We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value for the price in HK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bishop Lei International House
Ranked #166 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good value for the price in HK”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Certainly not a glamorous hotel, but conveniently located above Central.
We stayed 2 nights with our 2 kids in their suite. Very nice view from balcony. Avoid breakfast, bad food and no space. For the rest, it's OK.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tchrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    469
    235
    55
    33
See reviews for
114
258
180
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

You need to upgrade to a Harbour View Suite if you are not on your own as the rooms are not big but the views are fantastic. The double bed is one of the best beds that i have ever slept on and beats the Heavenly Bed at the Westin Hotels hands down. Free Wifi in the rooms is a huge treat. The staff are always pleasant and the good old fashioned shoe shine machines by the lifts are great.

Room Tip: Get a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakov M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The view is great but only if you stay in the harbour facing rooms which have the most room If you are more than one person who is used to some space to move I would recommend you only stay in the harbour suite most preferably the corner ones which are bigger. We have stayed three time why? rooms are clean, very close to the escalator hence very acessable to everything on the way down shopping/restaurants, markets etc. Everyything in our rooms have worked well no problems with AC, EXCEPT this time we had three devices requiring WIFI. I was furious when told we could have only on e device every other hotel we stay in and thats many do not have a limitation on number. Confusing. The reception staff alway find my check in and any enquiry abit too much trouble they seem to be annoyed by the simpliest of requests, but I've always found the older ladies in housekeeping to be a delight to talk to and very interested in your concerns. I believe I will seriously review where we stay next time we are in HK
Do not eat breakfast it is very expensive for what is offered, unless it built into the price, there are so many really good places doing breakfast along the escalator.

Room Tip: Harbout facing, high floors, corner harbour suite if more than one person
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennie055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Apart from the amazing view from our room, Bishop Lei is a very average Hong Kong stay.

After reading several reviews on Tripadvisor my partner and I decided on the "Harbour View Suite" and thank goodness we did! The bedroom and bathroom is quite small and having the separate lounge room was a god-send.

The hotel is located a short stroll from the Central - Mid Level escalator so you do have good access to the Soho restaurant district and some great shopping.

So, what was so average? Everything else.

Rooms - are starting to date. The air-con constantly rattled and the toilet chose when it would flush and when it wouldn't.
Service - is efficient but not very welcoming. While we got everything we needed, we did feel that we were either interrupting something more important or that we simply weren't important enough. The exception was our housekeeper, who was delightful!
Wifi - was inefficient. Although we were issued with a password we were unaware that the password is only valid for 1 device (we have 4 devices) for the duration of the stay. When requesting another password we were told that they were all in use and we couldn't get another.
Breakfast - was atrocious! It was affordable but the quality was terrible. There was little variety left at 8.45am (breakfast finishes at 10.30am) and the food prepared badly.

If you aren't planning to spend much time in your room then it's fine. Just don't expect to be overwhelmed by the experience.

Room Tip: A room with a harbour view is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah_Jane075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

You cannot go wrong by booking a suite at the Bishop Lei. Since space is limited, the suite is ideal for 2 people. Try to have breakfast included in your rate, it is more than just a continental breakfast. (You can have an omelette made, there is a choice of hot/cold cereal, and always a nice selection of breads for toasting.)
The gym is small, hover, there are 2 treadmills, bicycles and weights so you can work in a "mini-workout".
A shuttle runs on a daily schedule and it is free so you can hop on at the designated time (pick up a schedule at the concierge). There are also many taxi's that circle the airport, and taxi's are cheap in Hong Kong.
Leave your big room key at the front desk when you depart for the day, and pick it up when you return.
There is a kettle in the room with tea bags, and a mini-bar where you can stock your own beverages and snacks. Lock your valuables in the in room safe, and go and enjoy the sights of Hong Kong.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room. It seems like rooms ending in "01" and "09" had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyToronto_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

When I stayed there I got an upgrade to 22nd floor with river view instead of cheapest room which I booked. The room was located just outside the elevators which I would recommend that you avoid although it did not seem it was a very busy floor it was very easy to be disturbed by the other guests heading out.

Unfortunately there was a thunderstorm warning at the only time I planned to use the pool, so it was closed. This annoyed me as the weather was great. Not much the hotel can do, regulations I guess.

Two friends got suites numbered xx01 which were very nice. Generally my room did not feel very small but the way it was planned made it difficult to place the bags without blocking something else.

Would probably stay there again for the location close to SOHO. Also there is a complementary shuttle which takes you to Central metro/train station for convenient transport to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I booked a 3 night Harbour View Suite. And there's not much view of the harbor due to the location of the hotel, it's blocked by many tall buildings, especially being on the 14th floor.
The suites are quite small. There isn't any robes provided, just slippers. An iron/ironing board is not provided in the room either(but housekeeping can bring you one). The shower heads have the rainfall design, but is also small. The corner room the bed's faces the large window, with no room to move in between.

The elevators are quite slow and there are no service elevators, so you could be stuck on a floor due to housekeeping using one to pick up linens on each floor.

The rooms are clean, and you will have to insert the key in order for electricity to the room to be applied, so you will not be able to leave A/C running while you are out...unless you leave the key in and lock yourself out.

Room Tip: the corner harbor view suites rooms have larger living areas(ending in 01), small bathroom and small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roshmatifa511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Garden View Hong Kong
#161 of 718 in Hong Kong
670 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,734 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#137 of 718 in Hong Kong
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,723 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,173 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Property: Bishop Lei International House
Address: No.4 Robinson Road | Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Lei International House 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spectacular views of the city's skyline, Bishop Lei International features an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. It is a 10-minute walk from Soho and offers free shuttle services to and from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express Station). Bishop Lei International House provides value-for-money rooms with flat-screen cable TV and a work desk. They are bright with floor-to-ceiling windows, and have a tea/coffee maker and a safe. Guests can make use of the well-equipped gym or the sun loungers around the pool. For a quiet afternoon indoors, there is a reading room at International Bishop Lei Hotel. The Sky Terrace Restaurant provides an international breakfast buffet daily. Meals are accompanied by sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, and can be enjoyed on the terrace or in the privacy of guest's room. The Hotel is about 5 km from Hong Kong Ocean Park and only a stroll to Lan Kwai Fong entertainment area. The hotel offers scheduled shuttle services to and from Central, Admiralty and Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) in Wanchai. Mid-Levels is a great choice for travellers interested in nightlife, city trip and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing