We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went for their Sunday afternoon/high tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We went for their Sunday afternoon/high tea”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

After looking at good reviews about their afternoon tea, we had to go try. Service was good, atmosphere mediocre, facility not a high standard and food was not great at all. We were actually disappointed by their finger sandwiches and sweets. Tea was fine but my biggest concern was the presence of so many dustmites which were biting my legs so when I looked at the state of the carpet, I understood why there were dustmites. I had to take a shower immediately to get rid of those mites. I would not stay in their rooms for fear of bedbugs now.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shinybijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,899
    737
    134
    43
    36
See reviews for
722
1,451
274
779
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (964)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl Beach NSW
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Nearly all good, the perfume wafting through the lobby lovely.
Room excellent, bed super comfy, Club lounge nice but staff a little o t t with the greetings etc. A bit too much. Quality of food and bev. good.
Only complaint was the construction noise by the pool area, doof doof doof at anytime during the day making it unusable. Post 6pm did not seem to be a problem and on a warm night, the spa pool thingy with the view was great.

Room Tip: Harbour view room only, in your face view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelpearlbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Came here for a 4 day break.

What a hotel.. Stay on the club floor Brilliant
We had a suite with an amazing view of the Hong Kong Island.
The facilities are very very good.
Food and drink are very expensive so try and eat and drink out.
We had a number of recommendations from the staff for local hide aways and they were brilliant. Taste food at a fraction of the cost of the hotel.

Would I go back? YES thinking of hiring the Presidential Suite for a big birthday party which is coming up. But it is very expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawker-Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

As previous commenters have noted, the view is amazing and the quality of service is top of the line. However, a large construction project is underway next door (high rise condos, I was told) which greatly diminishes the experience while poolside. The noise really made it impossible to relax by the pool and enjoy the view. I imagine this construction will be underway for some time. I also concur with previous posts that the rooms are in need of an upgrade. They feel a bit dated and are showing a little wear and tear, especially in the bathrooms. Lastly, the daily wireless fee is excessive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susu_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalgety Bay
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

On our first visit to Hong Kong we were not sure where to stay and we did lot of research, where tripadvisor recommended InterContintetal in Hong Kong. Guess what, the reviews were accurate as this hotel is in a great location with regards to hotel rooms facing the harbour, and the service in the large bar is top class, far better than some other 5 star hotels we stayed at. The hotel room had a fantastic view, imagine to wake up and draw the curtains and have that panoramic harbour view infront of view, wow!
The staff was very pleasant and the service impeccable, as soon as the glass was empty one of the staff asked if we wanted something else, but the most impressive part was there was no rowdy bar, all the drinks and food came from out of sight making it a really nice ambience.

Room Tip: Harbour view is a must, budget allowing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrikKoppanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

I've stayed here before and there was no question about staying here again. The location is just amazing and the service is fantastic. The breakfast was excellent, the infinity pool superb, great (but pricy) cocktails... but there was a really unpleasant musty smell in the room.

We asked housekeeping to sort it out several times but all they did each time was squirt some air freshener around which only temporarily masked the smell. They acted like this wasn't something they had seen before but I see someone else has commented on it so they must know about it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zippy10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed here in a suite and king room, and while the view is exceptional, the hotel needs a refurbishment to match its rivals.
The bed was very comfortable, bathroom quite acceptable, and the staff were really very good.
Its just that the hotel, for the price, can not just rely on the view, and all the other aspects need upgrading the match the rivals in value for money.
One major irritant - the Intercon still charges for use of the internet. This is certainly NOT best practice and in this age, quite a turn-off.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernWanderer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,627 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,478 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Property: InterContinental Hong Kong
Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing