We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location in Kowloon - value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #83 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good location in Kowloon - value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arrived in Hong Kong - took Airport bus to hotel, 45 minute trip. Check-in was very smooth @ 11:30 pm. Hotel upgraded us to a 1 bdrm suite - which was a bit dated, but nice and very comfortable. Rooms do need some renovating, but they were clean and as you don't spend alot of time in your room in Hong Kong it was more than adequate. Recommend an upgrade to Club Lounge benefits - breakfast was most enjoyable and included hot and cold food and "happy hour" and although a bit limited in terms of food selection, staff were eager and attentive with drinks and refills; also very pleasant and willing to give good suggestions in terms of things to see and do.

Room Tip: Suggest upgrade to Club class to include breakfast and happy hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    1,794
    474
    124
    63
See reviews for
724
1,385
311
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Eaton Smart is in a great location situated on Nathan road and with a tube not far away makes everything easily accessible if you aren't up for too much walking. Dodging the suit and handbag men on Nathan road is all part of the Hong Kong experience.

The hotel itself is modern. The rooms are on the small size, especially if you have a lot of luggage but they have used the space well, to try and maximise what is available. I can only speak for our room on around he 10th floor but we looked out onto the road and hotel opposite, so not much to speak of here. The rooms were well soundproofed and so sleep quality was good.

Breakfast was not included within our room price and seemed expensive as an addition but there are plenty of cafes nearby should you decide not to pay up front for breakfast.

Overall, it seemed good value in a good location within Hong Kong and we would consider staying again should we be in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrabomberra
Level Contributor
413 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good:
1. Great shaving mirror and bathroom light.
2. Adaptor in room and many power points.
3. Location, Location, Location. Nathan Road, near to 21A airport bus stop, Temple St Night Market, etc.
4. Very clean.
5. Pleasant staff.
6. Check out.
7. Shower head and water pressure very good.

OK:
1. Bathroom amenities.
2. Internet wifi access.
3. Flat screen TV.
4. Clear glass between bathroom and bed area, to make it look more than small. There is a chain-controlled pull-down blind to give privacy when needed.
5. Price for Hong Kong.

Poor:
1. Single bed size very narrow.
2. Noise from next room - high pitched voices and crying baby prevented sleep for some hours. This alone prevents any positive recommendation from a tired traveller!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandMaryJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is in a great location - close to the subway, k1 airport bus stops there, close to great restaurants & 7-11. The beds are very comfortable. The housekeeping staff are friendly & do a great job. We would stay there again.

Some of the reception staff can be unwilling to help you. It took an awfully long time for us to check-in & I don't know why as we had pre-booked our stay. The concierge would rush through answers about where to go to see sights as if you were a nuisance for asking questions. But it was a minor negative on an otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanettek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights to attend a nearby wedding in mid Jan for the convenience. It is between Jordan station and Yau Ma Tei station but getting off at Jordan and backtracking north was easier. We stayed in room 903 - an east facing room, I have the feeling that any other direction or a higher room might have been a better view.

The room is a bit cramped for two people but not uncomfortable. The room was meticulously clean and nicely appointed. There was a fresh supply of bottled water every day and housekeeping were cheerful and friendly. We were both ill one day (flu) and slept in the room until late in the day and housekeeping were fine about it, not hammering on the door every 30 mins like I have experienced in some hotels. I appreciated the chance to rest - she refreshed the room later with no fuss and no urgency.

Nearby are some street market stalls and lots of fresh seafood to try. As many have mentioned the markets are near by as well as a 24 hour 7/11 accross the street. The lobby is on the LG level and is accessible by a bank of elevators that can sometimes have a backlog of people waiting for elevators - especially if there is a function on in one of the function suites.

Refreshingly, there are a number of power points in the room - they are generous with that, as well as an international adapter left in the room for use (not sure that someone didn't leave that in the room). We didn't breakfast at the hotel or use the pool.

Room Tip: 9th floor isn't high enough for a good view, go higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohikaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've spent 5 nights in the hotel and have to admit it was pretty nice.
The location is pretty good - it's 15 minute walk from the star pier, you can easily take a cab to any place you would like to. Eaton is situated at a fairly busy street full of shops. It is also easily accessible from the airport (MTR link to Kowloon with free bus service directly to the hotel).
There definitely are hotels situated better in more busy tourist areas but paying $50-$100 a night more just for better location is simply not worth it.
Eaton has a very nice restaurant with excellent buffet and reasonable price for lunch time. Breakfast is not included!
The room was neat and clean, well maintained but fairly small (common thing for HK hotels).
I liked gym / spa on the top floor - the swimming pool was nice.
The only disappointment was ongoing renovation - work started every morning at around 8.30-9.00, there was no notification on that which was an unplanned surprise.

Room Tip: check with hotel reception for any ongoing renovations
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edennnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the Eaton is a great hotel to stay at. Proximity to all the things you need for a quick trip to Hong Kong are close at hand. TheTempleStreet market is only 2 mins walk, Jordan Station is the same and the famous Nathan Road is on your doorstep. We arrived after booking a twin deluxe room which in the photos was a big area with a huge window overlooking Hong Kong
What we got (so we were told) was an upgrade to a small suite. NO, what we got was a pokey room at the back of the Hotel with 2 tiny rooms. Not like any suite I've stayed in before. I asked to be moved but there was nothing else available so, there we stayed. Next time ill confirm by email that I want the room I saw online, not the servants quarters.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm your room type in an email
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#96 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#93 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Property: Eaton, Hong Kong
Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a daily Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. With 4 restaurants and a bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant, a chilled Japanese izakaya style restaurant, a coffee shop and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing