We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #107 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Staff very helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to break our journey from Europe. First impressions were very good as staff extremely helpful. Hotel close to good cheap transport links. The tram is very near and was great to help us get to know the area. On our first night we went for a long ride on it and did a walk and then got the tram back to the hotel. Hong Kong at night is a mass of lights. We continued to use the tram a lot but we also made use of the buses as they were also close by. . Our room was large and had everything you wanted. You got free water on your first night. The breakfast was good and catered for all tastes. The only thing that lets this hotel down and it is not the hotel itself but it is the garden in front of the hotel that I assume it is named after. You would think they would want the garden to look nice and be clean but this was not the case. It clearly had been a nice area but now in an unkept state. Don't let this put you off staying here as they keep their entry and surrounding ground floor very clean. It was just sad to see an area that had potential to be nice run down. It seems typical of Hong Kong though as the view out of our window was better at night as daytime showed up the staining and dirt that seemed to be on a lot of the apartment blocks. There are interesting local markets in easy walking distance of the hotel. Very different from Ladies market and Stanely market.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    682
    216
    39
    28
See reviews for
263
328
109
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed 1 night at this hotel in the beginning of June.
Managed to get a good deal through booking.com (64€ no breakfast).
Hotel and room were very clean, room was spacious and furniture was modern. Nothing bad to say about it.
The only really downside, and this is me just looking for something less positive to say, is the view from our room. It was completely covered by a huge apartment building, very tall, very ugly (check my photo). But since we were only using the hotel to rest and sleep, this did not bother us one bit.
It has a 7eleven right outside the lobby for a quick drink/food purchase.
It's very close to a MTR station which will take you to most of the interesting locations of HK. It really is a great transportation method, and very cheap too.
The surrounding area is not pretty, but it feels a little more authentic than the touristic areas. Felt safe at any time we were there.
We had a quick breakfast in a fruit store on our way to the MTR station, which served us a glass of freshly squeezed fruit for just 1€.
There's also a McDonald's nearby, if anyone feels the urge to go there.

For the price paid, I would totally go back to this hotel. Hong Kong is a top city to visit and 2 days felt very short. For the double of price, I would have to reconsider other options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rui-Matos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice hotel at a practical location, only a few minutes away from the subway. When we get to the hotel it was quite crowded, nonetheless the concierge was still quite attentive seeing that we may need help for our luggage. We tried the Yue Chinese restaurant and the food was top class, totally worth the Michelin star it got. The dim sums were elegantly presented and cooked into almost perfection. Not too salty, as I find many Asian foods are quite salty and oily!! Hotel rooms are comfortable and much larger than most other hotels in Hong Kong. Bathrooms are small though but clean. The free wifi was a bonus too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We travelled with two friends to spend a week in HKG. We chose the City Garden Hotel based on location (near MRT) and price. We paid abour AUD115/night, no breakfast.

The room was a good size, with king size bed, desk, flat-screen TV with cable, tea and coffee making facilities.

Checkin and out was quite quick and efficient. We had a minor problem with water from the aircon unit running down the wall, but this was soon fixed by Maintenance.

It is a little way out of the CBD, but either a tram or MRT trip was only 15 minutes or so. It was about a 5 minute walk from the Fortress Hill station to the hotel. There is a 7/11 nearby, small supermarket and laundry across the park.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as we reckoned it would be expensive, and there were plenty of options nearby.

We caught the Airport Express bus up in the main street, much cheaper than going by taxi.

All-in-all, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeridianOfSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked a hotel in this area based on reviews I'd read, however I didn't realise how run down the area was. I would have rather stayed in Kowloon in hindsight. Hotel was ok, did the trick but it was pretty dated. Bed was really hard so wouldn't recommend for anyone who gets sore back/joints. View from the rooms was pretty yuk, dirty big apartments at every side. Pool was ok but very basic and old. Bathroom was in need of renovation, bath/shower was stained and dirty. Safe in the room which was good for leaving passports etc. Hotel is very near Fortress Hill metro station which was helpful. Breakfast can be purchased in the restaurant there but we thought it was overpriced and only went once. The staff were very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huttkiwi757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Big rooms for Hong Kong standards... Good service, really good location. Friendly staff, nice breakfast at a much better rate than most hotels. Taxi stop conveniently outside as well as a 7eleven. You can get great deals on last minute.com

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassySista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The city Garden hotel is clean, bright and perfectly placed for travel around the island.
There is a really nice restaurant in the foyer area, which serves good quality, reasonably priced food.
Rooms are bright and airy, and well decorated. Bathrooms are spotless and have very good quality toiletries. Views are limited, but hey! its Hong Kong, most views are close to the sky.
I did love to watch the locals doing early morning Tai Chi, and wish I had gone down and joined in.
Its a 5 minute walk to the MTR station, and taxis are always outside.
Very nice, very centralo hotel. Reasonable price, and great for access to the &s Rugby

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#101 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#113 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#57 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Property: City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the bustling Causeway Bay shopping and business district, and within 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR station, the 613-room City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong is one of the best Hong Kong hotels, which provides Handy smartphone, complimentary shuttle bus services to nearby shopping and business hubs, which is only 10 minutes away. City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong has a variety of dining options, including the award-winning restaurant YUE, the Western and Asian favourite Garden Café, and the Singaporean restaurant Satay Inn. Whether it's for business or relaxation, the City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong offers free WIFI and a comprehensive range of facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour gym, business centre, and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Garden Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong City Garden
City Garden Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing