We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location very clean and friendly hotel. Staff very helpful and pleasant”
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #98 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Location great close to markets Nathan road met and ferries. Rooms are on small side but very clean and with good use made of every available space. Staff very friendly and helpful Good hotel for holiday when you are basically only coming back to hotel to sleep anyway. Beds extremely comfortable too.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,420 - 2,426 of 4,102 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

I usually stay at East Hotel on the Island, but this time I decided to stay on the Kowloon side and stayed here. It was fine, but nothing particularly strong to recommend the hotel. Like most HK hotels, the room felt cramped because space is such a premium there. My room service dinner was pretty nice. Other than that, there was nothing of note. Nothing wrong with the hotel, but I wouldn't choose to stay here again. I believe for many people, the location is good for some shopping attractions - but that wasn't why I was there so I can't confirm.

Room Tip: Higher up always better in HK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fikoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here as 2 couples as a stopover on our way to Australia in mid December 2012.
The room was clean and adequate, the breakfast very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location, on Nathan road, is very central only 5 minutes from Jordon MTR station. The MTR gives you excellent cheap access around Hong Kong and is very easy to use. We also found the Eaton Smart represented good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AggiBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family of 4 adults stayed there for 6D5N in mid Dec 2012. We booked 2 rooms directly from the hotel website. It was easy getting to the hotel from the airport via taxi - about 300HKD, 45mins. Check in was a bit slow because there were many customers but once it became our turn, it was a breeze.

The hotel was clean, bed was comfortable, shower was good with strong pressure and hot water that can massage your back. The shower has a floor-to-ceiling glass window on the side that you can see into the bedroom - i.e. no privacy while showering. However, there is a pull down blind that you can activate if you dont want your spouse to see you bathe. This room is small and enough for 2 adults- but does not have the luxurious coffee table and sofas that most hotels would have - but I am told that in HK, this is a rarity given the small island.

The chambermaids are all very polite and friendly - we have been asking for extra soaps and toilet paper since they only provide 1 piece of soap that you can use either at the sink or the shower area. The toilet roll are always partial or by nature very small rolls. I was also disappointed with the lack of room slippers.

This hotel is only 2 mins away from the famous temple street night market which is across the Nathan road. Along nathan road, you can go in two directions. One direction (10mins) will take you to the three famous street markets: Ladies street, electronics street and sports goods street. The other direction will take you to the famous Tsim sha shui.

We did most of our shopping and eating along Temple street. There are lots of restaurant there to eat roasted goose. There is a very nice hong kong style ice-kachang stall on woosung street that you should try.

My recommendation for this hotel is: Excellent location - if you dont mind small rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemsfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

very small rooms however great service and perfect for a trip spent mostly outside of the hotel due to its great value and fantastic sleeping and bathing arrangement with big fairly comfortable beds and a very nice powerful shower.

1  Thank Gilad C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife, my 7 month old baby and I stayed at the Eaton for 9 nights over the new year period.

The rooms are not huge but big compared to many others we have stayed in Hong Kong. The staff are very efficient and friendly and speak excellent English, which we appreciate.

The hotel is not in the middle of the action, but we really liked the location - it is a five minute walk on very flat and wide paths to the Jordan MTR station, a 2 minute walk to the Temple Street Markets, easily accessible by car and close to many restaurants, including a Starbucks and McDonalds right across the street if you're feeling like some western junk food.

We have been to HK many times and have found the Eaton to be one of the most affordable, reliable hotels on the Kowloon side.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Did the booking through online with their 30 advance purchase promotion which was very valued for money.

Hotel is 5 mins walk Jordan station and Temple street. Upon arrival, did not wait long for my Smart room and service staff was fantastic at checking me in and offering great assistance to all enquires i had. Requested for high floor and i got the highest floor @ 20th Level. View was so-so, room is small as expected but loved the articulate design of saving the environment all around the hotel. Complimentary wifi in rooms and lobby was necessary, however signal in the rooms abit weak. Was given complimentary sandwiches+coffee for two days and the service staff was friendly and does know how to make great food! I stopped over in Hong Kong after my South Korea trip and had too many luggages to bring back, so i left them there for two weeks and they kept them till the day i returned.

I came back to Eaton for a hotel inspection and am very impressed with the sales team and their presentation. Club rooms was surprising much bigger than the deluxe rooms and club members can access the e-club with a lot of privileges. I will definately try the club room in future and am absolutely delightful with my whole stay experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haesecneret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#92 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,335 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#33 of 730 in Hong Kong
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#30 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,391 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,222 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $105 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. Restaurants and bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing