We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love mid levels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bishop Lei International House
Ranked #166 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I love mid levels”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

First time to stay at a mid level hotel. Absolute stunning views. Though the suite is not big, still recommend as it gives you a feeling of home. Staff are friendly, shuttle bus on time, and very convenient. 10 min to subway and central, and you have an experience to stay at the mid levels, live with the rich together. , a great experience, will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Clean and tidy, quiet neighborhood,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biwoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    469
    235
    55
    33
See reviews for
114
258
180
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki - Finland
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

As a visitor with more than 30+ visits to Hong Kong, I often try hotels that are not quite in the center. This time I decided to take my chances with Bishop Lei hotel in Mid-Levels due to many very positive comments on TripAdvisor. It was well worth the money.

The hotel itself is situated in Mid-Levels, not too many hotels in the vicinity and also not close to MTR. But if you know your way around Hong Kong, this should be a piece of cake. The hotel is half way through the escalators, a few blocks away, but within an easy walking distance.

The entire staff was great. All helpful, attentative and truly listened to your requests.

My room (single traveler) was indeed small, but majority of hotel rooms in Hong Kong are really small, get used to it. Scenery was towards the hills (Peak) but since I only use hotel rooms for sleeping while on business, the scenery really does not make any difference.

Everything in my room worked, wifi was free and I slept well in the bed. Only funny and slightly old thing was the actual physical room key. Also, when you get into the room, you need to activate the electricity with the key, like turning on your car engine. Odd and funny, not a major problem - just very old fashioned.

Robinson road is a major through traffic road in Mid-Levels, so getting a taxi was never a problem. Even during rush hour I got the taxi within 5 minutes. Usually within 1 minute.

Also, Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens is very close by, so if you have not visited the park, I warmly recommend you to do so.

The only problem in this 23 floors high hotel was the fact that one out of three elevetors was obviously broken and since hotell staff used the elevators as well, you sometimes end up waiting for the elevator longer than the taxi outside. Nothin major though.

I really enjoyed this stay and it was certainly worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We emailed the hotel only 3 days in advance and they only had the Harbor View Suite available. In hindsight, I am glad that the cheaper rooms were unavailable as other reviews have pointed out, they are indeed small. The suite is fairly comfortable with a bedroom and a lounge.

We checked in late at night around midnight and had no issues. The views from the suite are indeed very good as others have pointed out.

We had a toddler in a stroller and had no issues getting around using the midlevel escalator system.

The in-room wifi only allows a single device and this is painful. Who in this day and age needs only 1 device per family? The kicker is that once the code is used, you cant really log out or do anything with it on another device. This is a bit annoying, but heck you are on vacation. Your facebook status updates can wait... or maybe not.

You can make it hike from Central to the hotel but be prepared to sweat.. even in the winter months. We did this and did enjoy it but it is indeed a trek.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and choose a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PointOfLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Couldn't really be a better location, right at the top of the mid-level escalators. Didn't eat the breakfast but you don't need to as there are many great places for brunch right on the doorstep. Rooms are snug, even the suite we had - worth getting as you get an extra living room although still very small. Staff are helpful- would definitely stay here again - mainly because of location and value. Price is low for Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Go for the top suite room - everything else is oh so small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The location is perfect for the exploration of hong kong island it is a brief walk to the central escalators which can easily and freely transfer you to the central transport hub where ferries, buses trains and coaches depart. It also allows you to walk up the old coach road to victoria peak (this is hard work but rewarding? you are also close to the tramway to the peak. The service staff instantly react to a request including unblocking a toilet at 1 in the morning The view from "harbor" view rooms is astonishing day and night
They take 1000 dollar deposit at the beginning of the stay. They are willing to use credit/debit cards but most of these will involve costs which are non refundable. We paid cash which reduced our budget until the last day. Standard rooms are small and claustrophobic. We stayed in a suite which was fine

Room Tip: Standard rooms are small and claustrophobic. We stayed in a suite which was fine and allowed for sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mostly_b9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
no fixed location
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A good, basic hotel with all of the mod-cons you'd expect.

When in HK you have to apply a handicap to all hotels because of the tiny rooms and generally poor service. Space is hugely limited and sleeping in a closet with your suitcase on top of you isn't abnormal.

I got a good deal on Bishops Lei for around $85 USD per night and was pleasantly surprised. The location is great (top of the soho/central escalator close to all of the bars and restaurants), the staff were actually pretty friendly, there was a pool and gym which I didnt use but looked OK, the bed was small but I managed to sleep well, water was hot, aircon worked as did the TV, cleanliness was good... generally pretty happy.

It's not a swish hotel but if you can get a deal it's worth the money..... for HK that is.

Room Tip: It's hard to find at night so save a screenshot of google maps to your phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

First time I am traveling to Hongkong and staying in this hotel, the superior room what they gave me was just space of small size bed & that's it, total area of room will be about 8*8 sq feet, including wardrobe & toilet, I was v unhappy and told them to change to the suit room, at this time when I am writing the review I am sitting in harbor view suits room, the sitting room again very small they have got one small table and a sofa set with tv that's it, total area about 8*8 sq feet and for the bed room they have got about 10*10 sq feet area, with tv set. TVs are small size but modern and they have tried to give a lot in the small places, I would say they have utilized the space in a good way.
Suit room seems to be fine with me rather then a superior room.......
Overall I would say I don't know if this is the situation everywhere or only here but when you pay 80USD you expect a bigger superior room not the 8*8 sq feet room.....

But good thing is that its clean n nice, staff is polite and friendly.
Suit room has got stunning view.
Thanks

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabz0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Garden View Hong Kong
#161 of 718 in Hong Kong
671 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,734 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#137 of 718 in Hong Kong
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,728 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,173 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Property: Bishop Lei International House
Address: No.4 Robinson Road | Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Lei International House 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spectacular views of the city's skyline, Bishop Lei International features an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. It is a 10-minute walk from Soho and offers free shuttle services to and from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express Station). Bishop Lei International House provides value-for-money rooms with flat-screen cable TV and a work desk. They are bright with floor-to-ceiling windows, and have a tea/coffee maker and a safe. Guests can make use of the well-equipped gym or the sun loungers around the pool. For a quiet afternoon indoors, there is a reading room at International Bishop Lei Hotel. The Sky Terrace Restaurant provides an international breakfast buffet daily. Meals are accompanied by sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, and can be enjoyed on the terrace or in the privacy of guest's room. The Hotel is about 5 km from Hong Kong Ocean Park and only a stroll to Lan Kwai Fong entertainment area. The hotel offers scheduled shuttle services to and from Central, Admiralty and Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) in Wanchai. Mid-Levels is a great choice for travellers interested in nightlife, city trip and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing