We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An okay Hotel, with tiny rooms.”
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #135 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Kowloon Hotel was clean, the staff were polite enough, but the rooms were INCREDIBLY small!!! I also found that the location was a little far from the areas that give an authentic Hong Kong experience. I prefer to be near the market district, where the action is.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear MrBishi,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. Our hotel is located right atop the Tsimshatsui MTR station and you may reach various sightseeing point as well as business district with a walking distance. We hope you enjoy your stay here and looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Best Wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was my fourth stay at The Kowloon in five years. We had the same corner room as the last three times (harbour view). We arrived at about 10.30 pm and our room had a king bed. Five minutes after going to Reception, the housekeeper had turned the bed into two singles. The whole hotel has been upgraded and while the rooms are small, The Kowloon is in the best location. The fridge has been relocated which has made the wardrobe incredibly small. We take extra coathangers (the ones you get from the drycleaners at home) as the few wooden ones aren't enough. The iceblock machine in the hallway (I think 2 per floor) is a treat. The tea and coffee making facilities are good. We go to the Flower Market on our first day to stock up on roses, etc. and the hotel supplies vases in many sizes, depending on what you have bought. I noticed an earlier review which mentioned the rubbish bins not being lined with plastic. While the rest of the world is trying to save plastic bags, HK is the plastic bag capital of the world. We used the plastic bags we got with our purchases to line the 2 rubbish bins. This was my 11th visit to HongKong and once again, I thoroughly recommend The Kowloon Hotel

Room Tip: Request a corner room on the Nathan Road side, facing the Harbour, from the 6th floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dale47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Dale47_11,

Thank you for staying with The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us. Our housekeeping staff are glad to hear your comment about their efficiency, and they will keep on providing the best to our guests. On the other hand, we would like to thank you for your understanding on the plastic bag issue. Also, we truly appreciate that you have brought along with the coat hangers and would like to apologise for not having enough stock in room; meanwhile, you may request from the housekeeping department anytime at your need (just like the vase). Looking forward to welcoming you on your 5th visit and it is our honor to serve you as our regular guest!

Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights in Kowloon Hotel from October 26. I was aware of earlier reviews about the small size of the room. The reviews were true. A person with a large frame will feel uncomfortable, especially in the bathroom. The trash can was not lined with a plastic bag, which make it quite unhygienic.

The surprise was the free breakfast. Although I booked the room for a twin occupancy, breakfast was free for 1 person only. The Western menu consisted of a fruit juice cordial, small bowl of Corn Flakes with a small jug of milk. 1 boiled egg was all that was given. A small serving of yoghurt in a disposable cup completed the meal. Coffee was included.

The hotel is very accessible to transport and shops. Kowloon Hotel was very crowded while we were there. So, a lot of people like the value that the hotel offers. Tour companies obviously like that.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to have less traffic noise. We were on Floor 13 and it was quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YSLeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear YSLeng,

Thank you for telling us your experience at The Kowloon Hotel. Your comment is always valuable for us to seek for higher service standard.
The hotel is located at the hub of the city and well popular among our guests by its accessibility.
For your concern on the trash can, we have already passed it to the housekeeping department for further review.
The breakfast at The Coffee Corner was a rather simple to provide ones with energy for the day, if you go for a wide selection, you might choose to enjoy the buffet breakfast at The Window Café.
Looking forward to seeing you soon on your next visit!

Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

after we know the hotel for 20 over years we came back after about 10 years. we booked for two, one breakfast was included, if you call it breakfast. WIFI in the lobby is free, beware to use it in the room, its a costly thing, we paid some 800HKD for the 3 days we stayed there, the thing is, maybe in the fineprint they tell you about cost, not at the reception.
we do love the cosy rooms, they are small, dont bring a bag, there is no space, but its nice.
the only real good thing is the location. just great and very convenient.
we, after all our love we had for the kowloon hotel, will never ever go back there. there is a lot of hotels just near by..............

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Thomas L,

Thank you for staying with The Kowloon Hotel after 10 years and sharing your experience with us. Your comment is always valuable for us to improve our service standard.
We would like to apologise if the WIFI charges disappoint you; meanwhile, if you wish to have free WIFI, you may choose staying at our Harbour Club floor, complimentary WIFI as well as refreshment and express check in / our service could be enjoyed.
We would remind our staff to inform our guests about the charges during check in rather than showing them the money amount at check-out.
Sorry to disappoint you but we sincerely hope to see you for the 3rd time.
We truly hope that you will not judge us by this single experience and looking forward to having another opportunity to restore your faith with us.

Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed two nights in the hotel as part of our tour to China with Ritz Tour. We requested and they confirm a king size room and when we got to the hotel they said there were all "Premium Rooms" and what a disaster of room it was! Instead of a King bed we got a full size bed hard as a rock. Not room to put the luggage and the closet had room for 4 hangers. We had to ask for toilet paper!
The lobby was always busy and noisy, and if you need to wait for somebody there is no were to sit.
The breakfast buffet was very poor, crowded and you have to beg for service and a cup of coffee.
The location is good, but we stayed and extra day in Hong Kong after the tour and thank God we had reservation in the Holiday Inn that is just a block away on Nathan Rd. and what a difference, great rooms, beautiful lobby and excellent service. I recommend you check rates before reserving in the Kowloon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keladykman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear keladykman,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us. The hotel is situated atop the MTR station to provide convenience to guests. For family stay, you may choose the suite which allows you to have more space. We sincerely apologise for the supply shortage on toilet paper and the service for buffet breakfast; we have already passed your opinion to the departments concerned for improvement. Your comments are valuable for us to further improve the service quality; we sincerely hope that you will not judge us by this single experience and looking forward to having another opportunity to restore your faith with us.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

we booked the hotel through booking.com and chose a option with breakfast included. only after the booking was made did the explanation come through that the breakfast was a set breakfast in the coffee corner, which did not really mean anythhing if you do not know the hotel. This we found out on arrival that it was in the reception area, and breakfast is a muffin and coffee on a plastic tray, not acceptable and very misleading. when we discussed it with the check in staff at the counter( after we stood in a long que to be served) there answer was that it is booking.com that is responsible for the misleading breakfast advertising. and that is not the case, its the hotel's selling it that way. we could upgrade for breakfast but had to pay and was not compensated for the original pathetic breakfast.
the rooms are also very very small. even though the position is very good i will not recomend this hotel. the reception staff is helpfull and friendly but the restaurant staff is very unpleasant and so is the experiance at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank selsa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear selsa123,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and providing comments for us.
Firstly, we would like to extend our sincere apology for the misunderstanding caused.
In fact we could have done better in providing more information on type of breakfast offered instead of just stating “breakfast included” at the very beginning.
We sincerely hope that you will not judge us by this single experience and looking forward to having another opportunity to restore your faith with us.

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had a room on the club floor which turned out to be a good choice. The hotel is clearly aged and the rooms tiny, but at least you get really good service. As mentioned, the club floor is a good thing because WiFi, Breakfast and much more is included in the rate. Staff was very friendly throughout the hotel, especially at the club floor lounge.
Doesn't matter if you are in town for business or leisure, the location is absolutely great, there even is direct access to the subway system.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtraveller360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Worldtraveller360,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and dropped us a few lines here on TripAdvisor.
It is great to hear you enjoyed the accommodation at the club floor. The club floor offers complimentary privileges and takes care of all your needs; it is indeed a good choice (especially for business travelers!)
Perfectly located at the city centre, you may find our hotel very convenient to different spots.
Thank you once again for staying here and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Regal Kowloon Hotel
#103 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,205 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#100 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,731 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
#125 of 726 in Hong Kong
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#110 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $145 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing