We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit - good as the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bishop Lei International House
Ranked #158 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My second visit to Bishop Lei and it didn't disappoint. I like the hotel because of its mid-levels location - so convenient for the escalator up from Central through Soho, so everything you could want in Hong Kong is within 15-20 minutes walk. Also good for buses and taxis as it's on a main route.
On our last day we decided to walk through the Botanical Gardens to the Peak Tramway station - the hotel is next to an anonymous staircase which runs steeply down through the Cathedral courtyard and pops out at the northern entrance to the Gardens. Watch out for nuns and gibbons on your trip!
After a walk around the Peak we bussed (no. 15) down to the Star Ferry to watch the sunset over the island from Kowloon side - then ferry back and up the escalator again to collect our bags form the hotel concierge and taxi down to the Airport Express for the flight home. The Bishop Lei was perfect, although prices have risen since my last stay in 2009.

Ive read that standard rooms are small so go for a Harbour View Suite, it's a good choice with a stunning floor-to-ceiling view of the skyscrapers and the harbour, but watch for heavy rates during trade show weeks. You can negotiate a discount via email if you book direct wih the hotel and you'll get the best rate.

Staff were efficient and spoke good english. Breakfast is good though a bit pricey - get down before 9.15 or the food begins to run out!

Room Tip: I've read that standard rooms are small so go for a Harbour View Suite, it's a good choice w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevev98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 999 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

It's really hard to find a balance between location, price and room size (which is critical for HK).
We've stayed for 2 nights at Bishop Lei on the way to mainland China for a business trip. As it was during the weekend - we've got some sort of romantic break.
Took a taxi from MTR Central for about 30 HK$, as we've been there at the first time and didn't know how reach the hotel. Then used an Mid-Level escalator, which is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel.
The rooms are clean, not so small as others in HK.

The only problem was that we arrived at about 11:30 and had to wait for a staff to get the room cleaned after previous guests. We were not informed in advance that the check-in starts at 14:00 and had a tough conversation with receptionist, because wanted to have some rest immediately after 9 hours flight. Finally we got 2 complimentary drinks for free and wait for about half an hour to get our room ready.

I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Makar126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This place was booked for us by our client and it is definitely what you would call a business hotel. After freaking out a bit over the seemingly tiny shoebox room I soon realised that it was in its own way quite perfect. Not to say that I would not have taken a bigger room but the place is well fitted out, modern inside, clean, tidy and tasteful. The design is as such that everything just works. I have felt more cramped in larger full size but poorly designed bathrooms and never felt at any stage that there wasn't room for something. So staying for business this place is great, especially if you consider the proximity to SoHo and Central. Any longer than a week it being on holidays you would start to feel the walls closing in!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whenareyoucominghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Be prepared for how small the rooms are you will never stay anywhere smaller! You do not go to Hong Kong to stay in your room so as long as you expect very small or pay to up-grade then you will not be disappointed. We did not have breakfast so can't comment on this. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the Peak Tram base and 5 minutes walk from the escalators. My partner & I would stay here again.

Room Tip: pay for an up-grade for a view and slightly bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This hotel is situated close to all the bars and resturants in Soho and shopping is as close as the next taxi.The price is very good for Hong Kong,but we warned as the rooms are tiny.We stayed here on the way to London and on the way back,as it is so easy to get around from here to most attractions.The rooms are very clean but again,we had problems storing our luggage so as we could move around the room.A major plus was having the pool,which we used often.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkshoes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The only good thing about the hotel is that it is located in mid levels and so within easy reach of the business district. However, the rooms are absolutely tiny. There is neither place to keep your luggage nor any place to move around. You may visualize the room as the size of queen size double bed, within which a small double bed has been placed. Service is non existent. The fitness room and swimming pool are just about okay.
Certainly avoidable even if on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vgaxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

You can't really beat the price and the location. The rooms are adequate and ours had a gorgeous view of the city. We took the escalator to and fro almost daily. Getting to the hotel from the train station after we have arrived in the city, we just hopped on a cab. The rooms are small but if you are in Hong Kong and hanging out in your hotel room, you are being very silly. Free wifi, hot showers, and great customer service, what else can you ask for from the Catholic Diocese of Hong Kong?

There is a Starbucks an 8-minute walk away and there are some hidden gems in the alleys away from the touristy stuff off of the escalator. E.g., I found a noodle maker who has been making noodles for 50 years, a woman who sells old Chinese games out of a cart (she had an Airplane game from 1949!), and a dude who sells steaming tofu in the street market.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldRunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Garden View Hong Kong
#161 of 723 in Hong Kong
672 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#155 of 723 in Hong Kong
168 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#31 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 723 in Hong Kong
820 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#55 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,202 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#96 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Address: No.4 Robinson Road | Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $87 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Lei International House 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spectacular views of the city's skyline, Bishop Lei International features an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. It is a 10-minute walk from Soho and offers free shuttle services to and from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express Station). Bishop Lei International House provides value-for-money rooms with flat-screen cable TV and a work desk. They are bright with floor-to-ceiling windows, and have a tea/coffee maker and a safe. Guests can make use of the well-equipped gym or the sun loungers around the pool. For a quiet afternoon indoors, there is a reading room at International Bishop Lei Hotel. The Sky Terrace Restaurant provides an international breakfast buffet daily. Meals are accompanied by sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, and can be enjoyed on the terrace or in the privacy of guest's room. The Hotel is about 5 km from Hong Kong Ocean Park and only a stroll to Lan Kwai Fong entertainment area. The hotel offers scheduled shuttle services to and from Central, Admiralty and Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) in Wanchai. Mid-Levels is a great choice for travellers interested in nightlife, city trip and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing