We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #140 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Whilst we found the rooms to be very small, this hotel represents great value for money due to it's very convenient location right on Nathan road in Kowloon, enabling easy access to everything hong kong has to offer. Easy transit to and from the airport using the MTR - station located downstairs from the hotel. A great stop over option. Rooms were clean and comfortable, would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WJBETB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear WJBETB,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The Kowloon Hotel on Tripadvisor with like-minded travellers. Your compliments on our service, rooms and hotel location are much appreciated as we continue to strive for service excellence. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to be of service to you again soon.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    789
    405
    93
    54
See reviews for
263
485
173
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

The location is excellent for MTR. access, Airport Express Shuttle bus and proximity to the Harbour, Star Ferry etc. Most staff were friendly but the hotel lacks personality. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Having to pay for wifi was unexpected and very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheepish16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear sheepish16,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon hotel, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel location, rooms and services. We would recommend you to reserve rooms via our official website on your next visit as we offer exclusive packages including free Wifi, and other privileges like free room upgrade, complimentary breakfast and personal check-in/out and more. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Check in was horrible. I had to wait on a long queue and the staff were not polite. No greetings, no smile. I booked it using an Australian credit card, which held the money, however they wanted to FREEZE double the price of it without my approval. I only stayed there for one night and it wasn't the most pleasant of all. Room was spacious and had a horrible view of the dirty streets. Ordered a tiramisu and baileys on ice. Tiramisu portion was huge but wasn't tasty. And it was just very unprofessional of the staff. The rates differed on the actual day of the stay as supposed to the time of my reservation. and 260 aud wont just do this place any good. I will not return to this place again, and I suggest you spend your money's worth on a better hotel with this rate. No breakfast was included with this rate too. Will not return here for sure.
Only good thing: the train station is connected to the hotel. That is about it.
With this rate, no swimming pool and facilities, this hotel must be insane.

Room Tip: avoid being ripped off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellylovesburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Shellylovesburgers,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and taking your time to share your experience with the travelling community. It is with regret to hear learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Your comment on the attitude of the front line staff is also well noted; please be assured that we will look into this matter immediately. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues with you to ensure we have a better understanding of your concerns, Kindly provide us with your period of stay and contact email to mktg.klnh@harbour-plaza.com . We will investigate and get back to you as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
188 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The location is perfect. Close to the Cultural Centre, Harbour City and most important in front of the underground.
I would say that this isi the only thing going for it.
The rooms are minuscule, service to say the least poor (the bell boy would not help to carry the luggage to the reception for check-in ...)
Breakfast is below standard in terms of offering and of quality.
Dinner on buffet closes fairly early (9 pm or thereabout), after that you have to eat at the adjacent bar, where again service is well below standard.
In conclusion pricey for the location, the rest better be forgotten.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaccarile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear vaccarile,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. We appreciate your compliments on our hotel location; while at the same time, it is with regret to learn about some of your disappointments. Your comments and concerns are well noted, we will investigate on the area and issues mentioned. Meanwhile, we have also reminded our front line staff to ensure that friendly and welcoming service is to be extended anytime. Thank you again for your comments, we sincerely hope to be of service to you again.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Having never been to Hong Kong previously, we ended our trip of mainland China here. I have to say we noticed a massive deterioration in the quality of room and service we got for our budget. The staff were rude to us, unhelpful and impersonal. We had got engaged the night before and went to concierge for a suggestion of restaurant and we were treated with real disinterest. I doubt you would see this in a better hotel. The rooms were tiny and completely insufficient for a couple with 2 large luggage bags. Also, the deposit you are asked to pay is not immediately refunded, like other hotel "deposit" schemes. My advice would be: don't pay it! They are clearly getting interest on that banked money as it we were told it would be paid back 2 days later, after a raft of complaints we made at front desk - they originally said 2 weeks. Wifi and breakfast also aren't included, and if you do pay its only wifi by device. It made planning our days very difficult here. This is not the case in any other hotel we stayed during our trip. A real disappointment all round and really affected what was supposed to be a celebration for us!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia1256789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Julia1256789,

Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent visit. We appreciate your comments and understand that the matter had been addressed by us. Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you again for your constructive comments. Your feedback are valuable for us and your concerns are well noted. If you are available we would appreciate talking to you personally to understand and discuss the matter further. Please kindly provide us with your period of stay and contact email to mktg.klnh@harbour-plaza.com . We will investigate and get back to you as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I must say that Kowloon Hotel is still the best stay ever. I have been staying at the Habour Club floor each time I visited Hong Kong. The room is clean & price is also reasonable. Most importantly, the staffs at Habour Club are attentive, polite and always greet you with a big smile. I have to compliment Helen, Carole, Karena, Eva, Chole & AVA for making my stay a memorable one. I look forward to staying at Kowloon Hotel on my next trip.

Room Tip: "Rooms with nice views"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Kelvin1710,

Thank you very much for your continuous support. We are humbled by your compliments and are truly delighted that you enjoyed The Kowloon Hotel, especially The Harbour Club. We are more than happy to share your comments with our associates Helen, Carole, Karena, Eva, Chole and Ava, as we are sure they will be most appreciative of your compliments. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kowloon Hotel very soon on your next visit!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just returned from 3 nights in the Kowloon, this was our 1st visit to Hong Kong and feel very disappointed with our stay at this hotel, we apparently had an upgraded room which in my opinion was way too small and once your luggage was in the room we were walking sideways around it!!!! Breakfast was in the reception area which was noisy due to the constant traffic of people booking in and checking out, children screaming and running around, we were only entitled to continental breakfast, never been to a hotel that has had 2 categories of breakfast before and wasn't aware of this prior to our stay, drinks served in paper cups, didn't think was was acceptable for a so called 4 star hotel, also told we were not entitled to a breakfast box on our morning of departure as we would be leaving (06.15) before the coffee shop opened, this was eventually provided after much discussion with the staff. Didn't find the staff helpful or friendly. No wifi in the rooms which we have had in other hotels of this star rating.
The only positive thing I can say was that the hotel was clean, central and close to all forms of transport.
Our experience of the Kowloon did not enhance our 1st visit to Hong Kong would not stay here again and would certainly never recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoylartSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear VoylartSwansea,

Thank you for leaving us a review following your recent visit. It is with regret to learn about some of your disappointments. Please accept our sincere apologies. Your valuable feedback has been brought to our attention and please rest assured that we will take every necessary step to address these important issues. Should you wish to discuss this matter further, we would be most grateful to hear again from you. Please kindly provide us with your period of stay and contact email to mktg.klnh@harbour-plaza.com . We will investigate and get back to you as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
#129 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#270 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Property: The Kowloon Hotel
Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#107 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing