We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Hong Kong
Ranked #9 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Situated in Kowloon, the location of the hotel is very convenient as its in the heart of Tsim Sa Tsui with great shopping all around, and within walking distance to a perfect view of the famous sky line.

First good thing I have to say about this Hotel was the amazing smell in the lobby area, it was amazing! The concierge staff where friendly and professional.
The room was nice and spacious and we had a great sleep as the bed was nice and comfortable. The Buffet breakfast was good, I particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit and vegetable juices every morning.

Would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,718
    735
    132
    56
    24
See reviews for
738
1,331
194
847
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here with my family. From the moment we arrived, we were taken care of extremely well - everyone, from the concierge to the housekeeping staff, was very friendly and polite, and the doormen would greet us by name every day. The staff was definitely a highlight, and it was a pleasure to return to the hotel every night. Both check-in and check-out went smoothly and quickly and although the Wi-fi isn't free, we were given a discounted rate upon check-in.

Stayed in a standard room, which was fine. Although not the largest, it was perfectly sized for our needs, modern and tastefully furnished with a decent view of the buildings in TST. The beds were comfortable and soundproofing was good; I had a great sleep every night.

Loved the classic decor in the lobby and throughout the hotel as well.
Dining was also excellent - the breakfast buffet was quite nice, and I absolutely loved T'ang Court - elegant and delicious Chinese food. The location is very convenient, situated in the heart of Tsim Sa Tsui and close to all the shopping destinations as well as the MTR.

Overall, if you're looking for an elegant hotel on the Kowloon side, then the Langham would be an excellent choice. Will definitely choose to stay here again when I visit Hong Kong again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here before, again on business and thought it was OK, this time was a disaster. Here goes....

Room
Booked a standard room, what a disaster that was. 3rd floor, tiny, old fashioned, smelt of smoke (reassured it was not and had never been a smoking room). Carpet stained, next to no natural light (3rd floor but ground floor view out of the 'cell' window). On my previous stay I had a superior room which was small but actually quite nice. The standard room was simply awful and more akin to 3 star North America motel.

Bathroom
No separate shower despite this being 5 star. Shower head would not sit central and constantly pointed to the wall, interesting when trying to wash my hair! Lighting was so bad I thought I had forgotten to turn on one of the switches. A woman applying make up would have no chance and probably end up looking like Alice Cooper it was so dark!

Food
Breakfast OK but the room is tight at peak times. Chinese restaurant on the 3/4th floor very nice.

Location
Great location for shopping and sight seeing.

Staff
Generally OK although as I had complained about the room and this showed on my 'record' I was definitely treated as a 'trouble causer' upon checkout. No "how was your stay" or any of the regular pleasantries. Don't get me wrong, I can live without the false smiles but was definitely made to feel uncomfortable.

Other
Woken at 12:30 a.m. on 2 consecutive nights by heavy drilling from the adjoining building. Yes, really.

Overall
I travel to HK several times a year and will be returning to the Kowloon Shrangri-La. It is a 5 minute walk away from the main street but even the standard rooms are far better than the Langham.

Room Tip: Do not book a standard room, they are old fashioned and in desperate need of renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scatch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makti
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel makes you want to come back. The signature aroma of Langham greets you the moment you enter the lobby and you know that you are once again at home. The staff greets you by your name when they approach you to handle your luggage. You also seem to regret leaving the elegance and comfort of your room everytime you have to go out. Can't wait for my next stay. Simply perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wunderchwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The staff are not polite at all. The staff at G/F reception point me to other staff but without looking at me. After few minutes, the staff told me to go to 11/F. My room was available until 430pm. If Langham cannot handle so much late check out, then please just cut this policy. Otherwise, how can you convice guest to stay again.

In addition, the worse scenraio is that I requested late check out at 4pm. But my room card was disabled at 2pm and the handling staff said ok. I have to go to 11/F reception to activate my card. Of course, the lady at 11/F reception just showed me the long face.

The toilet design is interesting that the tissue box is far from the counter top. The towel at the counter top is just too low; No shaving kit was provided that the notice shown it.

The Langham Place Hotel have EPG TV channel but The Langham do not have.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank alanwwn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanDimtriou, Manager at The Langham, Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Alan,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your stay with us. From the shortcomings you have highlighted in your feedback, we clearly did not meet your expectations during your stay, and I sincerely apologise.

I would be most great full if you could make direct contact with myself, as I would like to gather further details on your experience. I have noticed in your profile you reside in Hong Kong, it would be great to catch up for a cup of tea when you are nearby the hotel so we can also meet in person. I have noted my contact details below and I do hope to hear from you soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Dean Dimitriou
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
The Langham, Hong Kong
Dean.Dimitriou@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was our first time in HK, we hesitated for between the Peninsula and the Langham.
It was our first time at a Langham property and we LOVED it. The staff was superb!
HK is an amazing city, the city's natural perfume and the friendly people all around, made it magical.

From the moment we stepped in the beautiful hotel lobby of the Langham up to the point when we left, everything was perfect.

The private airport pick up was seamless and so worth it. Our Floor manager was great, she took the time to show us our room, made sure we had everything we needed to turn in.
There were special amenities prepared for us.
My husband loved the red wine bottled they gifted us with.
The room was a decent size, yet very well appointed, with everything you need. The bed was uber comfortable, great pillow menu that was very much appreciated especially after a 16 hours plane ride.

We loved the breakfast buffet. Very up to part with what you would find at a top Shangri-La.

The location was perfect, a block away from the peninsula arcade shops and the BIG BUS Hong Kong Hop on Hop off. Walkable distance from the night market. The hotel is very close to the harbour so easy access to the ferry and to see the light show at night. The hotel is very central for all the tourist attractions and the Duty free DSF mall is literally next door to the hotel and so are many of our favorite shops.

We are so please with our stay that we cannot wait to try another Langham property.

At departure, the concierge recommended we try the free shuttle to the train station, it comes every 15 minutes. The ride to the airport was so easy. You check in your luggage with your airline before getting on the train and pick them up after your flight!
AMAZING!!!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the pillow menu. May Yau, the reservations Sales Manager was amazing!. She r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrotter_411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamHongKong_mc02, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong. Thanks so much for the review and your confidence in The Langham brand.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us – we hope you had a great time at The Langham, Hong Kong.

We take pride that our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Tsimshatsui, Kowloon - one of the liveliest and most popular areas of the city with an outstanding choice of shopping and entertainment. We also take great pride in the poised and quiet confidence of our frontline colleagues.

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day striving for excellence in everything we do.

In addition, we would like to add that we recently launched a new line of bathroom amenities at the end of this year, custom-designed by a famous parfumier from Italy. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

The Langham, Hong Kong Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We found the staff delightful in all parts of this very comfortable hotel. We loved all the restaurants and their different atmospheres. There were very pleasant areas to sit in downstairs with a lovely atmosphere throughout. The swimming pool was fabulous, we swam under the stars. The only thing that did not work well was a very underpowered hairdrier that kept on overheating. But everything else was perfect.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PippaTrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,822 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,459 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,959 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Hong Kong

Property: The Langham, Hong Kong
Address: 8 Peking Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#17 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, Hong Kong is an elegant European-style sanctuary located in the heart of Kowloon's busiest commercial and entertainment district - Tsim Sha Tsui surrounded by superb designer boutiques including the World's second largest stores of Louis Vuitton, Christian Dior, Salvatore Ferragamo, Gucci and Prada, and the Harbour City, a mega shopping arcade with over 700 shops mere minutes away. With glittering Victoria Harbour as the backdrop and easy walking distance to Tsimshatsui MTR underground station and the renowned Star Ferry attraction, this unique locale provides a perfect blend of history in a haven of luxury. Recently celebrating an expansive US$30 million refurbishment and epitomises a timeless European elegance featuring 498 luxurious guest rooms and suites, equipped with innovative amenities including Blissful Beds, deep bathtubs, nespresso machines and bespoke British minibars. Brand signature Service Stylists and Guest Experience Managers are also available to accommodate any guest's needs, from unpacking luggage to organising sightseeing. Hotel attractions range from the scenic rooftop pool and the Three Michelin-Starred Cantonese restaurant, T'ang Court to having The Langham Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood at Palm Court and sipping bourbon creations and gin specialties at the award-winning Artesian Bar. For all-day dining, The Food Gallery showcases interactive International and Asian cooking stations, while guests who crave for Western comforts can indulge in Burgers, Reuben's and Milkshakes at Main St. Deli and steak and seafood at The Bostonian restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing