We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silka Seaview Hotel
Ranked #176 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Tiny rooms even for Hong Kong. Staff are terrible and unhelpful.
I would be interested if anyone has actually seen the sea from the hotel!!
There are much better hotels on Kowloon side for this price. I would never go back.
Only positive thing is the location.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itchyfeet73255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Itchyfeet

We do apologise that you did not have a pleasant stay with us and that our service were not up to expectations. On most occasions, the feedback would be because of our room size and not really about our team. However, your feedback is of value to us and we will most certainly look into this aspect.

Thank you.

Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 927 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Looking for a hotel in Hong kong is not easy especially if you want cheap and good.What make us decided to book this hotel because of the location although its pricey.


-LOCATION of the hotel just next to night market, walking distance to Yaumatei MTR, and easy access to lady market, Tsim Tsa Tsui, and alot of good and famous food arround hotel. Just beside the hotel you can see Mido cafe, and at night you can eat at Hing Kee claypot rice.

-AIRPORT BUST A21, convenient and the cheapest way to ride between airport and city , just stop infront of the main road near the hotel. You stop at opposite Yaumatei MTR, cross the road turn to left walk all the way, you can see Casa hotel next Bank of China and after that when you see basket ball court you can turn right and the hotel just in the corner behind Mido cafe.

-ROOM, is perfectly good even though Its small , u cant ask for more while you are in Hong Kong where space is very limited. All you need is on the room, A bed, Aircon, shower, Wifi, safetybox, fridge, toileteries, tea, coffee, water boiler,TV all is more than perfect for you to take a rest after whole day activities. Hope they will give a free 2 bottle of water in a future to make it more prefect.

-Actually nothing to complain about this hotel, only that day we came in a wrong time and in a wrong days, where the hotel lobby FULL of tour groups of Philippines guest waiting in a lobby.The lobby is packed with all guests and bags.
The next morning or even evening when we waiting for the lift in the, almost 20 minutes waiting the lift be it going down or going up all is packed with the group. Overall i can say the hotel is good with all nearby and walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrueForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear TrueForever

Thank you so much for your feedback in regards to your stay with us. We are happy to learn that you have found our hotel location ideal and room facilties up to your expectation. Certainly on your next visit, we will ensure two bottles of water is made available for you.

Warmest regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with 2 of my friends. The room is small, (about 11sqm, which is common in HK) but is fine for the 3 of us to put our luggage and still have space to walk. Chosen this hotel due to its’ good location. It’s located about 3 mins walk to Yau Ma Tei MTR and a stone throw distance to the Temple Street. If you are a supper lover, this would be a good choice as there’re plenty of food stall n restaurant which open till quite late. Easy access to everywhere make the whole holiday enjoyable. The rooms are generally clean n cosy, n the hotel is secured with CCTV everywhere. Would defiantly choose this hotel again the next time when I go HK again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fancyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Fancyful

Thank you for staying with us and we are indeed happy to learn that you have enjoyed your visit to Hong Kong; and stay with us.

Warmest regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed with my partner in Jan 13 and we booked the cheapest room available, since we were in HK to sightsee and not sleep :)

We paid about USD75 per night (we managed to get their discount package), without breakfast, from the hotel website. I understand that if one walk in for breakfast (all you can eat buffet) in their cafe, the price is about HKD60/USD8 per head; we did not try it out as we wanted to eat local so am not able to comment if it is value for money. There was free Wifi available while I stayed there; I understand that one had to pay for it in the past and they may discontinue the free service in the future.

For a 2.5-3 stars hotel, the standard was better than I had expected. While the staff were quite expressionless and did not smile much or greet me, it is not the Peninsula and I could see for myself that the volume of guests checking in and out is quite overwhelming (mainly big tour groups). However, what was important was that the staff was efficient and I got my keys in slightly less than 15mins once it was my turn. The chap who served me was able to converse adequately well in English, enough that my check in was fuss free.

The rooms are really small, even for HK. With a luggage bag apiece and some other hand carry bags, there was quite little floor space for us to move around. However, we could tell that some effort in design was made to maximise the space available e.g. built in corner table with multiple shelving. If you are quite big sized, tall or travelling in a group of more than 2, you may want to pay a bit more for a higher classed room. If you are like me (cheap :D), it may not matter much. The room came with a electric kettle and some complimentary instant coffee and tea bags. There is no free bottled water but being in the heart of Yau Ma Tei, it is no great hardship to buy some from a convenience store nearby.

We were initially given a smoking room and the smell of stale cigarette smoke was really too much for us. We called and asked for a change and this was done with no fuss; do let the front desk know upfront if you want non-smoking, even if it was mentioned in your online booking. They only have 2 non smoking floors so the availability is probably at a premium.

Room cleanliness was very good throughout our stay and we have no complaints. There are complimentary toiletries (shampoo, shower gel etc) that are replaced daily. Noise level was acceptable and sleep quality was good (except for my feet hanging over end of the bed).

Location is top notch, 5 mins walk from the nearest Yau Ma Tei MTR exit and being next to Temple St (night market every night). There is a free shuttle service from the Airport Express Kowloon Station to the hotel but do check the schedule. Getting a cab would probably set you back about HKD35/USD5, depending on traffic and the amount of luggage you have.

Overall, it is a good place to stay if all you are looking for is a safe, clean and cheap place to sleep.

Room Tip: - Be prepared for having your feet hang off the end of the bed, especially if you are on the taller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ascian_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Ascian_foodie

Thank you so much for such a detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. Indeed, it is always a good motivator for our service team to learn that they have once again lived up to our customers' expectation.

We will share all your commendations with our team and would also like to take this opportunity to add on regarding the wifi access, which is actually free of charge at the cafe for all our guests to use.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share with us your staying experience and we look forward to seeing you and your partner back in our hotel on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Warmest regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Location is ok, but the rooms are a disaster. For two people with luggage it is nearly impossible to move at the same time. The bathroom is even smaller and there is no chance for two people being in there at once. The bed however is the smallest. We are not Asian, so maybe that is the problem. Both of us were unable to fit in the bed, since our feet were hanging out and we had no space to move. Sleeping there was not a good experience. Additionally the walls are very thin and one can basically hear everything that happens around. So either there a people, who wake you at seven in the morning or the traffic. Would not recommend it. Don't book it, since it isn't cheap, too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weltenbummler1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Weltenbummler1703

We regret to learn that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us and do apologise for this. However, in our hotel, we do have different room categories to cater to the needs of our guests.

That being said, we are not making excuses and please do accept our apologies for the shortcomings.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms are clean and space is good enough for a family. Price is affordable and reasonable. Location is in the center, we enjoyed the restaurants, night market, shopping boutiques, etc.
but need more common ares with wi-fi facility.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loida371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Loida371

Thank you for your review and certainly we are pleased to learn that you and your family had a good staying experience with us.

Warmest regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very good hotel, cost around £30/night for two nights. It is in the centre of Kowloon, about 15 minutes walk from the coast/estuary bank. The rooms are reasonable in size, yes they are like the size of rooms in Tokyo, so say 15m square, with a bathroom on top of that, but perfectly comfortable. Service was great, didn't try the food but found the staff helpful, they had a letter sent there for me (train tickets) and sorted taxis and maps. Recommended.

Room Tip: They're all the same, so don't worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivermankowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Oliver

It was our pleasure to be of service to you during your recent stay with us and we are happy to learn that you have had enjoyed your stay with us; and that our services and location lives up to your expectations.

Warmest regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#208 of 726 in Hong Kong
815 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 726 in Hong Kong
966 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#199 of 726 in Hong Kong
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#175 of 726 in Hong Kong
669 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#96 of 726 in Hong Kong
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Seaview Hotel

Address: No.268 Shanghai Street, Yaumatei, Kowloon | Yau Ma Tei, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $70 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Seaview, Hong Kong is situated in Yau Ma Tei, one of the most vibrant districts of Hong Kong. The hotel has 268 well-designed guest rooms to provide all the comforts of home. Just a footstep away from Yau Ma Tei MTR Station and right next to the Temple Street Market and Jade Market, the hotel's prime location provides unrivaled access to the busy commercial and entertainment life of the city. Complimentary in-town shuttle bus service is available, and the hotel offers the best value for money and a perfect accommodation for travellers on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silka Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Seaview Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Seaview
Silka Seaview Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing