We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lgbt shocker”
Review of Conrad Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Conrad Hong Kong
Ranked #21 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lgbt shocker”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying at the Conrad. My partner is here for business and I tagged along. We have traveled all over the world and are familiar with "the look" we usually get upon check in when two women traveling together request one bed. Shockingly the pleasant woman who checked us in at the executive desk did not flinch. She smiled and went forward with our check in as if nothing out of the ordinary was happening. What a refreshing attitude from this hotel.

On a general level this hotel is superb. The level of service is unmatched at any hilton property where I have had the pleasure to stay. As diamond hilton members we are usually fairly well accommodated but the service here rivals all.

Our king corner suite has the most breathtaking views of the harbor and the mountains. As I open the curtains each morning I am in awe of this amazing city.

Due to my partners busy work schedule we have had to order dinner from room service twice and the options and flavors are outstanding. Try the green curry chicken! Also it was not as expensive as you might think.

As we begin our 4th of a 6 night stay I had to put my review down for all to see.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sjay1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradHongKong, General Manager at Conrad Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Conrad Hong Kong. I hope you found a world of style, service and connections during your stay, and that you felt the freedom to truly be yourself when you were with us. Thank you for your business, and I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Thomas Hoeborn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,077
    758
    180
    65
    27
See reviews for
507
877
293
1,130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middleham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel has to meet the challenges of both Westyern and Chinese guests - and manages to do both very effectively. The Chinese want 'bling', great service and kudos. The Westerners want quiet, great service and no hassle. This hotel achieves all that anyone can ask of it.

I hear that the dinner buffet has been famous for years. It is a deserved fame! There is an additional barbecue at weekends, so that I did not become bored eating there 4 different nights of my stay (and one lunch). To sit with my silver tankard of beer and 2 lobsters on the plate in the open air watching the lights on the skyscrapers was a magical experience (not a cheap one, I must point out!) - and that was before I had the ain course......

Nothing bad,nothing wrong. a few feet from the British Consulate if you have business there, at a good point on the edge of the CBD, with easy access for our seminar attendees. Seminar management was done so well I didnt even notice the service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaumap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradHongKong, General Manager at Conrad Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments about Conrad Hong Kong, and I hope you will stay with us again soon to experience smart luxury at its finest!

Kind Regards,
Thomas Hoeborn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Good location, and nice rooms. However: even if you are staying in the hotel, you might not get a table for lunch, and you don't get an apology if they mess up with anything you ask them to do. That's because at this hotel they don't really care about you. I would no longer rate this hotel as one of the premium hotels in HK. If it has a dedicated, loyal, following then I am not part of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Symbolics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradHongKong, General Manager at Conrad Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve during your recent stay. We promise our guests a world of style, service and connection, and we will use your comments to ensure that we are continually working to achieve that ideal. I sincerely appreciate your feedback, and I hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Thomas Hoeborn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The room I've stayed was located on one of the top executive levels.
I will always remember morning when I woke up there, opened curtains on the huge panoramic window and look across the valley at the Hong Kong hills. The view was so breathtaking that one thought came straight to my mind "I'm standing at the top of the world!"
Other than that it is a luxury hotel and provides everything that is expected.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dosia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradHongKong, General Manager at Conrad Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments about Conrad Hong Kong, and I hope you will stay with us again soon to experience smart luxury at its finest!

Kind Regards,
Thomas Hoeborn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dime Box, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I travelled to HK for our 20th wedding anniversary, and booked a harbor view king. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite (4426) with views of both the harbor and the mountains. Our plane was very late, and it was after midnight when we arrived. The room had a chilled bottle of French Champagne, a beautiful tropical floral arrangement, a chest of chocolates and fresh fruit, both of which were replenished daily. We're Hilton diamond members, but this was above and beyond--and appreciated!

As so many have mentioned, the executive lounge staff is amazing, and we found everyone to be friendly and personable, including the front desk staff. The location on top of the train station, and the umbrella in the room kept us dry during our wet weekend. Hong Kong and it's amazing train system rival Switzerland, and the location of the Conrad can't be beat. It's pricy, but for a special occasion, utterly worth it.

Room Tip: If you can get a suite, you'll have panoramic views of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheezeFutures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradHongKong, General Manager at Conrad Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Conrad Hong Kong. I hope you found a world of style, service and connections during your stay, and that you felt the freedom to truly be yourself when you were with us. Thank you for your business, and I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Thomas Hoeborn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Whilst being very nice, the HK Conrad, in my opinion has somewhat of a cold atmosphere about it. It is difficult to explain but as a guest, I felt that the Hotel runs more through the motions in simply getting people in and out, similar to the Conrad in Singapore, than making sure their guests feel welcome. Perhaps they are just totally focussed on the business traveller, which I was not during this stay; purely vacation. Other similar properties (Conrad Bali, Bangkok and Macau) display greater ‘warmth’ towards their guests which in turn makes ones experience as a guest far more pleasant (not that my stay was not pleasant – it was). Personally, I believe it is more important that a Hotel shows warmth to all guest and one may argue that as a business traveller it is more important as by definition, the business traveller is away from home. The exception was the Executive Lounge staff; all very friendly, attentive and personable – very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelEverwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradHongKong, General Manager at Conrad Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We strive for flawless service delivery at our hotel, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have to offer. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our training processes, and we hope you will return to stay with us to experience the results of that work for yourself.

Kind Regards,
Thomas Hoeborn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is the 1st time for me as I usually stay at the Hyatt and Grand Hyatt chains.

The hotel is located right on top of a very nice shopping centre - mostly for locals and expats in Hong Kong. It's right in the tourist area or within easy reach.

The hotel is not new but everything is still excellent. Some others have commented about the age but I actually do not like the "newer" hotel designs as some of them are so plain - even the 5* - they actually look like the Ikea showroom.

The rooms are large for HK standard. The bathroom is really the only place you can tell the age of the hotel as it is lined with marbles and gold coloured faucets. But I felt that this is a nice touch as it feels a little warmer than the black, grey and white of some of the more modernized rooms in other hotels.

The bed was excellent and comfortable. After a few days of busy work and walking, it is refreshing to go back to the room and just relax.

The front desk was very helpful and very quick. The concierge services were excellent.

The "bad" things about it
- internet should be complimentary nowadays

Room Tip: No complimentary internet. If coming from the airport, take the MTR Express to Hong Kong station and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradHongKong, General Manager at Conrad Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments about Conrad Hong Kong, and I hope you will stay with us again soon to experience smart luxury at its finest!

Kind Regards,
Thomas Hoeborn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#26 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
#11 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Hong Kong

Property: Conrad Hong Kong
Address: No 88 Queensway, Pacific Place, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Conrad Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing