our suitcases BUT there was no room to put your suitcase on the floor without tripping over them at every move you made.

The hotel as a whole was great but wished we had known about the showering and toileting facilities.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a couple of days check your room space and don't take much lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at Eaton Smart with my sister and brother-in- law for 4 nights on way back fromAustralia. It was the 4th time they had been at this hotel but my first in Hong Kong. I know now why they go back so often.
Location is excellent particularly for the night markets - easy access to the trains to Star Ferry etc.
The staff were amazing, without exception. We arrived late in the evening and were given an upgrade to executive rooms which allowed us to use the executive lounge which was an added bonus.
Although we only ate once in the hotel (there is just too much to choose from around) the food was excellent as was the breakfast. Prices I felt were not too high as living in Berkshire I am used to food and drink being expensivel
I would definately recommend this Hotel to anyone and definately plan to stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christineparker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#98 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#93 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Property: Eaton, Hong Kong
Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#74 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a daily Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. With 4 restaurants and a bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant, a chilled Japanese izakaya style restaurant, a coffee shop and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing