We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under construction!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Under construction!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2008

Really not all it is cracked up to be. Overall the rooms are average but the problem upon checking in for me (19th May 08) was that the building noise was terrible. The entire hotel seems to be undergoing extensive rebuilding. Of course, this wasn't communicated in advance so I complained and was moved 3 times, eventually ending up in a suite, which was great except for the fact that it was a very smelling smoking room. The only alternative offered was a move to another hotel, which I couldn't do as I was meeting colleagues for meetings. Noise was bad in the day time but otherwise hotel services were very good. Without sounding like "who ate all the pies" the breakfast was fab!

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Noise!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Trebor68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,528
    701
    128
    55
    23
See reviews for
676
1,257
184
791
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

I go to Hong Kong regularly on business and would prefer to stay on HK Island. However the Mandarin Oriental, Four Seasons etc are now extremely expensive. A quick hop over the water by Star Ferry or MTR brings you to the Langham.
This is a relatively new hotel and so the rooms are all well up to date and the hotel feels up to the minute and not at all faded as some of those that were built in the 1990's can feel.
It is worth going for a room with the club floor as this has a generous food and drink offering (not just a quick hour or so at 5pm like some) and it is excellent for a quiet and unrushed breakfast.
I don't think any of the rooms have a view, something HK hotels make a big deal about, but they are generous in size and so well fitted that you don't miss seeing the outside world.
I certainly would recommend the Langham.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IncaWalnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2008

I've stayed at the Langham Hotel several times during trips to Hong Kong. The location isn't bad if you like shopping at Boutiques or can afford to blow tons of money on name brands. It's also right across the street from the famous "No. 1 Peking Road" which used to be "Park N' Shop" about 20 years ago. I do like how it is a little off the main streets which are filled with malls so you can get away from the large crowds of shoppers.

The only hard part is crossing the street because you have to go down a somewhat confusing underpass to cross the street. There's a Pizza Hut and McDonald's across the street for kids and budget eating.

The rooms are also relatively large considering how limited space is in Hong Kong. Like all other hotels in Hong Kong, your hotel window outlooks another building which makes the room rather dark despite having a large window.

The only thing I don't like about the hotel is the increasing number of Chinese tourists. I can understand the lobby can be busy at times but I wish they wouldn't let guests pack and unpack there because it makes walking about quite hard. Another thing I noticed is that the Front Desk Staff are increasingly becoming less fluent in English so I was forced to dish out my poor bits and pieces of Chinese to ask for a wake up call, etc.

  • Liked — Room Size
  • Disliked — The Lobby
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank setsuyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, U.S.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

I traveled with two girlfriends and all of us stayed in the same room and we still have room for walk around. That was wonderful for Hong Kong hotel. Great service and the location was great. Shops and dinings are all around. I will go back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pkwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

Just in case you did not realise this - the Langham Hotel is a different category to the Langham Place Hotel. The former is a tired 3+ star tourist property, low rise from the 1980s or thereabouts. The Langham Place Hotel on the other hand is a modern 5 star business and tourism hotel directly above the Mong Kok subway station.

Interestingly, the two properties are similiarly priced so make sure to check this out.

  • Disliked — the crammed, somewhat 'disshevelled' look and feel of the property.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank GerardN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

This is one of the absolute best hotels I've ever had the joy to visit!

I traveled to Hong Kong on a holiday with my family and we stayed at the Langham Hotel in Kowloon for three nights on each end of a beach holiday in Vietnam.

The Langham has the feel of a grand old dame, but features all the mod cons. It was very comfortable, even with a rollaway bed in the room for our little girl.

The best feature, though, is the staff. They are wonderful, without exception. The concierge staff, in particular, were consistently above and beyond anything one could have expected. Case in point, we arrived late at night from Vietnam having accidentally left my daughter's favourite stuffed animal on the plane. We did everything we could at the airport to retrieve it, but no luck. Upon arriving at the hotel at midnight, the concierge staff took it upon themselves to find that toy and pulled out all the stops. The toy never was found, but their effort was extraordinary.

The food at the Langham is fantastic. Their higher-end restaurant, The Bostonian, was wonderful. They also have a NY deli-style bistro with some of the best sandwiches and deserts we've ever had.

Stay at the Langham. You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Service, food, location, very family-friendly for a super-urban hotel, local advice and expertise
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sydneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

The best hotel ever.
I stayed there in last november (07) for 5 days and i loved it. Quite luxous, but quite funky and just in the middle of Kowloon area. The view are not as great but who cares, when you are in a short walking distance from everything.
The breakfast was great in the L'Eclipse, the best i ever had. It even incluedes sushi :D. I had breakfast in the last day in the The Bostonian and i thought it was too plain and too simples speacially compared with the l'eclipse.
Staff was great and very helpfull.
We had champagne and strawberries with chocolat as it was our honeymoon.

  • Liked — L'eclipse breakfast
  • Disliked — The Bostonian breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_Zr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,456 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,763 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Hong Kong

Property: The Langham, Hong Kong
Address: No.8 Peking Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#17 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, Hong Kong is an elegant European-style sanctuary located in the heart of Kowloon's busiest commercial and entertainment district - Tsim Sha Tsui surrounded by superb designer boutiques including the World's second largest stores of Louis Vuitton, Christian Dior, Salvatore Ferragamo, Gucci and Prada, and the Harbour City, a mega shopping arcade with over 700 shops mere minutes away. With glittering Victoria Harbour as the backdrop and easy walking distance to Tsimshatsui MTR underground station and the renowned Star Ferry attraction, this unique locale provides a perfect blend of history in a haven of luxury. Recently celebrating an expansive US$30 million refurbishment and epitomises a timeless European elegance featuring 498 luxurious guest rooms and suites, equipped with innovative amenities including Blissful Beds, deep bathtubs, nespresso machines and bespoke British minibars. Brand signature Service Stylists and Guest Experience Managers are also available to accommodate any guest's needs, from unpacking luggage to organising sightseeing. Hotel attractions range from the scenic rooftop pool and the Three Michelin-Starred Cantonese restaurant, T'ang Court to having The Langham Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood at Palm Court and sipping bourbon creations and gin specialties at the award-winning Artesian Bar. For all-day dining, The Food Gallery showcases interactive International and Asian cooking stations, while guests who crave for Western comforts can indulge in Burgers, Reuben's and Milkshakes at Main St. Deli and steak and seafood at The Bostonian restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing