We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious hotel and good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #105 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Brisbane
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Spacious hotel and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Family of four had 13 nights (Jan 2014) - two rooms on 22nd floor. It appears this floor is not yet refurbished, nonetheless, the Grand Luxe room (38m2) was spacious although the bathroom is small but well appointed with a good sized vanity bench and shower over small bath. Signature room with twin beds - good size (30m2), bathroom same as larger room, but no iron.

Housekeeping were stingy with soap for some strange reason - ideally, it would have been replaced each day, while towels etc replaced every day.

Rooms were clean and bathrooms had glass splashbacks - so no mould between tiles. Sealant around edges was a bit of a DIY handyman job though.

Toilet blocked on first day and bath slow to drain - both fixed straight away and OK for the balance of our stay.

We had the CG club extra which enables check in on 25th floor - no need to line up in the lobby. Also includes free wifi, buffet breakfast (which was OK - understandably a bit so, so after 13 of them!!) and drinks (not really cocktails) and nibblies between 6.00 and 9.00pm on level 25 (can get busy at this time). Easy check out too on level 25.

Staff are very friendly although surprisingly, English is not the best with many of the staff and some comments are lost in translation.

Air con was OK - not sure if the temperature setting had much effect and the smell of smoke drawn into the room was not good at times, even on a non smoking floor. Of the 13 nights, we had one noisy night with the room door across the corridor open for the whole evening with people coming and going at will (and smoking).

Beds are very firm and pillows either very soft or very firm with not much in between.

Hotel location is good - supermarkets, chemist etc within easy walk and Fortress Hill MTR just up the road too.

At one stage during our stay, we were asked to make a partial room payment, although credit card details had been provided. When we went to level 25 to make a payment, they were unaware of the request and contacted the duty manager - not sure what was said, but they didn't then want a payment from us - all settled on check out as you would expect. This was a strange request and no reason given to us as to why so a request was made.

Overall - aside from a few niggles, our stay was good and I am happy to recommend the hotel to fellow travellers. Incidentally - we booked through booking.com - payment terms for the two rooms differed at time of booking for some reason.

Room Tip: Go for the CG club extras; Talk to Concierge Andy if good English is needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    681
    212
    38
    28
See reviews for
259
326
108
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I book my room at the Garden City Hotel for 3 nights , in December 2013 6,7,8
And when booking out i received my Account of just over $7200 dollar Hong Kong Dollars

Yes that is $1000 Australia dollars for this very small room!! the shower was leaking and the shower head fall off so i had to call for service to fix! this Hotel has been Renovated ,it is a very old Hotel built in 1983!!
When i made this booking over the internet the quote amuont was for $160 Australian dollars Per night ! but really i don't complain much about anything but on this subject i am a little pissed!! i don't ask for much!!

I email the manager of this Hotel and his explanation was we where short on rooms and offer me a 20% discount on my room!!
If i did not pay this account on the time of departure i would not be leaving this country i would still be in Jail !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk-thejohnstonsuites, City Garden Hotel Management at City Garden Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Peter S

Regarding the comments you uploaded on TripAdvisor about your complaint on the hotel room rates; again, we truly understood your disappointments that the hotel rate we charged did not fulfill your “preferred room rates”.

As we have already explained in the emails that we sent to you before that at the time you made your reservation on our hotel website was just one day prior to your arrival which was overlapping the peak period with major trade fairs taken place in Hong Kong. Since most of the hotels in the city were running critical on on-booked situation that our hotel has left “Signature Room” and above that includes various additional privileges, available for guests’ reservation. Thus, daily room rates quoted were higher than standard room on those days.

Upon receiving your comments, we immediately looked into the case by going through all the procedures with the intention to extend our assistance to you. It has been found that all proper documentations were recorded with us that you have signed on every confirmation. Since we would like to retain the relationship with you and showed our sincere understanding on your situation, our management decided to offer you 20% special discount off the total room bill. Immediate action was then taken and the rebate charges were credited to your credit card account directly. Meanwhile we have tried a number of times to call your mobile phone as a courtesy follow up with you personally, but all in vain. After then, we received your demand for a refund of your room payment by claiming that the room did not worth the money.

Again, you are welcome to give us a call for further discussion.


City Garden Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Its nice to stay here accessability is very flexible and easy to go convienent store and other shops best is to book online to get the price cheaper;) they have a promo on chinese website just friendly tip if guys needed affordable price......;)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while attending a trade fair. It was accessible, not far from the MTR and not far from the Convention Center. The service was good, and the staff was very friendly. My aunt caught a fever, and they helped us contact a doctor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank readysuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is located very close to the subway station (Forest Hill) and is close to Mc Donald's, Starbucks and mini markets if you do not book it with breakfast, which was my case.
The staff is very helpful, and help us to book a dinner on the New Year's eve in a good place with no abusive prices.
The room is big, clean, quiet with a very good shower.
The price is high, but is a good deal, considering you are at Hong Kong, which is a very expensive city.

Definitely I would stay at Garden City again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maprest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

After reading the reviews for this hotel on Trip Advisor we decided to book the hotel & we are glad we did. Great hotel for families. It's within walking distance of everything including, MTR, shopping, restaurants, etc. The hotel staff was professional and very helpful. Kudos to the concierge in the business center, Vivianne. She went out of her way to make sure the birthday girl in our group had a cake on her birthday. Thank you to her for making our stay extra special. We highly recommend this hotel & having club access during our stay was awesome according to our 10 year old.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank teamrobinsonjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

a garden, an apartment building - thats it. What view do you really need if you stay only for one night? Check-in, quick shower, dinner, back to the room, international news and time for sleep. In this case, each step felt easy and enjoyable; friendly guest service, clean big room and nice shower, excellent buffet dinner, comfortable bed, ordinary breakfast, all this to a more-than-decent price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#97 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#111 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#56 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#109 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Property: City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the bustling Causeway Bay shopping and business district, and within 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR station, the 613-room City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong is one of the best Hong Kong hotels, which provides Handy smartphone, complimentary shuttle bus services to nearby shopping and business hubs, which is only 10 minutes away. City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong has a variety of dining options, including the award-winning restaurant YUE, the Western and Asian favourite Garden Café, and the Singaporean restaurant Satay Inn. Whether it's for business or relaxation, the City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong offers free WIFI and a comprehensive range of facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour gym, business centre, and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct so you can book your City Garden Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong City Garden
City Garden Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing