We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, bad front desk service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #103 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here during our HK trip for about 10 days over two separate stays. The hotel itself is in a good location 3 mins to the Fortress Hill MRT which made it convenient and cheap to travel. It is also easy to hail a taxi service, but we were fortunate to be visiting family and had the luxury of being chauffeured from time to time. The first room we had was large and spacious and housekeeping was great with our requests for extra towels and pillows. The bathroom was in great condition. The view was horrible as it was surrounded by buildings all around, but we knew this based on previous reviews and pictures from past hotel stayers. The second room we had was smaller than the first and upon bringing this up to the front desk staff, we were rudely told that because we had booked through a travel agent we were unable to change our room (yet the cost we had paid per night was actually higher than what the hotel was charging for that same night booking) without paying additional fees. This room was in undesirable conditions. We had a broken thermostat so most of the time the room was too cold for us. We called the maintenance line and they sent someone up to fix that. By day 2 it was broken again. We gave up trying to fix it and instead asked for additional blankets from housekeeping. The bathroom was in deplorable conditions. The shower had two broken holes that were covered up by peeling round silver stickers. This was on top of plexi-glass so you can imagine how badly it stood out. The caulking around the tub was obvious and poorly done. The toilet required 2 flushes if you had a #2. The room carpet was stained with spots that I can't even imagine what might have been spilled on there. The curtains were dingy and the TV had an unknown brand that only worked well half the time. This was unacceptable especially given that we had a really great first time stay with the first room saved for the view from the room, and the tv that had really terrible reception so most of the channels were either fuzzy or unwatchable.

Overall, this hotel is a place that we used to shower, sleep, and store our things so for what it was used for, it served its purpose. The location was really the hot seller for us when choosing this hotel over others in the Causeway Bay area. Price is decent if you are booking for yourself. We booked through an agent and clearly had two different experiences with the front desk hotel staff. If the front desk actually made a concerted effort to smile more as they check in guests and check out guests and resolved guest concerns and accommodations, this may be have been a friendlier stay. The service provided by the bell staff and the house keeping staff is what will make us recommend this hotel to those who are not expecting bells and whistles and can appreciate a simple hotel with basic necessities covered. We also appreciated the memo that they included under our door when there was water repairs and maintenance going on during the day that warned us of possible water outage.

We didn't have a chance to try out YUE as we had other places we wanted to try more, but if we are to return, I wouldn't mind giving it a shot. We didn't buy the breakfast plan so no comment on the buffet, but we took a look up on the 2nd level and noticed that it was your typical fan fare so nothing to rave about. I personally found it to not be worth the cost of it considering there are plenty of other places much better to eat at around North Point and a brisk 10 minute walk over to Causeway Bay.

If you ask for the manager at concierge, good luck finding him or her. We were given the run-around by Doris who was as unpleasant as could be. After we requested to speak to the manager, she called and spoke quietly to someone on the phone. At the same time, a lady came over and later walked away. After more than 5 minutes of waiting, I inquired again about the manager's status and whereabouts, and lo-and-behold the same lady who had came over originally was the one who spoke to me/us. I was astonished at the audacity of the waiting and the run-around for this simple request. Needless to say, the staff at concierge is inconsistent in their service and their roles. Our first night's stay was much more pleasant with a young lady who's name I regretfully didn't catch, but she was superb. So all in all, it just depends on who you get when you check into this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the 11th floor at all costs. From the moment you walk out of the elevator to the moment you en...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk-citygardenhotel, Director of Rooms at City Garden Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Catherine H

Thank you for staying at City Garden Hotel. We have learnt from Tripadvisor about your comments of your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies that your stay has fallen short of expectation.

Please rest assured that we have already engaged in an intensive program for related departments, such as the front office, engineering and housekeeping in order to review and improve our performance.

On the other hand, we shall follow your preference by updating your guest profile in our record so as to ensure you a comfortable stay in your future visits.

We hope that your unpleasant experience will not mar your overall impression of the hotel as a whole. We look very much forward to the opportunity of restoring your faith in us, and welcoming you back to City Garden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

John Lam
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
There are newer reviews for City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my husband & 2 year old and we selected this hotel based on location (5 mins walk from fortress hill station / MTR) & also because for HK standards they have spacious rooms. With a toddler this is quite important. The hotel is nice - clean & comfortable. The bathtub looks old - I wouldn't want to soak in it. But for showers it's fine. Found it strange though that they were always out of creamer & so having coffee in the room required multiple calls to house keeping. The staff, specially the concierge were very helpful & friendly.

Location - there's supermarkets / convenience stores very close to the hotel but don't expect any malls or high street brand shops. For that you need to stay in wan chai, causeway bay or central. The highlight for our toddler however was the mini play ground just opposite the hotel & an in-door play area for kids a 2 min walk away.

Overall good hotel to be based at, specially with a toddler. But not great for quick shopping trips as you have to take the MTR or tram to the shopping areas. If I go again I'd probably look for a place closer to central. The peak tram & mid way elevators (& loads of restaurants, pubs etc) are there and it's better connected to the other MTR lines which makes going to Kowloon easier. Also the ferry pier is close to the MTR. Warning: food in HK is expensive. Expect to pay minimum HKD 200 per person at a regular restaurant.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank SAR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at City Garden on a number of occasions in recent years (the first time was booked by others for us on a business trip). We enjoy the North Point location (away from the heavily trafficked tourist and expat enclaves of HK (been there/done that in the past). North Point reminds us (just a little) of the HK we used to know 30-40 years ago.
Its so easy to get anywhere in HK on the MTR (fast and cheap) so the fact that you get much larger room and a lower room tariff compared to hotels in the more popular parts of HK makes this hotel a good choice for our recent 4 night stop over.
The hotel buffet breakfast is very good, but if you like local food there is a very good value Café Coral on the first floor next door to the hotel, and many other similar local food outlets.

Room Tip: We always ask for a non-smoking room and always have been satisfied with our room at this hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65Graham65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I'm travelling with friends on a business trip and each of us were all staying in a very small hotel room in Kowloon so we decided on our 3 days off in Hong Kong we should move to another hotel in a different area and share rooms so it didn't cost as much. I saw good rates on this hotel on wotif so I went on the hotel website and booked the highly competitive rate. I researched the reviews and saw it had relatively good reviews. The rooms are much bigger, and the hotel itself is generally well presented. The restaurants here at the hotel are great which is a bonus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who isn't too fussed about the location even though the hotel isn't right in the heart of the city, it is so easy to get anywhere.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Frequentflyer8590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the City Garden for 4 wonderful nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All of the staff at the hotel were polite and extremely helpful. Our room was very very clean and spacious with everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable. We had view of the garden below from the 17th floor and a glimpse of the harbour through the buildings. We also tried out the swimming pool which wasn't huge but was an exciting experience. Its close to Fortress Hill Metro station to get you into the centre, but we would recommend exploring the area surrounding the hotel as well! Would strongly recommend, we will defiantly stay again! Thanks City Garden :)

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GlenLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

simple spacious room, 4 star is overrated, why, tv is of cheapest brand i suppose , barely watchable with non adjustable control of contrast or brightness coupled with weak flickering tv signal. ask for renovated room, serioulsy is just a 5o% makeover , stained carpet, old tub with rusty trap, the only consolation probably is location , and a michelin star chinese restaurant here( blown off your pocket).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musiccontempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed in the hotel in November for 6 nights and had a perfect stay. Rooms are clean and spacious beds are comfortable. The bathroom was more than adequate. We used the hotel primarily for a place to stay to explore HK and it was perfect. The Hotel is located 5 minutes from Fortress Hill MTR station makes it very easy for travel around HK island and Kawloon. The hotel staff were very helpful with giving directions and confirming arrangements that we had made which made it hassle free! We managed to get on a bus from Hong Kong airport which was the A11 and it stops 3 minutes walk from the hotel which is convenient the bus cost $40HKD which was very reasonable.

If i was to re visit HK i wouldn't hesitate to stay in the City Garden hotel again.

Room Tip: Stayed on floor 21 and we had no complaints
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tooziver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#108 of 721 in Hong Kong
647 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#116 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,467 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#86 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,751 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $93 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the bustling Causeway Bay shopping and business district, and within 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR station, the 613-room City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong is one of the best Hong Kong hotels, which provides Handy smartphone, complimentary shuttle bus services to nearby shopping and business hubs, which is only 10 minutes away. City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong has a variety of dining options, including the award-winning restaurant YUE, the Western and Asian favourite Garden Café, and the Singaporean restaurant Satay Inn. Whether it's for business or relaxation, the City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong offers free WIFI and a comprehensive range of facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour gym, business centre, and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your City Garden Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong City Garden
City Garden Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing