We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel although a little dated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #106 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Brighton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel although a little dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the City Garden for 4 nights on a stopover in Hong Kong and booked into a City Suite Room.
On arrival we were advised to check in at the Club Lounge, this was a nice touch and the staff member was very helpful and quick during booking in,
We were not shown to our room just told which floor it was on.
On arrival the room seemed nice enough but it was not quite what the website picture shows, The city suite is 2 rooms with an interconnecting door, the bedroom is a 'Signature Guest room' and the other room has a Sofa, table and chairs and a 2nd bathroom.
The sofa was quite old and shabby and sloped in the middle, the decor of the bedroom was okay but the lounge looked dated, and both bathrooms could do with a refurbishment.
The shower stopped working in one of the rooms but this was fixed by maintenance quite quickly when reported.
Cleaning was efficient but one of the days they did not clear away the dirty plates and cutlery from the night before.
The hotel has a pool & Jacuzzi, this again could do with a bit of a tidy up, the patio furniture used is very old, dirty and only 4 loungers and 6 chairs for use, the pool area over looks loads of not very attractive high rise buildings (which is not the hotels fault) but by placing nicer furniture and maybe some plants/trees around the pool could have made the atmosphere much more inviting.
Our room came with 'Club lounge' usage and each night they provided 'Cocktails & Canapés', I have to say this was quite poor, the cocktails consisted of a bottle of Cheap Vodka, Gin and Whisky on a trolley, white & red wine, and soft drinks (coke /tonic water/soda water) left on the bottom of the trolley ( only 2 cans of each left out and not refrigerated) and canapés were 2 hot dish nibbles and some cheese along with a few packets of crisps / biscuits .. Just something simple like having more than 2 cans of soft drinks out so you don't have to ask for more during the busy cocktail hours and maybe keeping them in a fridge so they are cold and not warm could make the whole experience much nicer.
The hotel is located at North Point on HK island, 5 mins walk from Fortress hill MTR and the tram/bus stops, it's about 10 mins to central on the MTR (about 70pence) and about 30 mins on the open air tram which is much more fun and costs about 20pence, Causeway bay is only about 5 mins on MTR and 15 on tram.
Despite a few negatives I would recommend this hotel, great location, good price, breakfast buffet is amazing and friendly staff, it just needs a bit of modernisation.

Room Tip: Excellent Breakfasts, go for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dam032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    681
    212
    38
    28
See reviews for
259
326
108
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We checked in with a 8 months old baby. While tried to catch up some sleep in the morning, the noise of renovation started- the last thing you want when you got a baby. We tolerated the first day only found it continued next day. No consideration, no care when they put us in the room

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

rooms are big and clean.the metress was hard and for me and my wife it was excelent.we took 2 rooms in this hotel.every day we get from the hotel 2 botle of mineral water and it was nice.it will be good if we have more chirs to seat in the lobby while waiting.
the hotel is quite

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ronen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at City Garden for a week on a business trip. It is a fine hotel. My 18th floor room was spacious and quiet, with free wifi. The room had the features you'd expect: minibar fridge, safe, bath, slippers, adjustable air conditioning. The bed was comfortable, and the desk was functional as a workspace. Staff were friendly and courteous, and service was smooth and efficient (although the 'special' check-in on the 25th floor was rather slow). The Garden Cafe was fine, nothing special. The buffet breakfast was reasonable, although a bit limited for vegetarians. The "gym" is a tiny couple of rooms entirely filled by a few treadmills/bikes/elipticals. I didn't use the pool, but it looked pleasant. The room was a bit worn: scuff marks and chips on the walls, amateur re-grouting in the bath, streaks on the bathroom counters, some stains on the carpets. Nothing bad--the room was clean and pleasant--but it was clear that the hotel had not been removated for a while. City Garden was, thus, fine: nothing special, nothing bad.

It's easy to get to from the Fortress Hill MTR station, and conveniently located near many shops, restaurants, and nice walks (Quarry Bay promenade, Quarry Bay jogging track and other mountain trails). A taxi to Central is inexpensive.

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CadboroBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very basic hotel. Although it's been renovated recently, it's still quite dated. Probably because it's a very traditional "just a hotel" hotel. Rooms are typical brown, beige and cream coloured. Toilets are dated bath tubs, with calcium buildup on the shower head and mould on the rubber corking around the tub. Breakfast is OK. Nothing to write home about. If you can read and speak Cantonese, just head out for meals. Lots of good food around the hotel.

Staff seem to pay more attention to non-Asian looking guest. Not surprising considering that most guest seem to be from mainland, and those who I encountered there were loud, rude, inconsiderate. Staff must encounter this daily, so they think that anyone who looks Chinese are from mainland.

Overall, average, not too bad, not very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErvinHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were here not 6 months ago..and it was ok....but his time - big disappointment. We were "upgraded" to a deluxe room (costing over USD $200 a night) and it's an old, dilapidated, substandard room. Paint peeling off the walls, massive yellowing around the toilet base...just very dated and disappointing. Breakfast is nothing special. NOT impressed. This will be our last stay.

Room Tip: It's time to upgrade your rooms....it's boarding on being a dump. Sorry to say that - but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashhad, Iran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

every thing is perfect in city garden hotel.the staff are very helpful and treat you as special guest.
the restaurant is very nice and enjoyable place.
it was very good and i have good memory with city garden hotel.
by the way there is a good place around the hotel where you can buy cheap and beautiful things; specially clothes.
it is an advice from me to you "try it". honestly if i get another chance i will book again.
thanks to the all staff

Room Tip: higher floors have nice view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azinvaezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#95 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#111 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#57 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#109 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Property: City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the bustling Causeway Bay shopping and business district, and within 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR station, the 613-room City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong is one of the best Hong Kong hotels, which provides Handy smartphone, complimentary shuttle bus services to nearby shopping and business hubs, which is only 10 minutes away. City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong has a variety of dining options, including the award-winning restaurant YUE, the Western and Asian favourite Garden Café, and the Singaporean restaurant Satay Inn. Whether it's for business or relaxation, the City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong offers free WIFI and a comprehensive range of facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour gym, business centre, and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your City Garden Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong City Garden
City Garden Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing