We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good hotel and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #107 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really good hotel and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my mum's 60th and had 3 bedrooms booked. Really good location being only 5 min walk to Fortress Hill MRT.

Rooms were generally very clean with really nice hard beds. Each room had free wifi which was very handy.

The only reason I did give this 5/5 were 2 issues with the rooms:
1) stayed on level 4 and room opposite had their doors open with the occupants smoking on a non-smoking floor. Made a complaint, but basically wasn't followed up.
2) my parents room had damp carpet and had a weird odour

My family really enjoyed their stay here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank nickng316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    683
    216
    39
    28
See reviews for
263
328
110
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suva City, Central, Fiji
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Normally stay in Causeway Bay but this time we ventured out to North Point. The rooms are quite spacious for HK standards, close to all transportation modes - tram, MTR, bus. Lots of eateries which stay open late. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

After reviewing the other comments on this hotel, I decided to give it a try for my next business trip to Hong Kong. I stayed there for three nights which I booked through their website for a great deal and eventually I was very satisfied with my stay. The hotel is so convenient and easily accessible to many transportation options and the nearest subway station is just a few minutes walk from hotel. I was quite impressed with the famous “ding ding” tram in Hong Kong that runs along the HK Island. One of the things I like about this hotel is that room was really clean and spacious (compared to those I have stayed in before). The staff was really helpful and always had smiles on their faces. I reakkt enjoyed the buffet breakfast that came along with the room! Also, the hotel provides free wifi which is pretty awesome. All in all, it’s a really great value for money. I will definitely stay here again and will recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is great! The rooms are large for HK standards, beds were very comfortable, and pillows were enormous! Rare find for people who are traveling in groups of three! Staff are very helpful and friendly! The best thing though is that it is quite modern (been renovated recently) and fantastic to come back to at the end of a busy day! The MTR is only 5 minutes away and it has a 7/11 right outside! It is also right around the corner from lots of tasty bakeries and restaurant (one of which has a Michelin star and best pork buns in HK). Would definitely come back here next time!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just returned from Hong Kong after 11 nights in this lovely hotel.We were happy with this friendly hotel.It is in North Point.and its location is very good.MTR (Fortress hill) is just 2-3 minutes walk away with buses & trams about the similar distances.It is just a street away from the hustling & bustling King's road where all restaurants & shops are.Supermarket Wellcome is just behind the hotel.Rooms are spacious,with cool air-conditioning & plenty of hot water.Not to mention the most important thing is that beds are soft and comfortable.It is very quiet so we slept well.Staff are friendly & helpful.There is the Michelin winning restaurant 'Yue' on its first floor.However,we never ate or drank in the hotel since there were far too many choices of restaurants outside.With everything else in life we have some niggles:bath tub plug did not work,we have asked hotel to fix it but it still did not work so we took showers which was as good.Housekeeping is early so we have to put out our 'do not disturb' sign out every morning to avoid to be waken up.Overall we liked this hotel and will stay there again & recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location is great with only 5 minutes walk from MTR and major bus stops. Room is spacious and comfortable. Free WiFi which is nice. Staff are friendly and helpful. We enjoy access to Club Lounge for having snacks and drinks throughout the day. Breakfast is excellent with great variety. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view are quieter than those facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I picked City Garden because my office is on Quarry Bay and I had meetings in Central / Admirality. It was to be two nights - and I was expecting something fairly functional for the price on offer.

I was just blown away by the hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful - I got there on a Sunday night and managed to find my way to the downstairs to the A Bar for a football match. Nice pizza, good beer - both decently priced.

The rooms were amazing - large by any standards (not just HK), tastefully appointed (loved the sofa that ran right across the entire length of the half-length room windows). The bed was comfortable to say the least and the bathrooms were new and well stocked with travel necessities.

Then there was the included breakfast spread - as well as the free newspaper which I got for having made the booking directly on their website.

All for a delightful 100USD per night. I just never thought excellence was still delivered at value prices anymore but I was wrong in this one instance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Narayanisms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#101 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#113 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#57 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#109 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Property: City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the bustling Causeway Bay shopping and business district, and within 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR station, the 613-room City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong is one of the best Hong Kong hotels, which provides Handy smartphone, complimentary shuttle bus services to nearby shopping and business hubs, which is only 10 minutes away. City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong has a variety of dining options, including the award-winning restaurant YUE, the Western and Asian favourite Garden Café, and the Singaporean restaurant Satay Inn. Whether it's for business or relaxation, the City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong offers free WIFI and a comprehensive range of facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour gym, business centre, and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Garden Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong City Garden
City Garden Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing