We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms - A long way out.”
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #87 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Small rooms - A long way out.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Sayed two nights before our cruise. Small room with a connecting door. People talking loudly in next room at 3am. Kettle was broken but they brought a new one within five minutes of ringing the front desk. Very close to Temple Street market which has food and drinks at night or McDonalds just across the road if you prefer that. A long walk down Nathan Road to the harbour but interesting along the way and you get used to it. Loads of things to see and do when exploring Hong Kong. Would go back there but might try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    1,865
    492
    129
    66
See reviews for
769
1,437
323
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights in March 2013, I regret to choose this hotel. I should have stayed at the hotel I used to stay on Hong Kong island!! The location of the hotel is nice, but in reality all hotels in HK are close to all amenities since HK is such a crowded place.
The check-in process is simply awful, lobby is located on the 2nd floor with very low ceiling and people are trying to get someone's help in order to check in. Imagine you are in a local market, and you have to fight to get what you want to.
I arrived just before 2pm, and there were luggage everywhere (they have no room/facility to store guests luggage because they haven't cleaned the room). After 20 minutes of waiting and a rather long check-in procedure, I've been told that my room will not be ready until 3pm.
The room is very tiny with no space to store my 32" suitcase, the room has very poor lighting design, and it’s either very bright or dark. There are no blinds or curtain at the window, they use 2 laminate planks as the curtain. It felt like you are sleeping in a match box!!!! The wall is so thin, you can even hear the next room’s TV.
I go to HK for business and pleasure, and this is the worst hotel I've ever come across.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel, there are alot of nice hotels in HK than this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton H, Manager at Eaton, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments.

We are concerned to read your experience during your recent stay with us. Though our official check-in time is at 15:00hrs, we are trying our best to honour early check-in if situation allows, we are sorry that we were unable to assign you the room due to high occupancy.

In regards the guest rooms, we have renovated 100 guest rooms last year and will further renovate 86 rooms this year, we will incorporate your suggestions into our design brief so that we can further improve our guest facilities and services.

We appreciate your feedback as we strive to maximizing guest satisfactions.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Stan Chau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Visiting Hong Kong on business for 3 nights. Wanted a comfortable hotel within close walking distance of the Nathan Road shopping area & Temple Street /Mongkok Ladies' Markets and easy access to rest of Kowloon area & to Hong Kong Island. For a short stay the Eaton Smart fitted the bill perfectly.

My deluxe room was booked through Travel Bag on a comparison website - cost approx £115.00 per night including breakfast, wi-fii & all taxes. This is the most basic type of room which I was not able to compare to others in the hotel

My room was on the 15th floor. My first impression was that it was a bit small & basic, mainly due to the minimalist decor and lack of colour. However, I found it to be clean, quiet, comfortable with a nice bathroom (a bit small) & plenty of towels. Tea & coffee tray also in room plus safe & plenty of electrical sockets for laptop etc. Wi-fii signal very good.

The hotel is modern, quite compact & with the lobby located several floors up from street level. Long escalator & plenty of lifts always in service. Excellent & friendly staff both at reception & in the bar/eating areas. Could not fault the breakfast buffet with omelette station and pretty much everything else you could want.

Hotel located close to every type of shop, restaurant & even Starbucks. Star Ferry about a 30 minute walk but buses & HTR close by. Guests seemed to be a combination of tourists from UK & Australasia, from mainland China & visitors on business.

If you are more used to a deluxe, more spacious hotel then the Eaton Smart may not be for you. However if you want a comfortable, clean, good value base from which to visit Hong Kong/Kowloon for a few days, then look no further. I would definitely stay again !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonyMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in Eaton Hong Kong Hotel for 3 nights from 1st to 4th Mar 2013. Location of the hotel is excellent. The Airport Cityflyer Bus No. A21 brought us straight from HKIA to Nathan Hotel for only HK$33 and Eaton Hotel is just a short walk after alighting from the stop at Nathan Hotel. Jordon MTR and many food outlets are within walking distance from the hotel.

We booked 3 twins sharing rooms for 6 adults and our request for 2 rooms to be connecting rooms, with the 3rd room to be adjacent. All our requests were granted. They really surprised us when they delivered a complimentary bottle of champagne and a lovely birthday cake to our room for my brother's 65th birthday. Eaton Hotel really made an effort to take note of the personal details of their guests. This was my third time staying at Eaton hotel and I always had very good impression of this hotel. They truly made our stay very enjoyable, memorable and comfortable.

We also love the free wifi and a travel socket provided in our hotel rooms. We will definitely be staying in this hotel again when we visit Hong Kong in the future. Thank you Eaton HK!

Room Tip: No tips required as all our rooms provided were comfortable & cosy during all my stays at Eaton!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret_Slm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a good experience for my last stay here in July 2012 and so we decided to book here again in Feb 2013. We got upgraded to a club room and had a nice corner unit which was huge by HK standards. However the club rooms were not renovated as compared to the regular rooms that we had before and the toilet was a bit crummy.

Still, no complaints and I would stay here again if I were to come to HK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samSG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel on my visit to HongKong. This hotel is located at Nathan Road, one of business areas of HK. HK will be best travelled in MTRs because of its cost effectiveness, convenience and presence in almost all the major locations. Eaton is located just 5 mins walk from the nearest MTR (Jordan). The hotel also lies parallel to one of the end points of the Temple Street (Night market), some 3 -4 mins walk.Temple Street opens at evening and has a variety of food outlets running during this time along with shopping. Just diagonally opposite to the hotel, you will find the airport bus at designated time intervals.You can find Starbucks just next to the hotel as well as a 7-11.Location wise, hotel scores well. On food, I won't be able to guide you since I never tried any food in the hotel due to variety of options available outside at much cheaper prices.Many traveller might find the room size as a concern, but trust me thats the same in most of the hotels in HK due to its compactness inside the city. And I believe, travellers will spend most of the time outside the hotel. However, you will find all the facilities in your room.We had a room with full length windows with a view of the city.

Room Tip: Book in advance to avail any discount and prefer rooms in the top floors with full length windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripperTal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We regularly visit Hong Kong for a couple of days retail therapy, the last three trips we have stayed at the Eaton and each time we have been really impressed with the service and quality of the property. On our first trip our room was not ready but the staff were very good and we were shouted a couple of drinks while we waited. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. Our return to the hotel was only a week later and this time we were upgraded to a suite which was really nice and it was great to have the extra room to sort out all our shopping!

We stayed again in February this year and went for a Club Room, this is really good value as the room rate includes breakfast (in the Club lounge) and happy hour drinks, also in the club room.

The Eaton works for us as it so well located, right on Nathan Road, close to Jordan MTR, with Harbour Town shopping centre in easy reach. The star ferry is also easy to get to from here.

We arrived into Hong Kong quite late and we elected to take the airport train, originally planning to go to Central MTR and then change to get to Jordan MTR. Our jet lagged brain then decided to get off at Kowloon MTR and get a taxi to the hotel. Really bad idea, the queue for a taxi at Kowloon MTR at 11.30 PM was huge, it took us about an hour to get to the hotel from there.

When we left the hotel to return to the airport we got a taxi which cost less than the total fare on the MTR.

I can highly recommend this hotel, it's very good on all criteria.

Room Tip: It's really worth booking a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy301198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#100 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,257 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#90 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#29 of 718 in Hong Kong
845 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,285 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Property: Eaton, Hong Kong
Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a daily Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. With 4 restaurants and a bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant, a chilled Japanese izakaya style restaurant, a coffee shop and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing