We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few days in HK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #106 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A few days in HK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

First time at this hotel (as part of a small group). Good location with respect to public transportation.

Very friendly and attentive / supportive staff - as a guest we felt good at the City Garden.

Nice restaurant Garden Café and specialty restaurant Satay with southeast Asian treats

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ernst D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    681
    212
    38
    28
See reviews for
259
326
108
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

My friend has made a reservation at this hotel thru booking.com on 6 march for 10 to 17 May and we made a cancellation on 10 march complying to the free cancellation policy, I was so shock when my friend received her credit card statement showing City Garden has charged us HKD5,621 for a 7 nights stay on 3 April! The charge will be due on 14 May and we are not going to pay for it hence it will sure incur interest charges! I have contacted the hotel directly and booking.com has also stepped in to assist and I hope to resolve this soon, It has greatly caused s stress and spoiled my holiday mood as I will be travelling this weekend and I trust that I will not truly enjoy my holiday with this issue pending. Utterly upset and disappointed...

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank FlorenceKou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

City Garden has an alternative name within my company (1st word sounds like city but slight difference) but I won't tell it here as it would no do the place justice. It's basic, bit outdated and location may not seem very convenient but: you can get really good deals on the rooms and then it becomes interesting. standard and plus rooms are the same in my view, rooms quite spacey, they sometimes have a mould problem on a floor which you can smell with the airco on but will normally move you around easily if you ask for it. Location is actually quite nice if you want to see something more than causeway bay. Couple of nicel restaurants around (I especially like to vietname place that's up the road from the main entrance) and it's close to metro stop. Breakfast not so special and more aimed towards tour groups from mainland I believe

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rinus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for the last 5 years as the rooms are big for Hong Kong the breakfast is great and they had a bus to take you to the convention centre for the fair. This year i booked on line no mention of needing a ticket for the bus So we were not allowed on the bus this was terrible service I will not stay here again as I need to get to the fair and staying here has become to hard.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracePhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

It's not particularly value for money - almost two hundred usd a night but the location is in a grimier part of Hong Kong, the rooms are tired and the bathroom cramped, and the view is quite hideous. Completely appreciate the fact that Hong Kong is out of space and everything is expensive but more research indicated that for the same price, you can still get a lot of different beautiful boutique hotels in a better part of town with newly refurbished rooms and superior views. The good thing is that it is pretty well-run, there is a big lobby and check in is pretty efficient, the dining room for breakfast was lovely and there were alot of options and even thought the location is not desirable, it is still a direct tram/mtr/bus straight to City within a few stops. So if the company has booked you there, don't despair its easy to travel into the nicer parts of town, but if you had a choice of where to stay, you may want to do more research for hotels around this price in Hong Kong as there are certainly more options....

Room Tip: As high as possible to avoid getting a view of just rows and rows of apartment blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steppenw0lfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Hi,
My wife and I were keen on a hotel with a good track record having a convenient location.

Location/Connectivity :: Great
Hotel is part of the Airport shuttle route and is situated about 500m from the North Point MTR.
There's a 7 Eleven just outside the hotel which is great for last minute supplies.

Food
We called for in-room dining once which tasted good (one Phad Thai and one pasta) and our remaining meals at the hotel were only the breakfast buffet which we enjoyed thoroughly. It had a vast spread and quite some variety. We spent 4 mornings attempting to exhaust all the items for a taste - I doubt we managed it.

Rooms
We booked ourselves in the Signature room which starts from the 23rd floor up. There's barely a glimpse of the harbour view even at that height, thanks to a clutter of residential buildings equally high up. Guess the view pays off only on the top floors. Turned out that it was a bit noisy because of our room being near the lift so the receptionist promptly upgraded us to the 25th. What a nice surprise! However, it didn't really help us get a better view.

Room was very clean and gave a cosy feel although we felt it could have been a little bigger in size. Thankfully, we were out most of the day so we didn't feel the pinch.

Service
The bell boy attended to us as soon as we alighted from the airport shuttle to handle our luggage but the reception desk was a bit inefficient in addressing customers. Anyhow, we got through the check-in and were directed to the counter up on the 24th (I think) because we had a signature room to us. There, after a bit of back and forth because the lady wasn't very conversant in English, we got to our room.

Housekeeping staff was supportive but unfortunately, unable to speak in English. You'll probably have to master your non verbal skills whilst requesting for accessories and stressing on keywords like "SOAP" , "NEW TOWEL" and the like.

Ambience
While most of the stay was pleasant, the hotel seemed to be a popular choice for group bookings - mostly people from the mainland - as we saw them moving in and out of hotel in droves. There was also a hint of business executives lodged at the premises. We saw them only during the morning hours at the breakfast buffet!

Room Tip: 1. Visit the official website for great offers (not available on this site) 2. Pick a room away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmeniuS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Every year me and my family will come to HongKong for vacation.

On 2012 I was stayed in this hotel for 6 nights under the room number 2213.

While on 2013 I came back to stay again for 6 nights under the room number 1923. I found this room is cozier than 2213.

We book a Suite Room every time we came to stay. The room itself is spacious and clean. The hotel location is close to Fortress Hill MTR which is just ard 10 mins walk away. Breakfast is great and value for money. The lady staff for garden cafe is very friendly. She try to learn my local language for greet me every time we visit the restaurant and she is very helpful too.

For the service, on 2012 I was having a great service in this hotel, especially Ms. Rossi Chan (if i'm not mistaken). She was one of the staff at 25th floor of lounge room. On my first time stay in this hotel, I book for 4 days and we had a good journey also in HK. Then this staff is asking me whether I would like to extend in this hotel and I said I had book a ticket to Singapore and she said will help me to arrange it. Bumps, it was like a magic, she do it just for a few mins by calling her friends who working in airlines and I extend for two more nights.
Everyday I had a big bowl of fruits and 1 plate which have 3 chocolate, 3 cookies and candies with 1 bottle of wine. Not just than that, I can entry or use the lounge anytime I want without any restrictions. When my family come to visit me, it was crowded in my room and she let me to use the lounge for having a chat with my family.

On 2013, when I came back to stay in this hotel. I found that this staff has been resigned and as I imagine that this time wouldn't be great as before is happened. The staff is not helpful and not friendly. When I entry to the lounge she always keep asking me from which room number? and when my family came to visit me she said there's a restriction which is only 3 persons from my room can entry the lounge. Moreover, they just send a small small plate of fruit once per check-in with one bottle of water.

As a recommendation for this hotel, if you want having a loyal customer then you should be loyal to the customer back. Try to manage an excellence and qualify staff under their position or department.

I will come back again to stay in this hotel on this year July 21 for 6 nights. I hope there's an improvement for the service and quality. While this hotel can't maintain a good service and quality for guest, then we will had a second option of hotel.

Thank you and have a nice day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#95 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#111 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#57 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#109 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Property: City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the bustling Causeway Bay shopping and business district, and within 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR station, the 613-room City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong is one of the best Hong Kong hotels, which provides Handy smartphone, complimentary shuttle bus services to nearby shopping and business hubs, which is only 10 minutes away. City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong has a variety of dining options, including the award-winning restaurant YUE, the Western and Asian favourite Garden Café, and the Singaporean restaurant Satay Inn. Whether it's for business or relaxation, the City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong offers free WIFI and a comprehensive range of facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour gym, business centre, and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your City Garden Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong City Garden
City Garden Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing