We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Garden Hotel Hong Kong” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #106 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“City Garden Hotel Hong Kong”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nearest mass transit station is within a few minutes walk. For short trips, one can try bus or tram; stops are about 50 metres away from the hotel.

Rooms are barely ok, though the management claim that they have renovated the rooms recently. Since the hotel is within one of the densely packed districts of Hong Kong, do not expect any good views from your room.

One reminder, never accept rooms at the topmost floor or anything adjoining the escalator shafts, noice from the machinery will drive you crazy. Also, sound barrier of the doors in the interconnecting rooms should be improved.

Size of the main lobby is obviously less than adaquate, and I do not appreciate the air-freshener they use in the lobby, for it smells like cigar.

The buffet breakfast is quite good in terms of quality and choices, staffs there are very friendly.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lift hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 55engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    681
    212
    38
    28
See reviews for
259
326
108
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our family of five had interconnecting rooms in this hotel, the rooms are quite large, with lovely beds, linen and towels. The rooms were very clean. We found the staff very helpful and polite. We used the restaurant one morning for the buffet breakfast which was excellent, lots of choice from continental/Chinese/English breakfast and reasonably priced. We noticed that there is a Mithchilin star restaurant at the City Gardne but didn't try it as the Children would not have appreciated it!! The Hotel is located within a 3-5 minutes walk of the Fortress Hill MTR (Underground/Tube Station) We were in Central Hong Kong in about 15 minutes on the MTR. Our flight back to the UK wasn't until midnight, the Receptionist aranged a lsightly later checkout of 1pm, we were allowed to store our luggage and were given access to the leisure centre/pool changing rooms to get showered and changed later in the evening. The Pool is also very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WALTONS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This place is in a slum.... The security are terrible and will disallow you to sit even outside the hotel and there is inadequate seating in the lobby .
You will be much happier somewhere else
This hotel is one level above a hostel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2nd time.

Good
- Rooms were reasonably sized for HK standards
- It is located near the MTR Fortress Hill (which is just a few stops away from Central and Causeway Bay), and is readily accessible from the Airport via the airport express bus
- As the hotel is in a somewhat residential district, it gives the guests a more authentic feel of life as an ordinary folk in HK
- There are a number of small eateries nearby

Average
- The rooms are a bit old and not the most clean.

What I did not bother
- As I was there visiting relatives, it did not matter to me that the hotel was not located within a touristy-area such as the shopping district or the central business district.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magislayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Staff at front desk and housekeeping were helpful ad courteous. Rooms were very clean and comfortable but not large. Amenities like pool, hot tub and restaurant justvfine. A little far to the east from Hong Kong's core but subway and buses close by. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel rooms are old and not very clean. The staff at front desk were not helpful. When I asked them how to get to the airport, they only told me to take the shuttle offered by the hotel. In fact, there are some other cheaper ways to get to the airport. The location is not very convenient, so there are not a lot of restaurants in the area. Because there is not much competition, the restaurant of the hotel is very over-priced. I would not go back to this hotel ever.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk-citygardenhotel, Director of Sales at City Garden Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Brenda L

Thank you for staying with the City Garden Hotel on your recent visit and for sharing your comments.

We regret to hear of our bedroom’s facilities did not meet your expectations and have taken your valued comments full to heart in improving our services and facilities.

I would like to apologise for the airport transportation issue you encountered, and our colleagues have been reminded of their communication skills, as well as that all requests must be handled in a timely manner.

Thank you again for posting your comments, and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Winsome Heung
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is ok and fairly convenient location in Central. It's easy to use public transport, or taxi, from the hotel. The rooms are small as is common in Hong Kong, and the "value for money" not really there (also normal in Hong Kong). They are "playing games" with the rates and breakfast inclusion. It seems that if you book on the hotel web site, the breakfast is usually included, but not if you book through Expedia, or other sites. The charge for the breakfast is also excessive, and charged at the same rate for children.... We decided to go outside for breakfast and had a great breakfast for a fraction of the price. They brag about a "sofa bed" in the rooms, which turned out to be a narrow uncomfortable vinyl covered bench by the window..... Not very impressive.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plog60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk-citygardenhotel, Director of Sales at City Garden Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Plog60

Thank you for staying with the City Garden Hotel and for sharing your comments.

I regret to hear of the incident with regards to bedding arrangement and have taken your valued comments full to heart in improving our services and facilities.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Winsome Heung
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#95 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#111 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#57 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#109 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Property: City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the bustling Causeway Bay shopping and business district, and within 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR station, the 613-room City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong is one of the best Hong Kong hotels, which provides Handy smartphone, complimentary shuttle bus services to nearby shopping and business hubs, which is only 10 minutes away. City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong has a variety of dining options, including the award-winning restaurant YUE, the Western and Asian favourite Garden Café, and the Singaporean restaurant Satay Inn. Whether it's for business or relaxation, the City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong offers free WIFI and a comprehensive range of facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour gym, business centre, and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your City Garden Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong City Garden
City Garden Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing