We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,985)
Filter reviews
1,985 results
Traveler rating
565
1,019
295
62
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
565
1,019
295
62
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fortress hill mtr station causeway bay convenient location premier room airport bus local eateries spacious room hong kong station chinese restaurant public transport buffet breakfast easy access victoria park the club lounge supermarket laundry bathtub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,189 - 1,194 of 1,985 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel from Aug 25-29.
I booked online directly on the hotel's website. They had promo deals that were not offered by other online agents. For 4 nights, our average room rate was HK$1,175 incl taxes and buffet breakfasts! We also got a free upgrade. In-room and wi-fi internet were free-of-charge.
At 30 sqm, the room is big by HK standards. The king bed was comfortably firm. The 3 pillows available were of varying firmness, which was ok for us because we have different preferences :) The bathroom could have been bigger IMO. There were some stains on the carpet and the sofa, but you can overlook these imperfections because the room was big and smelled clean the whole duration of our stay.
Buffet breakfast offered Western (cereals, bacon, ham, eggs, various breads, cupcakes, danish) and Asian choices (congee, dumplings, curry, hot noodle soup, miso soup, some maki). Also salmon & cheeses, and lots of fruit. There was not much change everyday, though. But if one is staying for 3-4 days only, the lack of variety in the menu is not a big deal.
Location-wise, the hotel is in a mainly residential area. Fortress Hill MTR station is 3-4 minutes walk via a footbridge that crosses King's Rd. We loved the accessibility to the trains. The hotel is included in the route of the H2 Airport Express Shuttle Bus, which is free-of-charge to and from the Hong Kong Station.
Excellent check-in and check-out experience.
Based on the foregoing, would highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Always compare room rates from online agents with the hotel's own online offerings.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elatinazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

City Garden Hotel is not located in the centre of HK yet it is still very busy, the breakfast was lovely and had lots of choice. This hotel is in a great location for the underground (Fortress hill) there are two stations near, but fortress hill is easier and much quicker as there is a footbridge most the way to it and is only a 4 to 5 minuite walk> there is also a free shutle to and from the airport which comes straight to the entrance of the hotel which we found very useful. Also right outside the entrance there is a 7 11 shop, which is very conveinent for little snacks and along the street infron there are many fresh bakerys.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Booked our hotels just two days before due to a horrible experience with a guest house - we requested for the earliest check in as possible due to our bulky luggages, and the service staff told us that early check in only possible if there are availability; however we could leave our luggages at the concierge. Eventually, we managed to get at least one out of the two rooms that we booked early. A 15 minutes walk to the nearest MTR station, but the vicinity has many good food, small shopping malls and shops, market, etc and best of all, free Wi-fi

Date of stay: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seijinm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

got three nights free of free room from an event organizer.
the rooms are clean but small. mtr few blocks away and will take you anywhere.
there is not much shopping near the hotel so you need to go to causeway bay or nathan road. mtr will take you there.
prices are reasonable compared to hotels on CAUSEWAY BAY, CENTRAL or TSIM SA SHUI .

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solotraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

About 5 minutes walk to Fortress Hill MTR, which is the line that goes to Wan Chai, Causeway, Admiralty and Central. Hence, it's very convenient.

Hotel room was okay. Check in was a breeze.

Anyway, if you're looking for a value but a good hotel, City Garden fits the definition.

Will definitely be back here. I don't really require a fancy hotel as I'm out most of the day for shopping whenever I'm in Hong Kong.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews