We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silka Seaview Hotel
Ranked #173 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Fine for location and price”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Having previously stayed at a Silka Group property and they were fully booked, I decided to try this location. It is reached easily by the A21 bus then just a few minutes walk.

I was able to check in at 3pm. The receptionist was very brisk but polite. Check in was easy as I had prepaid with Agoda.

The room as are most standard hotels in Hong Kong was smallish, but clean. There was however a lingering smell of tobacco smoke despite it being a non smoking room allocated. The bathroom was well equipped and everything worked.

I didn't come to Hong Kong to stay in my room so as long as you want a conveniently located, safe, simple place to stay you can't really go wrong here. If you need a huge room in Hong Kong then you should be researching four and five star properties.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear veteran_travelboy

Thank you so much for your continuous trust in our brand, Silka Hotels. We are happy that you have enjoyed, time and time again, the consistent and value-for-money services offered by our hotels.

We certainly look forward to your support on your next visit and thank you for your constructive comments on this trip.

Yours sincerely
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    381
    293
    82
    46
See reviews for
167
207
122
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stay here for one night. The location it's ok, but not the best area. The rooms are VERY small and the bed was uncomfortable. Our experience with the staff was awful!!! Very rude staff, specially the concierge. I'm not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ivettenieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear ivetenieves

Thank you for sharing your experience with us; and on behalf of my team, please do accept my sincere apologies on my team member's shortcomings.

It is always our vision to provide warm and courteous services to all our guests and indeed, what you have experienced is not acceptable. Rest assured, I will personally look into this area and ensure that all proper measures and/or trainings are in place to uplift the level of service to be accorded to all our guests.

Once again, my apologies and I hope that you will be able to accord us with another opportunity to prove our service to you again.

Yours sincerely
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We decided to stay here as the location is great, the rooms are tiny but clean. Space is a premium in HK so they have cleverly used the space they have. The staff are incredibly surly and not friendly or welcoming at all, if you accept that is what you will get then the rude service is quite funny. This is a no frills hotel great for somewhere to sleep while spending all of your time enjoying Hong Kong.

Room Tip: I advise to book through a website so its all paid up front as they ask for your credit card details...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helloteethLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear helloteethLondon

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip and for your constructive comments. We will address the areas as mentioned and ensure that corrective steps are taken to ensure reoccurrence of the same.

Yours sincerely
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location from MTR location, all along the Nathan , below hotel is the end part of the lady market, cross the road direct front from hotel is the famous xu Lou Shan and as hotel guest, u can enjoy 10% disc. Hotel room small but clean, have free shatter bus to Yao mah Teh MTR station , but limit time and need pre book. In room have hk map and some guid book in hk to travel with promotion voucher . Staff attitude are not so polite.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalQM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Crystal

Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to share your experiences with us. Please do accept my sincere apologies for the level of service that you have encountered with our team members. Certainly I will look into refresher courses for my team members to ensure that our guests are accorded with helpful and courteous services at all times.

Yours sincerely
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Not sure if this hotel charges more during year end. I have avoided the Golden week but the prices were more expensive compared to the previous time I visited HK which was during their lunar new year this year.
Having stayed at Silka Seaview previously, I would say that the standard of its cleanliness has drop. Strands of hair can be seen at most corners and even on one of the pillows when I entered the hotel room on the first day. Front desk staff were trying their best to clear the queue when checking into the hotel. Check out was pretty fast. Hotel is near yau ma tei mtr station and temple street. Lots of food and convenience store around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WynnTLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing and Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Wynn

Please do accept my sincere apologies on the shortcoming that you have experienced on your return visit.

Rest assured we will address all the issues mentioned in your review and will put in place, measures to ensure that we continue to uphold our level of services.

Thank you so much for sharing with us your constructive feedbacks.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was quite tight for two girls already BUT you can't fault the cleanliness, or the efficiency of the staff (who are happy to lend you an adaptor, give you walking directions, and assist with Internet connection problems). The wi-fi is fast, thankfully.

Also the location is great: just around the corner is the night market, and the MTR station is a short stroll down the street (and a left turn). A 7-11 is behind the building, for those late-night munchie runs.

Good, comfortable (if you have no space issues) place to stay in.

Room Tip: Best to specify if you require smoking/ non-smoking if it really matters. We were initially assigned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CassandraCuevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing and Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Cassandra

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback pertaining to your stay with us. We are very happy to learn that you have found all aspects of our services and facilities up to expectation; and that we have contributed towards making your holiday here in Hong Kong a memorable one.

We certainly look forward to your return visit real soon.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went to HK last month however this hotel being classy from outside was very horrendous with the space provided. Even the ppl at the reception were quite slow to understand the needs of the client. Even to the extent that they charged me twice at the time of checkout.
However, the location is quite apt as it is only 15 minutes walk to Tsim Tsa Tsui which is the main shopping are in HK. Overall a decent experience.

Room Tip: Choose their 3 bedroom rooms for a couple. then itll be comfortable. Its not for 2 guys to share the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VarunPopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing and Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Varun

First of all, please do accept my sincere apologies on the shortcomings of my team members and we will definitely look into the areas as mentioned to prevent future re-occurrence.

We hope that on your next trip to Hong Kong, you will be able to accord us the opportunity to prove our services to you once again.

Yours sincerely
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#190 of 718 in Hong Kong
436 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#206 of 718 in Hong Kong
799 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#169 of 718 in Hong Kong
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
M1 Hotel
M1 Hotel
#288 of 718 in Hong Kong
161 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Seaview Hotel

Property: Silka Seaview Hotel
Address: No.268 Shanghai Street, Yaumatei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Seaview, Hong Kong is situated in Yau Ma Tei, one of the most vibrant districts of Hong Kong. The hotel has 268 well-designed guest rooms to provide all the comforts of home. Just a footstep away from Yau Ma Tei MTR Station and right next to the Temple Street Market and Jade Market, the hotel's prime location provides unrivaled access to the busy commercial and entertainment life of the city. Complimentary in-town shuttle bus service is available, and the hotel offers the best value for money and a perfect accommodation for travellers on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Silka Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Seaview Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Seaview
Silka Seaview Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing