We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #139 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this hotell in may 2 years ago.
The room was very clean also the bathroom was very clean, only problem is that the room was so small?? the room had a computer, but offcourse it didnt work.

The staff was friendly and serviceminded, the best of it all was the restaurant on 3`rd floor if I remember correctly, window restaurant is the name, Excellent food and great service, the wiew is not much to brag about, just looked directly into the neighbour building.
Location is good, just a couple of minutes from the harbour.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jericho J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Jericho J,

Thank you for staying with us at The Kowloon Hotel 2 years ago and sharing your experience with us.
Our hotel is perfectly located at the hub of Tsimshatsui therefore guests find it very convenient to access different parts in Hong Kong.
If you wish to use the computer, you may choose to stay at our Harbour Club Floor in which complimentary internet is being offered.
You got a good memory and named it mostly correct: our restaurant – The Window Café serves international buffet as well as a la carte menu; our staff found it encouraging to know about your positive feedback and will continue to do their best.
Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    789
    405
    93
    54
See reviews for
263
485
173
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of this hotel is wonderful. There are several MTR stops right next to the hotel. Walkable (about 5-10min) distance to Ave of the Stars/Star Ferry.

On the room itself, we stayed in the harbour view room. The view was great since we were able to view part of the Hong Kong Island skyline. The room is small but it is quite comfortable and fit the two of us. The room is clean and for the price this is a great value for such a high quality hotel.

The hotel staff was extremely helpful and spoke English very well.

Room Tip: Corner harbour view room for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvToTravelGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear LuvToTravelGrl,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience at The Kowloon Hotel.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the value provided by the hotel.
Yes, the harbour view room can partially view the harbour, and with the hotel’s best location,
you may access anywhere within a short walking distance.
We sincerely wish you a delightful time here and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!

All the best,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have to confess, I was really worried about staying at this hotel particularly as we were staying for 7 nights. I chose it for its location originally and then read some reviews and thought, oh no, I've made a big mistake. So many people complained about the small size of the rooms, and its true they are small but you are in Nathan Road, Kowloon and unless you want to pay a kings ransom, this is probably the best deal you will get for this great location. I was travelling with my husband who is 6 foot 2 inches and there were no problems at all with space. We both had a large suitcase each and they easily fitted under the bed. It really wasn't any problem to close the lid and slide it under IF I felt I needed extra room. The rooms were clean and room service was very good. I had also read that there wasnt much choice for breakfast so I paid particular attention to what was on offer with this review in mind. So let me just give a small overview of what was on offer on the mornings that I went to breakfast: cereal, juice, toast, pastries, eggs benedict, poached eggs, omlette cooked to you order whilst you wait, bacon, backed beans, tomatoes, hash browns, mushrooms, fresh fruit salad, crackers, cheese, cold meats, chinese style breakfasts, tea and coffee - and I know that I have not covered it all. All in all I thought that this hotel was value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get yourself a Harbour View room, right on the corner of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maffradasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Maffradasher,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on this review website. Not only valuable to us, your comment is also useful to all the website members who wish to visit HK. Your tip on putting the luggage under the bed is smart and actually it is also the purpose for the bed having a hollow base. On the other hand, we hope you enjoyed the buffet breakfast and tried all the food items you listed! The Kowloon Hotel aims at providing the best value and we would continue to deliver the best hospitality. It is our honor to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!

Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Kowloon Hotel was clean, the staff were polite enough, but the rooms were INCREDIBLY small!!! I also found that the location was a little far from the areas that give an authentic Hong Kong experience. I prefer to be near the market district, where the action is.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear MrBishi,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. Our hotel is located right atop the Tsimshatsui MTR station and you may reach various sightseeing point as well as business district with a walking distance. We hope you enjoy your stay here and looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Best Wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was my fourth stay at The Kowloon in five years. We had the same corner room as the last three times (harbour view). We arrived at about 10.30 pm and our room had a king bed. Five minutes after going to Reception, the housekeeper had turned the bed into two singles. The whole hotel has been upgraded and while the rooms are small, The Kowloon is in the best location. The fridge has been relocated which has made the wardrobe incredibly small. We take extra coathangers (the ones you get from the drycleaners at home) as the few wooden ones aren't enough. The iceblock machine in the hallway (I think 2 per floor) is a treat. The tea and coffee making facilities are good. We go to the Flower Market on our first day to stock up on roses, etc. and the hotel supplies vases in many sizes, depending on what you have bought. I noticed an earlier review which mentioned the rubbish bins not being lined with plastic. While the rest of the world is trying to save plastic bags, HK is the plastic bag capital of the world. We used the plastic bags we got with our purchases to line the 2 rubbish bins. This was my 11th visit to HongKong and once again, I thoroughly recommend The Kowloon Hotel

Room Tip: Request a corner room on the Nathan Road side, facing the Harbour, from the 6th floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Dale47_11,

Thank you for staying with The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us. Our housekeeping staff are glad to hear your comment about their efficiency, and they will keep on providing the best to our guests. On the other hand, we would like to thank you for your understanding on the plastic bag issue. Also, we truly appreciate that you have brought along with the coat hangers and would like to apologise for not having enough stock in room; meanwhile, you may request from the housekeeping department anytime at your need (just like the vase). Looking forward to welcoming you on your 5th visit and it is our honor to serve you as our regular guest!

Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights in Kowloon Hotel from October 26. I was aware of earlier reviews about the small size of the room. The reviews were true. A person with a large frame will feel uncomfortable, especially in the bathroom. The trash can was not lined with a plastic bag, which make it quite unhygienic.

The surprise was the free breakfast. Although I booked the room for a twin occupancy, breakfast was free for 1 person only. The Western menu consisted of a fruit juice cordial, small bowl of Corn Flakes with a small jug of milk. 1 boiled egg was all that was given. A small serving of yoghurt in a disposable cup completed the meal. Coffee was included.

The hotel is very accessible to transport and shops. Kowloon Hotel was very crowded while we were there. So, a lot of people like the value that the hotel offers. Tour companies obviously like that.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to have less traffic noise. We were on Floor 13 and it was quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YSLeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear YSLeng,

Thank you for telling us your experience at The Kowloon Hotel. Your comment is always valuable for us to seek for higher service standard.
The hotel is located at the hub of the city and well popular among our guests by its accessibility.
For your concern on the trash can, we have already passed it to the housekeeping department for further review.
The breakfast at The Coffee Corner was a rather simple to provide ones with energy for the day, if you go for a wide selection, you might choose to enjoy the buffet breakfast at The Window Café.
Looking forward to seeing you soon on your next visit!

Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itogon, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

after we know the hotel for 20 over years we came back after about 10 years. we booked for two, one breakfast was included, if you call it breakfast. WIFI in the lobby is free, beware to use it in the room, its a costly thing, we paid some 800HKD for the 3 days we stayed there, the thing is, maybe in the fineprint they tell you about cost, not at the reception.
we do love the cosy rooms, they are small, dont bring a bag, there is no space, but its nice.
the only real good thing is the location. just great and very convenient.
we, after all our love we had for the kowloon hotel, will never ever go back there. there is a lot of hotels just near by..............

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Thomas L,

Thank you for staying with The Kowloon Hotel after 10 years and sharing your experience with us. Your comment is always valuable for us to improve our service standard.
We would like to apologise if the WIFI charges disappoint you; meanwhile, if you wish to have free WIFI, you may choose staying at our Harbour Club floor, complimentary WIFI as well as refreshment and express check in / our service could be enjoyed.
We would remind our staff to inform our guests about the charges during check in rather than showing them the money amount at check-out.
Sorry to disappoint you but we sincerely hope to see you for the 3rd time.
We truly hope that you will not judge us by this single experience and looking forward to having another opportunity to restore your faith with us.

Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
#128 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,548 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#266 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Property: The Kowloon Hotel
Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#107 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing