We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbor suite has a nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bishop Lei International House
Ranked #166 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
New York State
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Harbor suite has a nice view”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Having changed my hotel twice this week, I have to disagree about this hotel having a good location - there is nothing here! If you want a restaurant or even a 7 Eleven, it's a 10 minute plus walk down hill to Lan Kwai Fong, and a 20 minute walk up hill! (you better be fit, because it's a 60 degree angle!). I planned on taking a taxi back, but I would not be extorted! (taxi wanted 100HKD to take me up the hill - I can get a taxi across town for less than 50HKD!) so I hiked it (good exercise, I guess, even though it was raining lightly)

I will say that if you get a Harbor Suite, you will have a good view: a beautiful botanical garden at the base (it was nice to wake up to the jungle sounds) and a rear view of the nightly light show (directly across from the HSBC building and the main light action)

The rooms themselves are typical of Hong Kong: small and basic, but clean. Housekeeping is incredibly friendly, and reception was also nice and helpful.

There is a restaurant on site that actually has good food (best carbonara and fried rice I have had this trip), but the beverages are lacking (orange juice is not really orange juice, and the cappuccino was instant), and there is no bar (just beer and wine in the restaurant -or bring your own for a 50HKD corking fee). Room service was surprisingly fast, friendly, and tasty.

Be aware that if you have a bad back, this is not the place for you: the beds are rock hard, as are the pillows.

The pool was surpringly nice: good size, clean, and always someone on site to give you a fresh towel, or take your food order. There is also a small gym if you need to work off some calories.

If you are looking to get above the noise, this hotel in a residential area may be a good choice for you: not too expensive, close to the escalators, taxis readily available, and a bus stop right out the front door. But I am bored, and checking out in a couple of hours.

Room Tip: Harbor Suite, only. Other rooms are shoe boxes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_am_Bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    469
    235
    55
    33
See reviews for
114
258
180
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location. This hotel is located at the centre of HK island. Everything is within walking distance if you are fit enough to do the walking up hills and down hills by stairs or steep roads to get in and out of hotel at least once a day. Otherwise a short taxi ride or bus will do the job. The taxi in HK is incredibly cheap, I reckon £3 taxi fare will be more than enough to bring you from the hotel to Lan Kwai Fong (where all the pubs, clubs, restaurants, etc), one way. On our first day, we found out from the concierge a little path next to the hotel which bring you to the centre (HK MTR station) in 10 mins by walking. Please note that this is the stairs down all the way for 10 mins, and maybe a little longer to climb up. It beame our daily exercise for 4 days when we were in HK. Please avoid taxi in peak hour for 2 reasons 1) they will not fetch you to close destination 2) traffic jam. The room was very tiny, we didnt have any problems with that, clean and has everything you need. Everything looks new and have been renovated recently. Tele with good selection of channel. Please note that only one access code is given for Wifi per room. So if you and your roommate want to use it at the same time, this is impossible. One has to disconnect, then the next person has to get new code again. Overall, we are happy and satisfied that we get what we paid for.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We traveled with a toddler and a small baby for our October holiday escape.
Knowing that room are Very small we took their biggest suite - the Harbour View Suite.
The suite was a corner rooms, with large windows all around and amazing views.

Location - we loved it much more in previous trips when had no baby strollers. Now, walking with 2 strollers was no much fun, but once we started figuring the working hours of the mid-levels escalators it was ok

+
1. Location, once you figure out the escalators
2. Views from room
3. Reception is hk style - cold and efficient. Housekeeping usually not much English, but really nice and willing to help.
4. Shuttle buses to central and admiralty, where you find buses to go anywhere in hk.
-
1. Rooms are small and India's can't be opened.
2. Location is far from mtr, but you have shuttles to get you tree.
3. Don't take the hotel breakfast. Many caffes around with much tastier and cheaper options.
(We especially liked the O caffe on the escalators at Caine road)

Room Tip: Consider taking suites, as other rooms are terribly small. If a suite make sure to insist on corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived at the Bishop Lei by taxi from the airport (330 HK$), check in was easy and was offered an upgrade to a bigger room at a discouted rate, we took it and glad we did. The view was simply amazing, day and night I could never get sick of looking out our windows.

The room itself was clean, decent size, AC worked great, had a safe, 2 televisions (limited channels), bed was firm but comfortable. The bathroom was a little small but very clean.

Location I thought was terrific even though you're a little out of the way from the star ferry it doesnt matter, a taxi ride to the ferry was 20 hk$ about $2.50 U.S. Also right down the road was the mid level escalators which brought us through the SOHO district and also to the IFC mall which connects to the ferry. Also a short walk from the hotel are 2 convinience stores, pizza hut, dry cleaners and a couple of other take out restaurants.

The food. Not the greatest selection for the buffet, the eggs were a little runny and the rest of it just wasnt that appetizing. For what they charge you're better off going to SOHO to grab a bite to eat. I will say one thing, room service was very quick and I found the eggs a little better when ordered by room service compared to the eggs at the buffet.

The pool was a great cool down after a long day of walking through the humid streets of Hong Kong. During the day there was always one or two people there but during the evening we always seemed to have the pool to ourselves.

To sum it up I would definitely stay here again, service is great, price is very reasonable and the location is fantastic. Consider this hotel for your stay in HK you wont be dissapointed, hope you found this review helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for a upgrade to a Suite, its not much more expensive to a regular room and its double the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I spent 6 days at the Bishop Lei Hotel and enjoyed my stay very much. The location on Robinson Road is close to the mid level escalator, on several bus lines and the hotel has a free shuttle that leaves on the hour which includes a convenient stop at the Central airport terminal. The rooms are small but clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. I highly recommend rooms with the harbor view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manoabuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Well positioned. A short walk up Mosque Rd from the mid-level escalators. Hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Lifts a bit slow. I shared a twin room with my sister. Very small. Beds were narrow. Wardrobe only 12" deep with 6 hangers so nowhere to put anything. We lived out of and walked round our suitcases all week. Fine if you are on your own but two people need a suite unless it is only a couple of nights. Good value or money though because it is so close to Soho. Good to have a pool to cool off in. We only had a view of the buildings opposite. There is a good view from the pool. Did not try the food but the dining room looked like a school canteen. I would recommend the Koh Thai restaurant next to the escalators. For brunch try Oolaa in Bridges Street..

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bongoheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great hotel near escalator section with tunning views over Hong Kong skyline. We got an upgrade to a suite, which was very nice. Staff is overall very friendly.

Rooms are not very big but not disturbingly small. The best thing about them is the breathtaking view on the Honk Kong Skyline and beyond.

Although the hotel is situated very high on the hill, city centre is within reach. One can take the hotel shuttle service to Airport Express Station/Admiralty. To come back up the escalators are very useful. From escalator section (exit Robinson road) to hotel is appr. 300m.

Swimming pool is an extra advantage. During summer time an excellent way to escape city heat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvdpoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Garden View Hong Kong
#161 of 718 in Hong Kong
671 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,734 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#137 of 718 in Hong Kong
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,728 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,173 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Property: Bishop Lei International House
Address: No.4 Robinson Road | Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Lei International House 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spectacular views of the city's skyline, Bishop Lei International features an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. It is a 10-minute walk from Soho and offers free shuttle services to and from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express Station). Bishop Lei International House provides value-for-money rooms with flat-screen cable TV and a work desk. They are bright with floor-to-ceiling windows, and have a tea/coffee maker and a safe. Guests can make use of the well-equipped gym or the sun loungers around the pool. For a quiet afternoon indoors, there is a reading room at International Bishop Lei Hotel. The Sky Terrace Restaurant provides an international breakfast buffet daily. Meals are accompanied by sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, and can be enjoyed on the terrace or in the privacy of guest's room. The Hotel is about 5 km from Hong Kong Ocean Park and only a stroll to Lan Kwai Fong entertainment area. The hotel offers scheduled shuttle services to and from Central, Admiralty and Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) in Wanchai. Mid-Levels is a great choice for travellers interested in nightlife, city trip and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing