We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only positive is the view of HK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bishop Lei International House
Ranked #150 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Only positive is the view of HK”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I've had the misfortune of staying at this place twice, for 5 days each time. Both times I was in the Harbor View Room which is like a one-bedroom apartment. While I appreciate the good size of the Harbor View Room, the rooms have a damp musky smell, the furnishings are old, and the toilet is terrible. The first time when I stayed there during a cold spell in March, the room was so cold, I had colleagues telling me they had to sleep in their jeans!

The service staff at the reception and concierge are not very helpful. Eg, when I asked to get a cab during a Saturday afternoon, they just told me that getting a cab would be impossible and to take their shuttle bus or walk. They didn't even bother to try!

In the same way, when I arrived early at 1.30pm and requested to check in, they told me very matter-of-factly that check in time is 2pm and I'm early so they are going to "see what they can do".

The only positive is the great view of HK that you get, especially in the evening. Unless you are really on a tight budget but want to stay in central HK, I'd recommend you give this place a skip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Singapore_Gal_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    466
    230
    53
    30
See reviews for
113
252
178
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel has an amazing view day and night with the Harbour view rooms. I would not do the other because these rooms look like the look into the building beside us. The room is spacious and very nice to come back to. There is a midlevel escalator you can use to go down to SoHo but I would recommend using Taxis for everything else. They are very cheap ($3 to get us to the Cablecar to Victoria Peak) and bring you right to where you need to be. We tried taking the subway here but the entrances are in malls and buildings and VERY hard to find. Walking is very confusing too because the roads overlap and go over and under each other. Definitely rcommend the Taxi to keep everything enjoyable. The Horseraces on Weds night are a blast. We stayed in the lower beer garden because suits and heels are required in the upper levels. Wouldn't recommend the trip to Aberdeen unless you are going specifically to the restaurant. Nothing else is there. The light show at 8 is wonderful from the Kowloon side and so are the skyline pictures.

Room Tip: Take the Mui To ferry over to Lantau Island and the #2 bus to the Budda. The views from the ferry a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoNative19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Came back for a business trip after a lapse of 20 years and was pleasantly surprised to find a gem like Bishop Lei. Away from the madness of Hong Kong, situated at The Mid Levels (a few hundred meters from the world's longest escalator) and just by the side of The Immaculate Conception cathedral, it is everything I was looking for to spend my 6 nights in HK.
Sunday mass is not a hassle for church goers, only a 5 minute walk.
Escalator makes it easy to get into the city. Pubs and bars at LKF are just a stones throw away.
Given free dinners with my stay - a little help with the wallet!
Hotel room and toilet is a squeeze but then again, this is Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the harbour and Bank of China.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valentinegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We booked the Bishop Lei at a last minutes notice. We are the type that likes to go where the wind takes us, but found ourselves in a situation where there were only a few choices of hotels available left on Hong Kong Island after our first initial night near the airport. We only booked it for 1 night to begin with, but ended up staying here for the rest of our 5 day trip. The hotel is quant and clean with awesome views of the skyline. Features a rooftop pool which is an absolute oasis when dealing with humidity and heat. One note, the beds are very firm. I love firm beds so there were no complaints here, however if you are looking for a fluffy mattresstop; this is not the place for you. It is within very close proximity to the mid levels escalator, which makes it very convenient to get to Central and Soho destinations. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurePositiveEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Bishop Lei was a pleasant place to stay on my one night in Hong Kong. I am not very experienced with the city, but I understand the price was a good value. The location of the hotel was a little bit off the beaten path, so it was quiet and more residential feeling. The rooms were teeny tiny, especially for two American sized people (my husband is 6'3'') but everything worked and it was clean. Amazingly for a big city hotel, the wifi was free! The location was excellent for the mid-levels, Victoria Peak and the Zoo/Botanical Gardens. It was very easy to get a taxi to the IFC for transportation options although close enough that we could walk home (with help of escalators) after a night on the harbor. Since it's affiliated with the Catholic Church, we ran into trouble by staying there on Good Friday since the shuttle service (to IFC) wasn't operating. We were puzzled when they told it was a holiday - I've never had that problem with a hotel before, but we assumed it was because of the church connection.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodLovrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012. VERY clean, nice staff, really nice rooms. All-in-all, vewry satisfactory. Couple thoughts:

1- It is the only hotel in the "mid-levels". Find the Hong Kong "escalators" and you can walk downtown in no time.

2- A lot of taxi drivers don't know where this hotel is so get the hotel staff to write it on a piece of paper (in Chinese) and show that to the taxi driver each time you get into a cab.

3- They don't have an in-home restaurant (or I didn't see one) so I used to hit up the escalators late at night for food.

A little pricy so I could only afford 2 nights here. Email with any questions.

Thanks!
R.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RyanTravels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very average sums up the Bishop Lei nicely. The staff aren't overly helpful or friendly but they are ok. The breakfast buffet isn't amazing and is charged extra and the rooms themselves are very average. They have pretty standard views and lower rooms are subject to a fair amount of traffic noise from the popular road that passes the front of the hotel. The "Standard Queen Room" is actually two very hard single beds pushed together. This leaves a slight bump in the middle of the bed.

There isn't room to store a suitcase open, so I kept having to repack it when I wanted anything, the room was either too hot or too cold as the air-conditioning wasn't very good and it was switched off in the day as the hotel turned off the power when I wasn't using the room?!

On the plus side the shower was good and the hotel's location meant the business and tourist areas were only a short and steep walk away!

10% service charge seems to be a catchphrase in Hong Kong! If you receive good or bad service, it's payable on everything from a beer in a bar to rooms and breakfast in hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Garden View Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong
#152 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#100 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#139 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Property: Bishop Lei International House
Address: No.4 Robinson Road | Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Lei International House 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spectacular views of the city's skyline, Bishop Lei International features an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. It is a 10-minute walk from Soho and offers free shuttle services to and from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express Station). Bishop Lei International House provides value-for-money rooms with flat-screen cable TV and a work desk. They are bright with floor-to-ceiling windows, and have a tea/coffee maker and a safe. Guests can make use of the well-equipped gym or the sun loungers around the pool. For a quiet afternoon indoors, there is a reading room at International Bishop Lei Hotel. The Sky Terrace Restaurant provides an international breakfast buffet daily. Meals are accompanied by sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, and can be enjoyed on the terrace or in the privacy of guest's room. The Hotel is about 5 km from Hong Kong Ocean Park and only a stroll to Lan Kwai Fong entertainment area. The hotel offers scheduled shuttle services to and from Central, Admiralty and Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) in Wanchai. Mid-Levels is a great choice for travellers interested in nightlife, city trip and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing