We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,985)
Filter reviews
1,985 results
Traveler rating
565
1,019
295
62
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
565
1,019
295
62
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fortress hill mtr station causeway bay convenient location premier room airport bus local eateries spacious room hong kong station chinese restaurant public transport buffet breakfast easy access victoria park the club lounge supermarket laundry bathtub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,031 - 1,036 of 1,985 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at the City Garden Hotel for 5 nights and had a very enjoyable and memorable stay here. The staff were excellent and spoke perfect English even though the majority of the guests are from China. Friendly welcome on arrival from both the doorman to the reception staff, every morning the lady who cleans the rooms made a point of waving and saying good morning. Ate in the hotel restaurant twice and again staff and service brilliant even when the place was packed full of other guests taking advantage of the sumptous buffet. Have to give a special mention to Joe who works in the restaurant and was very polite and attentive and made a special point of us being seated at a good table one busy evening.

We had a superior room which was very spacious and clean, big comfy bed, nice bathroom and well decorated. Loved the window seats, view was out onto the surrounding appartments which isn't the most scenic of views. But was interesting to see the locals doing their tai chi exercises in the park every morning.

Location wise on Hong Kong Island it is excellent just a 5 minute walk to the Fortress Hill Metro with its deep escalator down to the platform and just a short ride to Central. There's a little 7-11 just across from the hotel entrance and a larger supermarket near the Metro Station if you want to buy snacks etc. Only negative thing I can say about the City Garden Hotel was the price of the drinks in the Hotel pub, one round was enough.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Durhamguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had a very good stay, staff were friendly, and rooms were a good size. If you need to be in North Point, this is a great choice, only negative is that things quiet down early in this area most nights, and MTR about a 10 minute walk.

Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mklaw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have just returned from a holiday to Bali. We had a stopover in Hong Kong and stayed in the City Garden Hotel. It is not a tourist hotel and is not close to the waterfront and other attractions of Hong Kong. We seemed to be the only Europeans staying there.If you don't want to use public transport taxis are reasonable and freely available. The hotel room was excellent as was the service and we would recommend it as a good hotel for a stopover as you get to meet the locals. There was a constant buzz of activity in th e hotlel and locally.There are also plenty of resturants close by offering a wide selection of choice.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at city garden 3 years ago. So I decided to stay there again this year. The location is excellent, around 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR. The checkin was fast and the room was big. My room included breakfast and I could say the breakfast was an eye opener. Both eastern and western styles were available. E.g. Congee, dim sum, eggs, bacon, sandwiches, noodles, dragon fruit, water melon, sushi, smoked salmon, etc. I would definitely come back again.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovesnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is in a convenient location, really just 5 minutes from the MTR and major bus stops. We stayed in a suite, 4 adults and a 1.5 yr old baby. The hotel arranged for the living room to have a proper queen sized bed so it was very comfortable to sleep in. The room is a generous size, by Hong Kong standards. The manager and cleaning ladies were especially helpful and kind. Breakfast (which was included in our package) has a pretty good selection -- congee, rice, bacon, eggs, noodle station, fruit, cereal etc. The hotel was very busy, but everything was very efficient. At breakfast, the most we had to wait for a table was 10 minutes. We stayed in total for 10 very enjoyable days, and it was well worth the money. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H2Loewendahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews