We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Hong Kong
Ranked #12 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here with my wife. I usually stay at the Hyatt for business but this time picked Langham so that the wife would have easy access to shopping.

Dissapointing stay, only good thing about this hotel was the location. I read online that their Grand Langham rooms were newly renovated and recommended. Not true, the rooms didn't feel new, although not too old either. Room was cramped compared to the Hyatt club room.

However, my worst experience was the check in. We arrived after 3:00 p.m. and when trying to check in, were advised that the room wouldn't be ready untill another hour! Never had to wait until after 4:00 p.m. to checkin to any hotel.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MuneerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanDimtriou, Manager at The Langham, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Muneer,

I hope you and your wife had a delightful trip back to Dhaka and thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that location of our hotel had a positive lasting memory on your stay with us; however bitterly disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations in regards to your check-in experience and our room product. Please allow me to extend my sincere apologies in the regards.

I would be extremely grateful if you could make contact with me personally so I am able to gain further specifics in regards to the shortfall in service you mentioned as well as gather further details of the room you were assigned. We pride ourselves in the level of service and product we deliver, therefore it is important I am able to ascertain the root cause of your experience and to ensure we are able prevent such a situation reoccurring; as well as hopefully opening a line of communication with you personally to ensure I do my upmost to rebuild you and your wife’s faith in The Langham, Hong Kong.

I do hope to hear from you soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Dean Dimitriou
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
The Langham, Hong Kong
Dean.Dimitriou@langhamhotels.com
T (852) 2378-9381
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,469
    690
    123
    53
    22
See reviews for
656
1,222
183
776
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kowloon, null, Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Service is out of boundary. Staffs were excellent. Small but very elegant European style hotel.
Lobby smells amazing and floral everywhere. Highly recommended.

We had a family reunion and decided to travel to Hongkong for four days before departing to United States. My father have difficulty for walking so we decided to choose a hotel which is very convenient and near in almost all the places. Our friend recommend Langham Hotel since this hotel is near the Harbour and she's thinking that my father can spend his day walking with his stick, seat down if needed and the best thing is there is an elevator from this hotel across the street going to MTR that really very useful for traveller and oldies.

As mentioned, we end up shopping around while our father is enjoying the view of Harbour, Old Heritage, light shows, and he found that watching the people going in and out of the ferry is very interesting. When he want to go back to the hotel to take a rest he can easily find his way and no need to hurry since its very near.

So glad that we found this hotel that we can enjoy our shopping and sight seeing.

Staffs were very friendly specially Jonathan from Lobby who can speak Tagalog that help our father so much. My father also ending of visiting other places such as Park Lane where he enjoyed the birds and the atmosphere. We never thought that Hongkong is only for shopping.
It is also a great place and interesting place for our grannies.

Room Tip: Room near elevator very convenient???? Because the location is great and you will end up shopping, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistral Johann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamHK, at The Langham, Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mistral Johann H,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

We hope you and had a delightful trip back home. Thank you so much for the kind words. Your words have motivated so many people to work even harder to exceed our guest's expectations.

The smell is our Langham’s signature ginger flower scent, it is also available at our gift shop – Flavour of Langham located at the Lobby level. We look forward to your return and thank you again for being our guest.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team at The Langham, Hong Kong
Vanessa.chan@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

From it's classy reception area to wonderful bedrooms...this hotel is excellent.
It's backed up by thoroughly professional,helpful ,friendly staff...who look after your every need.Cannot speak highly enough of them.
The hotel offers a wide range of dining options..and the food is very good.
Add in it's location ( very central in Kowloon to all the shops,bars and restaurants...and there are thousands of these )and you have the ideal spot.
It's only a five minute walk away from the Star Ferry...which takes you over to Hong Kong Island...and there you can join the Big Red Bus Tour...which is one of the best we've ever taken..and is excellent value for money.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the Langham...and if we ever visit Hong Kong again...we'll book it again.
You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Not in a position to do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novaterras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamHK, at The Langham, Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Novaterras,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

We hope you and had a delightful trip back home. It was a pleasure having you and your friends to stay with us – we hope you had a great time at The Langham, Hong Kong.

People like you do make our job a lot easier and we are always happy to hear that our guests appreciate the commitment we make to customer service and the comfort of our guests.
You are right; we are situated in a ‘brilliant’ location and with bars, restaurants and shopping all so close by our guests can really take advantage of our location.

Thanks again for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Hong Kong in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team at The Langham, Hong Kong
Vanessa.chan@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel was great, I have stayed many times. It is worth the extra to stay on the club floor as the extras such ad free breakfast, drinks, laundry etc would mount up to much more than the extra cost. The staff ore very nice and nothing is too much trouble.

This is ideally placed in the middle of tsim sai tui, and is only a stone throws away from the mer and star ferry.

Don't pay for a taxi to and from the airport as 1 ticket will get you the train into Kowloon and then the shuttle bus takes you direct to the hotel, and then on the way home there is the city check in at the train station which is great and cheep.

Room Tip: Got to be the club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil001155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamHK, at The Langham, Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Neil001155,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

We hope you and had a delightful trip back to United Kingdom. Thank you for your loyalty to The Langham, Hong Kong. We take great pride in our ability to create a special stay for our guests, so I am truly glad to hear we lived up to and exceeded your expectations.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team at The Langham, Hong Kong
Vanessa.chan@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed three nights in this hotel after our Asia cruise. The lobby is nicely designed and lightly scented with a smell of fresh floral. Our room was spacious and comfortable with daily turn-down service. The bathroom has a tub and shower. The shower is roomy and the water pressure is strong. Housekeeping left plenty of bottled water for us. The hotel is close to the Star Ferry pier, Ocean Centre, subway station, and Nathan Road. The hotel staff was very friendly. We had lunch at the Tang Court restaurant on the first day. The food was good, and the restaurant staff was attentive. We had a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsoni22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamHK, at The Langham, Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Marsoni22,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

We hope you and had a delightful trip back to California. We are pleased to know that you had a great time while in T’ang Court restaurant! Thank you for your appreciation on our services and our personnel as well.

You are right! We are situated in a ‘brilliant’ location and with restaurants and shopping all so close by our guests can really take advantage of our location. Please do not hesitate to return to our hotel at your convenience. We will be more than delighted to serve you during your stay with us.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team at The Langham, Hong Kong
Vanessa.chan@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My family had one of the best and most memorable Christmas holidays in HK in 2012. We were lucky enough to avail of their long-stay promotion for a 4N/5D stay at reasonable rates (considering a peak month) 2 months before, booking 5 rooms for our family of 10 on the hotel's website.

This is the first time I've stayed at a Langham hotel and was well aware of their reputation for luxury and prestige. The Langham's professionalism and customer service did not disappoint. From the time we made reservations, they handled our bookings and requests quickly, efficiently, and pleasantly. Small details and considerations, such as separate check-ins, special room requests, restaurant reservations (esp for X'mas Eve & X'mas Day dinners), X'mas Eve mass schedules, and hotel transfers were all done via email. Each time I'd send out an email, I got a reply back within the day (even a few hours). Concierge is wonderful! Location is fantastic--directly connected to DFS Galleria and is just a 2 minutes walk to Harbour City/Ocean Terminal mall.

We love the little touches of thoughtfulness, every time we had our turn down service; such as fruits, chocolates, cookies, and pastries left on the tray. I knew about the daily fruit replenishment but all the others little nibbles was a delightful surprise. I'm not sure if it was because it was Christmas (each room also had the cutest little pink teddy bear as a welcome gift) or if it was part of their service.

Had our first dinner at L'Eclipse. It had a good buffet spread, which included foie gras & lobster; as well as, 2 choice combination of special entrees like duck, imported meats, pigeon, sea bass, etc---all the good stuff. Known as the best buffet in town, it was not a surprise that the place was completely packed. I'm not one to like crowds or a lot of noise, so we did not dine here again. We did, however, love Main St. Deli--very New York-like and a good choice for kids. Delicious!

I was able to use the gym once and while it is small, you will find complete gym equipment. I prefer to use the treadmill.

Our hotel transfers was easy, pleasant during our arrival and very efficient and smooth during our departure. We had good drivers on both times using their comfortable Mercedes Benz S-class which had free wi-fi and beverages.

While we initially planned to stay at Marco Polo HK, not having enough rooms for our party, was a blessing for us to experience Langham Hotel HK. Their professionalism, efficiency, warm customer service, and thoughtfulness have made our first Christmas in HK as a family, a truly memorable experience, we hope to make as a tradition. Thank you!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vbs710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamHK, at The Langham, Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear vbs710,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

We hope you and your family had a delightful trip back to Manila. . I am truly delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel room, amenities and food; we are situated in a great location which just 5 minutes walk to the historic Star Ferry, then a 10-minute harbour crossing to Hong Kong Island.

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day striving for excellence in everything we do. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team at The Langham, Hong Kong
Vanessa.chan@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our second time there. This place just knows how to do it right.
The service is absolutely amazing and the hotel itself is elegant, refined and sumptuous.
The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, with a turn-down service and excellent bathroom amenities.
A visit to the roof top pool is a must, and the gym is great too.
We found The Club amenities well worth the extra expense; evening canapes and drinks, morning breakfast and coffee!
Definitely an iconic place to stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradHockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamHK, at The Langham, Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear BradHockey,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

We hope you and your family had a delightful trip back to Australia. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback in relation to your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you had an enchanting stay with us. I appreciate your kind comments with regards to our innovatively designed Langham Club.

It has been a delight and honor being your host. Your open and friendly feedback is very much appreciated by all of us and gives us pleasure, a little pride and of course a lot of motivation to provide service excellence. If you stay for more than one night, you will taste a range of flavors including Decadent Dark, Caramel Couture, Luscious Lavender and more flavors of chocolate for turndown service!

The entire team of The Langham, Hong Kong looks forward to welcoming you back to Hong Kong soon.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team at The Langham, Hong Kong
Vanessa.chan@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,364 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,699 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Hong Kong

Property: The Langham, Hong Kong
Address: No.8 Peking Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#17 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, Hong Kong is an elegant European-style sanctuary located in the heart of Kowloon's busiest commercial and entertainment district - Tsim Sha Tsui surrounded by superb designer boutiques including the World's second largest stores of Louis Vuitton, Christian Dior, Salvatore Ferragamo, Gucci and Prada, and the Harbour City, a mega shopping arcade with over 700 shops mere minutes away. With glittering Victoria Harbour as the backdrop and easy walking distance to Tsimshatsui MTR underground station and the renowned Star Ferry attraction, this unique locale provides a perfect blend of history in a haven of luxury. Recently celebrating an expansive US$30 million refurbishment and epitomises a timeless European elegance featuring 498 luxurious guest rooms and suites, equipped with innovative amenities including Blissful Beds, deep bathtubs, nespresso machines and bespoke British minibars. Brand signature Service Stylists and Guest Experience Managers are also available to accommodate any guest's needs, from unpacking luggage to organising sightseeing. Hotel attractions range from the scenic rooftop pool and the Three Michelin-Starred Cantonese restaurant, T'ang Court to having The Langham Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood at Palm Court and sipping bourbon creations and gin specialties at the award-winning Artesian Bar. For all-day dining, The Food Gallery showcases interactive International and Asian cooking stations, while guests who crave for Western comforts can indulge in Burgers, Reuben's and Milkshakes at Main St. Deli and steak and seafood at The Bostonian restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your The Langham, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing