We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get another hotel!”
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #132 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Last week i had an emergency meetings in HK, and my colleague booked this hotel for me since the location is good (they had MTR exit station in front of the lobby, direct connection to i-square mall and include in route free buss shuttle to/from airport). As usual i use the latest flight from Jakarta and came to HK in the morning (6.30 am), but the unusual thing is when i came to check-in. The front desk named Henry didn't greet us and ask for our passport roughly. I understand the hotel was fully booked and didn't expect for early check-in, but the way front desk welcoming us suddenly change my mood.

i thought this hotel was the old hotel management, they had old building with renovation in some areas, unfortunately it's not total renovated. My sleep experience was bad, the bed was hard, the pillow too thin and even i was so tired after all day long meeting i couldn't sleep because the wall between the room too thin and i can hear conversation in the next room, really annoying.

the good thing i had during my stay in this hotel was the concierge named James. This person really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyceWibowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear JoyceWibowo,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience here. We sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations. Your concerns are well noted and we will follow up accordingly. Kindly provide us with your period of stay and contact email to mktg.klnh@harbour-plaza.com . We will investigate and get back to you as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,698)
There are newer reviews for The Kowloon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Kowloon Hotel offers a great deal to the Hong Kong visitor, it links you to the streets and also the underground subways and rail network. Its 5 minutes from everything including all major shopping outlets and also the Star ferries to cross to Hong Kong Island. We upgraded to Club Lounge and were treated to free drinks all day and eats for 2 hours in the afternoon, well worth the cost. The area of the Club Lounge is not very big so make sure you time your arrival. The view of the Harbor is blocked by the Peninsula Hotel so when you book make sure you ask for partial Harbor views. Overall a friendly, clean and great place to book.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for Harbor view rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Des S,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. We are more than delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to be of service to you and once again, thank you for staying with us.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a good hotel in a great location on Nathan Road just across the road from Avenue of the Stars and the Hong Kong Museum of Art. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom was good. There is free WiFi in the lobby but we were able to access The Penninsula hotel free WiFi in our room. Breakfast was good with a variety of options

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ahallen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Ahallen_10,

Thank you for staying with us at The Kowloon Hotel. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope you had a pleasant stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you again on your next visit!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Kowloon Hotel for 4 days in April 2014 , the only good thing we found was the breakfast, you had to pay for your WIFI , the room was so small if you fell out of bed you would hit the walls, the aircon had everying damp in the room, the TV didn't work properly even after they attempted to fix it (couldn't get the movies at all) ,minimal hanging space , nowhere to put your cases, and it wasn't a cheap hotel , would not recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Jmeister,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. We sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectation. Your concerns are well noted and we will follow up according. We genuinely look forward to be of service to you. Once again, thank you for staying with us.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

good hotel, small box room but quite comfy, the location is excellent, at the beginning of nathan road and close to everything you need including metro, ferry, attractions, shopping, etc. the only negative point is the wifi not free which is not longer acceptable in 2014!! staff is ok and hotel is quite new inside.

Room Tip: ask for room with HK view, they are the best!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Erik1,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and leaving us a review on Tripadvisor. We hope you had a pleasant stay. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Although the rooms were small this hotel is in a very good location and they were to a good house keeping standard. Found it very odd that there was no free WI-FI when the whole of Hong Kong seems to be on their phone's or tablet's!! We had a meal at the hotel which was a buffet style and quite expensive, also there were getting ready to close down for the next setting and we felt a little rushed, and a service charge is added on the restaurant & bar bill's which we didn't realise. They beds were very comfortable and was nice to have a fridge in the room . This is a very busy hotel but the noise level was very low to make for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear julesColchester,

Thank you for staying with us at The Kowloon Hotel. We hope you had an enjoyable stay in Hong Kong as well as The Kowloon Hotel. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel has a very nice location but the staff should be trained a lil bit more. It was hard to explain that I did not cosume a drink in the room as I was on the club level. Speaking of that, Club level is a more expensive floor and If you get put on the 18th floor you have to go through stairs. The elevator do go only until the 17th. The hotel should fix that as it is in the "premium" floor. Nice touch in having smoking rooms.

Room Tip: Pay more and choose a Deluxe Room, it is worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_Brazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Traveller_Brazilian,

Thank you for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are valuable for us in striving for better services. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you had enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Regal Kowloon Hotel
#98 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,083 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
#125 of 721 in Hong Kong
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#108 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $129 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing