We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Incredible view of Hong Kong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Hong Kong
Ranked #12 of 701 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible view of Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great hotel, with outstanding lounge. This is the place to stay in Hong Kong. A little pricey, but well worth it. Easy access to ferry and to the subway. Very nice area with the Kowloon shopping district

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,604
    677
    118
    39
    32
See reviews for
658
1,297
252
700
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on vacation. Originally booked regular room but after hearing all the rave reviews here, I upgraded to the Harborview. Personally I think that if it wasn't for the view, the rooms would not have been worth it at all, but wow, the view of Hong Kong Island side did not disappoint. I must have spent 90% of the time while I was in the room looking out the window. The rooms certainly aren't cheap but for those once in a lifetime experiences and special occasions I think it would be worth it to splurge on.

The room itself is also quite nice. After staying at two W hotels during the same trip I would describe the IC HK as classic elegance. The one nitpick I have is the toilet. It had one of those bar flush handles that you would find in a public toilet. Seemed out of place at a 5-star signature property. Other than that, the lobby was beautiful, the infinity pool also with the view of Victoria Harbor another great experience, and the staff was helpful and friendly. I actually can't wait for the opportunity to stay here again. Loved this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melloyellowaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a splendid time at IC hotel...the service is good, and we esp love the spa pool that oversee the harbour! try jumping into the middle one!

The hotel is accessible by mtr. try walking down the street for a huge variety of night activities!

Room Tip: get a room facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ang w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
158 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a lovely Intercontinental. The location would be enough, but the suite upgrade, Club lounge, and the hotel bar are just stellar. Wifi was easy-breezy, and the hotel staff was super accommodating to every need. Typical Intercon service, love being a Royal Ambassador!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the minute I arrived and checked in to the minute I left it was all beyond my expectations and anything I had experienced so far in any hotel or resort I had been.
Amazingly efficient, great hospitality, superb service and awesome restaurants.
The view from the lobby is breathtaking. My room on the 12th Floor with Victory harbour views was very comfortable.
Highly recommended for any kind of trip to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Obviously a room with a view of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong island
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xraydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were totally exhausted from all that walking, boat riding, and playing hide & seek with the rain clouds that day. T'was already a 10 hour day for us! YET! We still wanted to enjoy the Hong Kong skyline & light show at the Avenue of Stars! Minus the crowd & chaos outside!

And so, we headed towards intercon :D & Boy! Were we glad we did it!

The receptionist was super helpful in briefing us on the 3 dining areas with a view, and helped us make our choice on the lobby lounge. Just FYI - there's Nobu (upper floor), Lobby Lounge (GF) and the hotel café (LG).

The level in which the lounge was located, plus the HUGE glass panels brought the entire skyline alive (was like in a 3D movie)! Our experience was well complemented by the friendly yet courteous service, excellent drinks, tapas and live music.

We kinda felt bad for dressing up like typical tourists in such a nice setting, but the staff made us feel right at home!

Love the view, the service, the quality of food & drinks! A must-do in Hong Kong if you're looking to personalise your romantic view of Hong Kong's skyline! :D

Bravo!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kakipanjang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stay & Location: Why even bother to review this hotel? Obviously it's great. But the thing is many five star hotels get it wrong too. If you get a bad experience at this hotel you are either extremely spoiled or extremely unlucky. Anyways we stayed two nights. Most spectacular location of any hotel I've ever stayed at - at least in a big city.

Room: Twin bed deluxe room (1715) on the 17th floor with Kowloon view. Room is quite spacious with a sort of separate wardrobe. You can tell it's not a new hotel but the decor has been done in very good taste so it doesn't seem as old as it is. The AC noise in our room at least was a bit on the high side.

Amenities: Everything you need and an extremely well stocked minibar. Possible to connect Iphone to a Bose sound system.
Cleanliness: Spotless in room. I was a little disappointed though when I visited the lobby restroom (left side when entering the hotel). I expected it to be spotless - unfortunately it was not.
Service: Smooth operator! From check-in to check-out this is a well oiled machine that operates flawlessly with attention and constant professionalism.

Food: The breakfast buffet at the Harbourside Restaurant is the best breakfast buffet I have ever had. We also ate at the Steakhouse wine & grill restaurant which deserves its own review.

Facility: Everything about this hotel is just done with such elegance, good taste and sense of detail. The lobby must be one of the most spectacular in the world with the 180 degree view of Hong Kong Island. Both the pool and fitness/spa are very nice. I didn't try the spa but it looked like it was the same standard as the rest of the facilities. At the pool there is a very nice infinity jacuzzi with harbour view. Obviously this is not a new hotel and you can tell by the interior which is not contemporary. But it's done with good taste so it doesn't seem too old.

Improvements/Suggestions: Improve Internet speed. I recorded 1.7/0.5 Mbit. This is not sufficient for a hotel at this level. They should have a 20/20 Mbit connection. As priority gold member we didn't have to pay for Internet which unfortunately is standard at IHG hotels. Browser login a small drawback but only had to be done once. The AC noise in the room could be improved. It's hard to say if it was a top floor issue or just because it's an old system. I found it a bit annoying that I couldn't turn on the light in the bathroom when entering from the right side through the wardrobe.

Overall: This hotel is my future reference in city luxury hotels in terms of service. The hotel is so big that you don't get a personal feel. And it's also quite busy, so don't come here to relax but rather to enjoy the fantastic view of Hong Kong Island and feel the pulse of Hong Kong. Despite this every encounter you have with the staff is just a pleasure; professionalism with a smile. The hotel is a textbook example on how to manage service at a large hotel. I'm impressed.

Room Tip: Harbour view if you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 701 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,002 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 701 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 701 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
West Kowloon
W Hong Kong
W Hong Kong
#10 of 701 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Property: InterContinental Hong Kong
Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing