We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Excellent location, Good value”
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #98 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Location - Right in the heart of Jordan in Kowloon on Nathan Road (the Golden Mile). Nathan Road is a main thoroughfare with buses and MTR and lots of shops and people. Everything - food, shopping, Jordan MTR station, markets - all in walking distance - step outside or walk anywhere from 5 (MTR) to 10 (Temple Street market) to 15 (ladies, electronic, sports streets. Appears there is an MTR entrance being built right outside beside this hotel while we were there that if so, will be opening soon.

Arrival - We came from HK island, different hotel and part 1 of our trip and easily took the MTR here with our suitcases and easily found the hotel. Arrived early before check-in so left valuable with staff and headed out to look around. They had a room ready on 12 for us when we returned an hour before check-in time. Staff very polite and helpful.

Room - Booked through expedia and upgraded room 1 level., stayed 1 week. Had a nice, comfy king bed and enough space for us to spread out suitcases, desk, good sized bathroom. Would not have minded a slightly bigger TV screen and across from the bed vs. in the corner. Staff kept room very clean and always replaced toiletries, bottled water & towels when used. We sometimes were in the room past noon to 2 PM and they still made an effort to get the room done every time. Clean bathroom, tricky figuring out the "pump" toilet at first. Made good use of bar fridge for drinks and snacks we brought in. There is a master switch for all lights, privacy, housekeeping services but this was on the far side of the bed on the wall. Very strange location and not convenient. In-room safe was good. Value excellent at $105CAD total per night.

Hotel - Has both elevators that go right to the ground level and some that do not go all the way down. Made for short waits at any levels when used. Concierge located on G, very helpful getting us cab, locations, Macau info when asked. Lots of wedding receptions at this hotel. Only ate in restaurant on lobby level 3x and food was delicious. Huge variety and we never did get around to trying the buffet. Has a nice outdoor area beside lobby area for food, drinks or just relaxing. Coffee at Main Cafe terrible, fortunately Starbucks is right beside Eaton on the corner. Convenient hotel laundry services available but we had time to get our laundry done elsewhere for a much better price. Handy umbrella available in room for use.

Negative - Wi-Fi is NOT free here and all hotels we've always stayed at has had it free at least in a central place like the lobby and with a extra charge (as expected) if you want it in your room. Wow is all I can say for a 4-star hotel!! You can get wifi access and use their computers int he lobby... for a charge. Further, there is NO Business Center available to guests unless you count their "e-club" - is that what this was supposed to be? - the Business Center because if so, your staff didn't know this - just said there is no Business Center at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Avid_Reader_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,795 - 2,801 of 4,044 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2011

Having stayed at the Eaton on my last five trips to Hong Kong, it simply keeps getting better.

Being located one stop down the MTR from the main tourist area, means that the Eaton is proportionately lower in price that corresponding star hotels in HK.

Check in was absolutely faultless, as was check out and the rooms, as usual, although small, were spotless.

Service in both the bar and the restaurant were first rate.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here overnight prior to a trip to Macau. The location of the hotel is very convenient. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. Mc Donald's and 7 eleven are just right across. The china ferry terminal is just 5 minutes away by taxi. The service is also good they will try to accommodate every small request you have. My only complain is that the rooms are quite old and small. But nevertheless it was clean and comfortable. What I love most the is free unlimited bottled water they provide in the concierge.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I don't know how this hotel got 4 stars. The 'deluxe' room was dreary - dark, even in the daytime - with a really hard double bed and a closet area that was far below any reasonable expections. Not enough light to read a book at night. No drawers for clothes; I had to ask for more hangers, a bath robe, and a blanket for the bed. The window treatment was the cheapest biind available in Hong Kong. Don't ask about the view. The 'maids' kept turning off the air so when I returned to the room, it was as hot as a boiler room. The topper for me was returning to the room to find that someone (read: maid) had used the toilet and not flushed. The only redemption were really good pillows and a decent shower.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoomerangBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHKG, Manager at Eaton, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear guest,

We are concerned about your disappointments, we do have guest rooms with different interior fittings, decorations and beddings cater for different guest needs and requests, our Guest Service Agents will be delighted to provide assistance.
For your information, our air-conditioning will be automatically switched off after guest removed the key card for energy saving exercise. Otherwise, we regret that our hotel is conveniently located along Nathan Road and could only provide city view.

Thank you for your comments.

Sincerely yours,


Stan Chau
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Just came back from our HK trip last week and we stayed at this hotel. I reserved a superior queen room but was pleasantly surprised that our room was modern unlike the outdated room they had in their website. I requested for a high floor and were given a room on the 18th floor. Excellent location as many have said before. The bed was very comfy esp after all the walking around. Our room was always kept clean and they replenish everything each of the 3 nights that we were there esp the bottled water. Overall I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bebeocho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

When we booked a short 4 night trip to Hong Kong we knew that we wouldnt spend much time in the room, or at the hotel. Eaton Smart was perfect for this. It had cheap rates, helpful staff & was very clean.

We didnt eat there but the eateries were always busy, the gym was 24hrs, and the pool was heated and nice to relax in after a long day on HK's streets.

The location is perfect. It is a block or 2 from Temple Street markets, a couple in either direction to the MTR stops (5mins walk), and a couple of blocks from the Ladies market/sneaker street/electronics street. Taxi's are also constantly waiting outside the foyer and are relatively cheap compared to other major cities.

I'll definitely head Eaton's way next time I stop over in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieAssault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

just came back from hong kong, stay at eaton smart hotel in kowloon..
love this hotel...start from c/i..the staff very helpfull, and also they upgrade my room to suite room...wow fantastic!!!
the suite room was very spacious with complete amenities, but the big problem only that they charged for internet in the room, but you can have access to free-wifi at the e-lounge at 1st floor...if u in the mood to go down :)
anyway love this hotel b'cos of the area..full with shops and restaurants, walking distance to temple street and mtr jordan...love it...

Room Tip: rooms in the corner are bigger and book with extra e-club facilities so u can enjoy free b'fast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tria4bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#94 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,320 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#33 of 726 in Hong Kong
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#79 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,585 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,809 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $112 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. Restaurants and bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing