We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hong Kong Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 707 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hong Kong Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I began a round-the-world trip in Hong Kong. I had first visited there in 1964 and she visited there for the first time in 1994. We've stayed at a number of hotels both on Hong Kong Island (Victoria) and in Kowloon. Some of the hotels we've visited are long gone due to the relentless march of building construction throughout Hong Kong.

This was our second visit to the InterContinental Hong Kong and liked it equally as well as our first visit. The hotel is modern with clean lines but hints of Asia and old China throughout. Nothing is overdone or overstated. Where else would you find a fountain and pool in the court yard and glass doors and windows overlooking the harbor so that the "dragon can come down from the mountain and enter the sea"? The IC's location is a real plus since it sits on Salisbury Road near the junction of Nathan Road and all of the shopping you could want. It's also next door to two fine cultural attractions and a block or so from the Peninsula Hotel...the grande dame of HK. We also like it's proximity to the Star Ferry for a quick trip across the harbor (harbor) to Victoria and the many great restaurants, hotels, and shopping malls located there (we're retired so we're not particularly interested in the various banks or business centers).

The IC has many fine restaurants and, arguably, the best views of Victoria...on a clear day...and Victoria Peak. We recommend that you opt for a harbor view room even if you have to pay a surcharge. The views are spectacular during the day and you have a front row seat for the laser and light show that occurs every evening around 8 pm...simply terrific.

We also recommend that you purchase the IC Club access where you can enjoy free Wi-Fi, wonderful breakfasts, afternoon tea, and evening cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. The Club also has a dedicated concierge and you can make dinner reservations, check out, etc. at the concierge desk in the club.

It's really great value for money...it's not cheap but it makes a huge difference in your enjoyment of Hong Kong.

In terms of the rooms...ours was large, well equipped (all of the stuff business folks look for such as fax machines, internet, superb phone system, etc. Our room was spotless and kept that way throughout our visit (we were there for 5 days). The staff works hard to make you feel welcome and this is particularly true of the team that looks after you in the Club...after your first visit, you are always addressed by your name and your favorite beverage appears without having to order it...amazing attention to detail.

We used the hotel's car service to transfer to and from the airport...it's pricey but we arrive at midnight and our onward flight to Hanoi was at 10 pm on a Sunday...we didn't want to have to search for a taxi or try to find one large enough to fit us and our luggage. The hotel E-Class Mercedes did this quite well (we didn't opt for the S-Class or the Rolls since we would have had to visit one of the banks for a loan!).

Room Tip: Be sure to opt for a harbor view room...the others have little or no view and Hong Kong is all about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,677
    694
    121
    42
    33
See reviews for
680
1,328
256
721
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent 6 nights here on holiday and everything about the room and location was fantastic. We arrived on an early flight and the hotel had our room ready, I'm not sure if this was because I'd emailed ahead or because they had our flight number but we received a very warm welcome which was much appreciated. We stayed in a Junior Deluxe Suite and were fortunate enough to be given the 14th floor with a view to die for, well worth spending the extra for the harbour view and do ask for a high floor if possible.

It's been said before but it is a little disappointing that breakfast and wifi are not included in the room rate, breakfast we managed to live without, but we did pay for Wifi on a daily basis as we found we needed it for checking weather and things to do locally, it is expensive but it's fast and reliable.

We didn't eat in any of the hotel restaurants as we found it a little too formal, but there are many good and reasonably priced restaurants in the area, and also on Hong Kong Island. We did have drinks by the pool bar one day and Danny looked after us really well, great service.

I'd enquired about a birthday cake as it was my partner's birthday whilst we were there and sadly we missed the message saying that the hotel had a cake for us but still they delivered a birthday card and box of chocolates to the room the day after, a lovely touch and much appreciated.

The only slight negative was that we checked out early due to a flight mix up and having checked out and paid the bill we were then ushered back in as the system was not showing a zero total for some reason, we were just about to get into a cab and so it was slightly embarrassing to be hauled back inside to be told we weren't entitled to a refund as we were leaving early when we'd not even asked for one. I'm sure the lady who checked us out was trying to be helpful in all
fairness but not a great experience to end on.

Overall though we throughly enjoyed our stay here, amazing views, stunning room and great location, just a five minute walk from the Star Ferry for easy access to Hong Kong Island and five minutes to the hustle and bustle of Nathan Road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed 1 night in IC Hong Kong. Check-in was nice and fast, but they dont accept UnionPay card for deposit.
Room was nice, but view could be better (View on the stairs that brings to the swimming pool).
Service is excellent. Went next to the pool to have a smoke, very friendly server asked if i needed coffee and newspaper. Price was expensive bt is Hong Kong.
Would recommend to anyone, make sure to ask for a room in the upper levels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I spent 10 days in this hotel and it was very comfortable. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious. As a home away from home this hotel definitely offers you a room that delivers. People love this hotel but I am somewhat puzzled by this as the accomodations are a bit worn & dated. Could be just me.
Breakfast buffet is also very good giving you a fantastic multi-national cuisine offering. When you are eating local cuisine for dinner every night it is nice to be able to have some scrambled eggs in the morning!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atc664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

It was our second stay in this hotel. This time we stayed in the standard room. It was as impressive as the suite. Besides smaller size, everything is very well appointed. I like especially the dual access to the closet and bathroom area. Intercon Hong Kong service is great as usual. From Check in till check out, every staff was very attentive and friendly. The buffet breakfast is something shouldn't be missed. Great varieties and spectacular view of Victoria Harbour. It's the best experience to kicks off our day. Definitely should make time to hang around at the jaccuzzi, great place to wind down after a tiring day. I definitely vote it for the best 5 Star hotel in Hong Kong to stay and experience.

Room Tip: Every room is great! Of course harbour view will be an added point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainManPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Intercontinental (formerly the Regent) is a gorgeous hotel with amazing rooms, food, drink, and service. Cannot imagine how you could do better for your money anywhere--and I am picky and usually prefer small, boutique hotels! The serenity and elegance of this venue makes it feel small and personal, a real feat with hundreds of rooms and several well-regarded restaurants. The location is to die for--right on the promenade in Kowloon overlooking Hong Kong Island, the harbor, and near the Star Ferry, the cruise terminal, and the Space, Art, and History museums. Just arrived last night and had stupendous service from baggage carrying to registration to drinks and burgers at the lobby bar which overlooks the stupdendous harbor light show and night scene. Am waking up this morning--our first after a 20-hour trip to get here--with Nespresso and great coffee/tea bar in the room. Plan to try the fitness club/spa in a few hours and the hotel's steak house or Nobu restaurant for dinner on one of our several nights here.

Room Tip: We are in a south facing room, #324. Very lovely executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This legendary hotel should be at the top of the list for visitors to Hong Kong. The wow factor starts when you enter the spectacular lobby. Rooms are huge and the views from the waterfront rooms are stunning. Oh, and the service throughout the hotel is exquisite! Food and service in the main dining room are excellent. Dining in the Chinese restaurant is a real treat!

Room Tip: Ask or pay for a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRBSFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 707 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,136 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#11 of 707 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 707 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Property: InterContinental Hong Kong
Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing