We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, Hard bed”
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #133 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in October 2012. The room had good facilities and were clean and well serviced. Although the rooms were small and quite expensive, (although all hotels in Kowloon are expensive) location was good. The bed was only a double and very hard. Had a room on the 14th floor which had some Harbour views from a corner window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a14th floor or above to get some harbour views. Request a King size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Jennifer Y,

Thank you for staying with us and provide us with feedback.
The Kowloon Hotel aims at providing the best location and value to our guests.
With the well-equipped room and hearty service, I’m pretty sure you’ve had an enjoyable stay here.
We have to apologise for the bed issue and will reflect to the housekeeping department.
Your comment always contributes us with insight to improve our service standard.
Thank you again for staying here and we wish to see you soon!

Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Its my second night here at the Kowloon Hotel.
Yes, the rooms are small, and the TV in the room is even smaller, however its cosy.
My issue is the noise you can hear from adjoining rooms.

When I checked in last night, i could clearly hear the next rooms TV... then at 6am, i could hear every word of my neighbors phone conversation.

The main issue, is that there is an internal door to the room next door, and it has very poor insinuative qualities.
I asked to be moved to a room without an "internal" door here on the 17th floor, and to my surprise/disappointment, I was told that EVERY room has an internal door to the adjoining room.
VERY disappointing to say the least... You can literally hear every word being spoken in the adjoining room...

DONT STAY HERE IF YOUR A LIGHT SLEEPER!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Mrmukk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear MUKHAIRCARE,

Thank you for staying with The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us.
We would like to first apologise for the noise problem.
The design of connecting door between the adjoining rooms aims at providing convenience for family.
You may wish to stay on other floors if you do not want to have an “internal” door.
Sorry again for causing you being insomniac but we sincerely hope that you will not judge us by this single experience.
Looking forward to having another opportunity to restore your faith with us.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location is excellent with direct access to the Metro and easy to get cabs if required. Everything is within walking distance in Tsim Sha Tsui which is why we chose this hotel. However, the room is extremely small which is typical by Hong Kong standards, I suppose. Since we have to spend 3 nights in the hotel, it is not the most comfortable other than sleeping. The pillows are very soft so you do need to ask for more pillows if you do not want to feel that you are sleeping on a sheet of cloth. The hotel is reasonably priced so that is the compromise one has to make. Since there are many restaurants to choose from, it is not necessary to eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear P L,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience here on the TripAdvisor.
Our hotel is located right atop the MTR station; this offers convenience to our guests.
We have already reviewed on your comment regarding to the pillow and will pass it to the Housekeeping department for further retention.
Our hotel restaurants are also reasonably priced and showcased an array of international seafood to Michelin-rated dishes. You may have a try during the next stay here.
We are delighted to welcoming you again on your next visit!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Manageement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 4 days on our first hongkong trip together last June 2009. The hotel is perfectly situated near Avenue of the Stars and MTR. the downfall is that the room is quite small and there's a construction going on in the neighborhood. The staff are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebe_4m3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear bebe_4m3,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience on the TripAdvisor to provide insight to our guests.
Our hotel is perfectly situated at the city hub, you may found it extremely accessible to every tourist spots.
We would like to apologise if the construction noise bothered you.
Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit!


Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My friend and I spent six nights at this hotel recently, it is in a great position for sightseeing and is very comfortable. The standard bedrooms are rather small so it is a good idea to upgrade to a suite if you can. Rooms 1606, 1706 & 1806 are the best for views and include free food and drink in the Harbour Club on the 17th floor.

Room Tip: Book a room with access to the Harbour Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnWHazlemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear JohnWHazlemere,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us.
Our hotel is ideally located at the city centre therefore guests would find it an excellent place to stay.
We always recommend our guests to upgrade to our The Harbour Club floor, as a lot of exclusive privileges included such as: express check-in and check-out, complimentary refreshment as well as internet service are available.
Thank you once again for staying here, it is our honor to serve you and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Best Wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this hotell in may 2 years ago.
The room was very clean also the bathroom was very clean, only problem is that the room was so small?? the room had a computer, but offcourse it didnt work.

The staff was friendly and serviceminded, the best of it all was the restaurant on 3`rd floor if I remember correctly, window restaurant is the name, Excellent food and great service, the wiew is not much to brag about, just looked directly into the neighbour building.
Location is good, just a couple of minutes from the harbour.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jericho J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Jericho J,

Thank you for staying with us at The Kowloon Hotel 2 years ago and sharing your experience with us.
Our hotel is perfectly located at the hub of Tsimshatsui therefore guests find it very convenient to access different parts in Hong Kong.
If you wish to use the computer, you may choose to stay at our Harbour Club Floor in which complimentary internet is being offered.
You got a good memory and named it mostly correct: our restaurant – The Window Café serves international buffet as well as a la carte menu; our staff found it encouraging to know about your positive feedback and will continue to do their best.
Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of this hotel is wonderful. There are several MTR stops right next to the hotel. Walkable (about 5-10min) distance to Ave of the Stars/Star Ferry.

On the room itself, we stayed in the harbour view room. The view was great since we were able to view part of the Hong Kong Island skyline. The room is small but it is quite comfortable and fit the two of us. The room is clean and for the price this is a great value for such a high quality hotel.

The hotel staff was extremely helpful and spoke English very well.

Room Tip: Corner harbour view room for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvToTravelGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear LuvToTravelGrl,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience at The Kowloon Hotel.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the value provided by the hotel.
Yes, the harbour view room can partially view the harbour, and with the hotel’s best location,
you may access anywhere within a short walking distance.
We sincerely wish you a delightful time here and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!

All the best,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Regal Kowloon Hotel
#102 of 727 in Hong Kong
2,197 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#101 of 727 in Hong Kong
2,729 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
#123 of 727 in Hong Kong
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#109 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $145 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing