We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #108 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel itself is pretty good. The staff are friendly, and the restaurant at the hotel is good. The hotel has an outdoor pool, and also a travel desk for guided tours etc. We got an excellent price on the hotel (2/3 of the regular rate at Excelsior which I have used when on Business travel) and since this hotel is just 10 mins away from Causeway Bay, we decided to stay here. The local Metro is a 3 min walk. If you are looking to stay close to most of the downtown areas and still be in a good hotel, I would recommend this. Note: This hotel even though on the harbour does not have harbour views.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sri13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great location, professional staff although sadly no views of the harbour. Outdoor pool was bonus, generally quiet and cool. Breakfast got top marks - all the asian western varieties - so skip dinner, allow extra time to try out some new fusion dishes. The hotel offers upgrades to better rooms on higher floors if you stay longer but I could not see the benefit, views no better and the built in bench furniture was less comfortable than the chairs in the regular rooms.

Room Tip: variable cleanliness and decor so better to look before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The hotel is in a very convenient location with a lot of shops and restaurants. It is very near MTR. Service is excellent.

We went there for a few times. Some rooms in the hotel are refurbished and some are not. The one which are not are very dated. The safe did not open which caused us panic attack upon check out. Luckily, it has been fixed in no time. The gym and swimming pool are very dated and urgently needed upgrading. The lobby is always chaotic with loads of luggages which gives a very bad impression.

Next to the hotel is 7/11 (corner shop) which is very convenient.

The awarding winning Chinese restaurant is a winner. We just go there for meals every day. It is one of the reasons we go for this hotel as we just take a lift and there we are in an excellent restaurant for dim sum or dinner. There is free wifi in every room. Ask for the garden facing room because it is quieter.

There are a few newly built nice hotels nearby almost at the same price in low season, this hotel needs to upgrade or lower its rate in order to be competitive.

I definitely do not think this hotel can call itself 4 star. It is more like a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for the garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CelineBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We wanted to stay in the Causeway Bay area for NYW, but the hotels there were really expensive or too old for our standards relative to value...or just too small to accommodate our family of 4. Most HK hotels, and throughout Asia, have a policy of 2 people max in a room. Some may offer free 1 child, but difficult to find hotel that allow free stay for 2 children, and big enough. We finally decided to look on the outskirts of Causeway Bay and we are so glad to have decided on City Garden.

Here's why:
1) Updated, clean rooms in a modern/contemporary decor. Has kitchen (microwave, 2-burner stove, sink) too.
2) Two FULL baths. This was very important for us considering the number of people we had.
3) We got the 1bedroom suite, which was a great size for 3 adults and 2 kids. We did not need the roll-away bed (it was offered for free) because of the sofa/bench in the bedroom and the L-shaped sofa in the living room. And we were greeted by a selection of fresh fruit and bottle of wine in the room.
4) Buffet breakfast comes complimentary with suite packages. Only 2 free, but kids do eat free. Good selection of asian food, not a lot of western food, which was fine for us.
5) Only 5-10 minute walk to the MTR station.
6) Plenty of local eateries around. Michelin starred restaurant on-site (did not try). Must try the Lei Garden across the street, next to the supermarket --- one of the best chinese food places ever. (It was mentioned in CNN news for the crispy pork.) 7-Eleven right next door too.
7) Small playground across the street perfect for the kids.
8) Friendly room-service lady.
9) Lounge access to snacks, drinks, computer access, and other hotel services. The selection and quality does not compare to the big name hotels, but it was a nice perk regardless, esp. for the beer, wine, soda, and fresh fruits.
10) electrical converters are provided

Things that didn't bother us, but you may want to know:
1) Seems like a touristy hotel so it can get crowded at certain times of the day. Then again it was NYE and it's crowded all the time in HK.
2) Don't expect views at this hotel or a fully stocked mini-bar.
3) Overall, service was a bit lacking (except for the room service lady.) The service at the Club Lounge need the most improvement.
4) The bathrooms are small and tight! but this is pretty typical. There is an art to getting inside to close the door.
5) Shopping is lacking. The location of the hotel is in a more residential area and does not have all the big fancy shops.

We would definitely consider this location again if staying in Causeway Bay is not an important factor.

Room Tip: Make sure to check out the rates at the hotel direct site...we found the best rates there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaDep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed here during Chinese New Year holiday, when all hotels are packed and rates are high. This was the only affordable and decent option in HK island, and it exceeded my expectations.
Conveniently located less than 5 minutes walk away from Fortress Hill metro station, with easy access to popular places in Hong Kong island.
Rooms are clean and comfortable, and big for Hong Kong hotel standards.
Wireless internet included in room rate

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XB F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had been to the Cit Garden Hotel in downtown hongkong. At first when we booked the hotel we were not sure about how it would fare as compared to other business hotels. However to our pleasant surprise it turned out to be a very customer friendly place to stay with all the staff happy to help whenever required. It's just a couple of blocks away from the Fortress Hill MTR station which was a boon. The hotel offers free wifi, is extremely clean, regular hot water. Loved the view of the colourful garden from the top. Convenient restaurants around the place make it a hot property. Taxis are always on offer outside so no waiting time. Staff is extremely courteous and helpful. Even refunded our money, which was paid in advance, as we had to alter our stay. No questions asked and a simple payment of the counter to our agent who had booked. Saved us a lot of hassle otherwise. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floors for a grand view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshishChaudhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed the the City Garden Hotel and found it just fine! It's two blocks from the Fortress Hill MTR station which will take you anywhere you need to go. The hotel is clean, staff friendly, room big enough and bath nice. I had a view of the pretty garden from my room and woke up to watch neighborhood residents practicing Tai Chi across the street. Lovely. There is an outdoor pool and jacuzzi. The price was reasonable. And there was FREE WIFI an important feature for me and it worked just fine. I didn't eat dinner at the restaurant but enjoyed the breakfast buffet several mornings(not included.) I have a problem with snooty, expensive hotels. This one had just the right combination of things. I plan to return on my next business trip to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturalcanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#109 of 726 in Hong Kong
679 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#113 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,495 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 726 in Hong Kong
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#89 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#83 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#88 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $94 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the bustling Causeway Bay shopping and business district, and within 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR station, the 613-room City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong is one of the best Hong Kong hotels, which provides Handy smartphone, complimentary shuttle bus services to nearby shopping and business hubs, which is only 10 minutes away. City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong has a variety of dining options, including the award-winning restaurant YUE, the Western and Asian favourite Garden Café, and the Singaporean restaurant Satay Inn. Whether it's for business or relaxation, the City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong offers free WIFI and a comprehensive range of facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour gym, business centre, and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your City Garden Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong City Garden
City Garden Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing