We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bishop Lei International House
Ranked #163 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed February 23, 2008

This hotel is located in a relatively quiet residential area. Easy access to buses and the mid-level escalator. Service was very good. While there are no good restaurants nearby, the hotel has a small and convenient one. We had the Harbor View Suite on the 16th floor. Photos are attached. While not spacious, the room was more than adequate. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank poidog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
There are newer reviews for Bishop Lei International House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 989 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2008

Bishop Lei is a very clean and comfortable hotel in a great location for accessing all main areas of interest on HK island. Don't expect anything overly flash - the rooms are simple and on the smaller side, but we were very comfortable and had no complaints with the rooms or service whatsoever. Breakfast in the restaurant is very good with a relaxed atmosphere (wasn't included in our package though). Lan Kwai Fong, which is the main bar/restaurant/nightlife area is no more than 10 mins by foot and escalator. Rooms are not particularly cheap, but for what we got and the location, I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mikey_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

I have stayed at Bishop Lei twice, Dec 07 for 3 nights and Dec 06 for 8 nights. On both occasions the hotel represented fantastic value for money, especially as I obtained a breakfast inclusive rate with Expedia. Note that however you book, an extra 10% service charge will be added to the bill.

Rooms 1710 (standard double peak view) and 305 (standard single city view) were both clean and adequately furnished. Room sizes are similar to other Hong Kong hotels and are fine for me (but there again there is only me to fit in the room). Good desk with bright light for working if necessary. One minor draw back – the mini-safe is too small to fit even the smallest laptop into, however the free wireless broadband works well with speeds of around 500 kbit/sec. TV has good selection of English language tv channels including BBC World & CNN.

There is a reasonable breakfast buffet 07:00 to 10:00 with eggs cooked fresh to order, but is a little pricey if not on a B&B rate.

As others have commented, the location near the top of the mid-levels escalator makes for a more peaceful location than say Kowloon, and the mid-levels plus adjacent soho district contain the majority of Hong Kong’s western restaurants if Chinese food isn’t to your taste. If arriving at Hong Kong MRT station from the airport, take exit D – and then either take a taxi from the rank outside, or cross the road into Exchange Square bus station for the No. 12 (get off at “Raimondi College” right outside the hotel – see the Citybus website for a list of bus stops that can be followed ). For a firsthand look at the primates that provide the dawn chorus, the entrance to the botanical gardens is 2 minutes walk from the hotel (turn left out of the hotel, take the path that goes under the road and follow it downhill).

There appears to be a programme underway to provide potable water to the rooms by mid 2008, in the meantime distilled water is available in a nearby shop for HKD 15 for 5 litres. I would take care with an earlier reviewer’s statement that Hong Kong’s tap water is drinkable; whilst that may be generally the case, the water supplied at Bishop Lei is currently NOT potable.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MRC_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

The Harbor View Suite sounds great from other reviews, however after booking online and paying a premium rate, I was offered a room on the 3rd Floor with no harbor view (i.e. no water visible only the backs of the buildings in front of the Hotel). I finally got a room on the 9th floor after a lot of discussion. I could at least see a tiny part of the harbor.
My advice is to make sure to secure a room higher up in advance, otherwise its not worth the time and effort of coming up the hill if you don't have a room with a view.
The location is a long way back up the hill even by bus or escalator if you need to pop back to the hotel for anything during the day.
The location also has its advantages with easy access to Soho, via the mid-level escalators. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel door which links with the MTR. Its not too far to walk to the Peak from here - however none of the staff knew the path to the peak - so we found it ourselves!
Free wireless internet in all rooms is excellent.
The Elevators are extremely slow in this hotel. Checking-in and checking out is also quite slow.
There was renovation work going on in January 2008, so it got noisy from 9am in the mornings. Don’t plan to work in your room as the noise will drive you crazy.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RPB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

The plus for this hotel is the location. I got the room with the view of the harbour and it was pretty awesome. Another thing is it is pretty close to the Mid Level escalator, which is very convenient to get to Central. Also the escalator passes many nice cafes and shops as well as Lan Kwai Fong, one of the happening spots of Hong Kong. The hotel is really nicely located as it is not stucked smack bang in the middle of the Hong Kong maddening hustle and bustle but it is close enough. They also provide free shuttle service downtown.
The downside is the size of the room - shockingly small!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MelKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

If you're not religious, don't let the whole 'Christian Hotel' thing put you off. There was nothing spiritual about the place except for the feeling of being in the clouds when looking out from a harbour view room! We managed to get a harbour view room (an absolutel must!) for HK$810 a night. The rooms are smallish and the hotel doesn't have too much to keep you entertained but you're in Hong Kong...get out and see the sights. Come to think of it, we couldn;t even use the pool because there were severe storm warnings. The customer service was ok but nothing to write home about. Location is great but half way up a mountain, expect to do some walking or use the escalators or a taxi! Nevertheless, great location.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank halfnhalf1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

The great aspects include the location. Just a 5 minute walk to the escalator, easy to get to by Taxi and Robinson Road is well known by all, so no confusion on where you want to go.

The views are fantastic. We stayed in one of the Grand Harbor View Suites which is a corner room with floor to ceiling windows from the bedroom on two walls. Spectacular sensation, almost as if you are cantaleevered out over Hong Kong. Both rooms are small, but two rooms are the best way to go when you are trying to adapt to a time zone change and your spouse/partner is not on your same sleep schedule.

The not so great was the inability for the customer servicde staff to deal with flexibility when a problem arose and we had a few. First our flight into Hong Kong was cancelled. While we contacted the hotel as soon as we knew, it wasn't time enough to meet their cancellation policy. Working in the lodging business ourselves, we understood this and did not complain or even try to fight the full charge rate for the missed night. We did take exception to the 10% service charge for an unused room. We stayed for three nights and paid for 4, but felt the fee for the service charge on a room night we did not use was silly. For the price of $15USD, they could have had a satisfied customer, instead we left disappointed.

The bathroom has a big sign that the water is not drinkable without boiling.Perhaps bottled water should be supplied for free, but it was 32HK a small bottle, $4.50USD. Quite a large hidden surcharge to brush ones teeth.

At point of check in we added another night as we had itinerary flexibity and plans for three full days in Hong Kong and were told this would be no problem and the room was available. Sadly, the checkin host did not note this additional night on our reservation. By the time that last day came, they had sold our room and were expecting us to leave, we on the other hand had no idea there was a conflict. While we were finally allowed to stay in the room, we were charged an additional fee to do so as they had raised their prices for this night because they were sold out. We also did not get serviced for this day as they had thought we were leaving, yet we were again charged the 10% service fee.

There is construction going on on floors 11 & 12 and the pool floor which caused some elevator delays, but this is a temporary inconvenience that will ease when construction is completed.

All in all, the Bishop Lei has a fantastic location, great views and is a marvelous place to stay if you have no unusual circumstances. While all were polite, no one seemed to have the authority or autonomy to make any allowances for the oddities that sometimes come up, leaving us no choice but to leave disappointed rather than making an uncomfortable scene.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Cedaroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Garden View Hong Kong
#152 of 721 in Hong Kong
672 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#133 of 721 in Hong Kong
164 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#31 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Travelodge Central Hollywood Road
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#86 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,751 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 721 in Hong Kong
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Address: No.4 Robinson Road | Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $77 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Lei International House 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spectacular views of the city's skyline, Bishop Lei International features an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. It is a 10-minute walk from Soho and offers free shuttle services to and from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express Station). Bishop Lei International House provides value-for-money rooms with flat-screen cable TV and a work desk. They are bright with floor-to-ceiling windows, and have a tea/coffee maker and a safe. Guests can make use of the well-equipped gym or the sun loungers around the pool. For a quiet afternoon indoors, there is a reading room at International Bishop Lei Hotel. The Sky Terrace Restaurant provides an international breakfast buffet daily. Meals are accompanied by sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, and can be enjoyed on the terrace or in the privacy of guest's room. The Hotel is about 5 km from Hong Kong Ocean Park and only a stroll to Lan Kwai Fong entertainment area. The hotel offers scheduled shuttle services to and from Central, Admiralty and Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) in Wanchai. Mid-Levels is a great choice for travellers interested in nightlife, city trip and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing