We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #140 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed March 1, 2014

No question about the location of this hotel. It is right in the heart of the city and very accessible to MTR to shops and bars. checking in is fast. we were asked to upgrade, which we did (bcos i need my wifi) and that includes coffee/tea, drinks at the lounge and free breakfast. If this is our first stop in all our trip, i will not splurge on upgrades. But since this is our last stop from our trip tp Cambodia and Vietnam, we really needed something different. Sad though, the room and the bed is tooooo small for my 350lbs husband. I cant even put our luggage under the bed.Overall Im rating this hotel an average.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Maita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Maria Maita K,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for staying at The Kowloon Hotel, we hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is my first time staying in the hotel. As it is off-peak period, the promotional rate of the room (including whole day internet) is HKD950+ which I think it is not a bad deal. Despite the hotel is rated 4 star, I was impressed by the helpful and friendly staff. When I requested for a change of room (there was some smoking odour which I suspected the previous guest must have smoking), the staff brought me to 2 other rooms to see and make sure I'm happy with the room before I made the changes. The staff at the lobby were friendly and gave me clear directions whenever I asked.

The location is great and it is just beside the Tsim Sha Tsui MRT station. It is about 5 minutes walk from the MTR gate. There are many cafes and eateries nearby and thus meal was not an issue.

Room is a bit small with simple set up but acceptable. Clean room, comfortable bed and good shower are more important. The free Airport Express (K2) is outside the hotel and one can take the free shuttle bus from the Kowloon station.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear THH888,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and staying at The Kowloon Hotel. Your comments are of great encouragement to our staff. It was our pleasure to serve you and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The location of this hotel is amazing. Close to trains and shopping. We were asked to upgrade to the club lounge room which we did for a nightly fee. This included wifi and drinks/nibblies in the afternoon. The room was not large but was very functional. we had a view over looking the harbour which was beautiful at night seeing Hong Kong Island lights at night. Check in was quick and efficient. Enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: as for a view over looking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbie1961255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear debbie1961255068,

Thank you very much for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. We are more than delighted to learn that you had enjoyed our hotel as well as your stay. It was our pleasure to serve you. We hope that we will see you again soon at The Kowloon Hotel.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were in Kowloon for 5 days and wanted a convenient, comfortable hotel. Got it. Hotel is right behind the famed Peninsula, and almost on top of the Tsim Sha Tsui MRT station, from where you can go all over the place. We opted for the up-priced Club room on 17th fllor, the same floor as the club lounge. The check in & check out in the lounge was super smooth, and the staff are very helpful. The club roo9m is stocked with complimentary beverages, including beers and wine, and there are snacks, fresh fruit and enough small bites in the evening that you can make a quiet supper of them, which we did one evening. My only complaint is that the room did not have any clothing drawers and only one slim closet for hanging things. We didn't enjoy living out of the suitcase for 5 days, considering the price tag. Also, there's no comfortable seating in the room, other than one good chair for the computer desk. Wi-Fi and breakfast buffet was included, and the breakfast food selection was a good mix of Anglo-Continental-Asian items.

Room Tip: If your budget allows the luxury, book a room on the 17th Club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear James T,

Thank you very much for your comments and review. It is our pleasure to learn about your experience and we wish you an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel, hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Room is small, much much smaller than expected, but was compensated by the wonderful location and updated room condition.

Mtr station connection is just at basement of hotel, walking distance less than 300m to harbour city and food eateries are everywhere within walking distance. Not much service to talk about as the staffs are always so busy. I borrowed empty red packet from the reception, though surprised by such a request, the staff still pass it to me without expression on his face.

One point to emphasize: the check in and check out line should not be the same line! During peak timing it's causing a long queue and jam that's unnecessary especially for check out clients who don't have to wait for that long.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear chuaSPS P,

We are delighted to hear about your experience at The Kowloon Hotel, it is our pleasure to serve you. Thank you for staying with us and we genuinely look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel is located very near to the harbor. Maybe 10-15 minutes walk. There are tones of restaurant around that hotel. Many halal ones as well. Being a Muslim this was a huge help. As for the hotel, the staff was friendly and very efficient. The room was clean and I had a great view of the city which was lit wonderfully at night. Although clean the rooms were small but not uncomfortably small and I read this is normal in hong Kong. The price was okay, not the cheapest but suits the hotel. I took a cab from the airport and it costs about 300 to 320 hkd. If u have a lot of luggage like I did, this would be the best option.

Room Tip: Take higher floors as the area is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20140126_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear 20140126_khan,

Thank you very much for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. It is our pleasure to learn that you had a great time in Hong Kong as well as The Kowloon Hotel. We genuinely look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Awesome location (maybe not whilst arriving on CNY parade night ) walk to Star Ferry Terminal, shops, bus stop, subway. Lots of activities to pass your days whilst on holidays. If I was to return to HK, would stay here again! Like others have advised rooms are small, and the bathroom door is frosted glass so keep that in mind!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank CMSimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear CMSimo,

Thank you for staying with us at The Kowloon Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and your holiday. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#102 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Regal Kowloon Hotel
#101 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,287 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Pacific Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#115 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $131 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing