We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #109 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed at City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong with my wife on our recent trip to Hong Kong in May.

Pros:
1. Excellent location, Fortress Hill MTR is just a leisure 10 minutes walk from the hotel
2. Trams and buses nearby, which will take you into Causeway Bay, Wan Chai and Central in about 15 to 20 minutes. Trams only cost HK$2.30 per trip regardless of number of stops.
3. If you like "yum cha", there are three michelin one-star restaurants nearby. Yue Restaurant inside City Garden Hotel itself, Tim Ho Wan on Wharf Street behind the hotel and One Dim Sum, a leisure 10 minutes walk to Shelf Street, next to Newton Hotel along Electric Road.
4. Lots of shops and restaurants around the hotel, including Macdonald's.
5. Titbits and grocceries are easily available with Wellcome which is located behind the hotel within the City Garden Apartments vicinity.
6. Gym, Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi and Sauna available in the hotel.
7. Friendly and Helpful staff.
8. Large spacious room, sleep quality was good. And its definitely clean.

Cons:
1. We were given Room 919 and there wasn't any view as indicated. All the view we had was facing the City Garden Apartments. You may wish to draw your room curtains for privacy as the opposite blocks could easily see into your hotel room.
2. When we checked in, staff assisted us by delivering our luggages to our room. However, staff didn't leave the room until we tipped him. Not sure if tipping is still being practised in Hong Kong.
3. Security. Hotel security is laxed. On one night about 10.30pm while watching television programs, wife and i heard our door being tampered with. I went to the peeped hole and saw two mainland chinese ladies outside. One was fiddling with our room door, while the other stood around to keep watch. They did not carry with them any luggage. I decided not to open the door for fear of their other companions lurking around the corner. I questioned them from behind closed door and they claimed they got the wrong room in their strong mainland chinese accent, mistaking our Room 919 for 909. How "0" can be a "1", i had no idea. Surely two persons couldn't have mistaken a "0" for a "1". It was definitely suspicious. Whatever their intention, i had no idea. But it is still advisable to keep your important stuff lock in the room safe OR bring them along with you. And while you are in your room, always remember to keep your room door lock at all times.
4. Gym is opened 24 hours while the swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna close at 8pm everynight. I feel their hours should be extended to 10pm or maybe 11pm. I came back late (about 9.30pm) from sightseeing and shopping on a few occasions and wanted to use the jacuzzi and sauna for relaxation but they were closed. So disappointed.
5. 90% of the hotel guests are mainland chinese. They could be rude and pushy especially knowing the lifts were crowded, they would still try to push their way in. Very few caucasians, from my observation.

To sum:
The hotel management should look into the security of the hotel. At the moment, anyone can get in and get out of the hotel freely. Unlike some hotels that i had stayed before, you need to security keycard in order to activate the lift.
I could be mistaken, but i did observe many elderly chinese males getting in and out of the hotel with young beautiful females (or escorts?). It definitely makes the environment a little seedy.

Overall, i will still stay in this hotel should i return to hong kong again simply because of the excellent location and good food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiongbahruboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    688
    217
    40
    28
See reviews for
266
329
110
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The check-in process was fast and professional. Front desk staff double confirmed the price and room nights we gonna spend and a bell boy took our luggage up to our room right after we checked in. The room is unexpectedly large though we booked the standard room.

There’s neither sea view nor nice view at room, the hotel is surrounded by the residential buildings and what we could see was the garden. Nothing to complain, it’s quiet and completely worth the price!

We tried the Chinese restaurant on the 1/F, the manager recommended us to try their award-winning dishes and the price is comparatively cheap for a Michelin restaurant.

I will recommend this hotel and Definitely will back next time!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukitty_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Having stayed in the city garden for the last few trips to Hong Kong I found they have improved the lobby area now offering tourist information and a free booking service , One slight disappointment was they are now charging for soft drinks in the executive check in on the 22 floor , I am a Prestige member for Sino hotels and have stayed in Singapore and was not charged. The little things in life ! .
Room was excellent as always and now comes with free Wifi , staff very helpful . Breakfast is self service with a good selection for all tastes .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Bc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Situated in North Point, this hotel is in the middle of the bustling street life of an older part of Hong Kong. Several open air meat, fish and vegetable markets close by. Also clothing markets. Very crowded. remember to brIng cash.
Our hotel room provided a comfortable and quiet place to retreat to. It had a large flat screen tv and free wifi. Room service was easily available and our package included free buffet breakfast which was huge including Chinese, North American and European favorites.
The evening dining room was elegant and had received a Michelin award for excellence.
There was also an outdoor swimming pool and an exercise/weight room.

Room Tip: Our room had a built in couch and desk so I would recommend asking for a room like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank incemanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nites in this hotel, overall quite enjoyable moment. The MTR station Fortress hill just walking distance about 10 min. Took exit B is the best choice to reach hotel from this station. Room space is good for a city hotel, and most importantly very clean. Dont worry about internet connection you can use the wifi free from the room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london,uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Very nice for a business hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff. Food excellent( evening restaurant has a Michelin star) we would definitely go back near toTR trams buses. and plenty of small restaurants nearby And above all you feel really safe in Hong Kong!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlynisGlynis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Its been quite a number of years since my last stay at the city Garden Hotel, and I was pleasantly surprised with the changes. 1st and foremost is the availability of FREE WiFi internet in the room. The room was refurbished and elegantly designed. 2 feather pillows on each soft bed. Flat TV. and basic amenities. And the staff are highly efficient and very helpful. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davehwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#105 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#115 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#57 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,191 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Property: City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the bustling Causeway Bay shopping and business district, and within 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR station, the 613-room City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong is one of the best Hong Kong hotels, which provides Handy smartphone, complimentary shuttle bus services to nearby shopping and business hubs, which is only 10 minutes away. City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong has a variety of dining options, including the award-winning restaurant YUE, the Western and Asian favourite Garden Café, and the Singaporean restaurant Satay Inn. Whether it's for business or relaxation, the City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong offers free WIFI and a comprehensive range of facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour gym, business centre, and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your City Garden Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong City Garden
City Garden Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing