We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$91
Hotels.com$91
Trip.com$76
Travelocity$91
Priceline$66
ZenHotels.com$75
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,168)
Filter reviews
2,168 results
Traveler rating
485
988
502
118
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
485
988
502
118
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tsim sha tsui standard room dim sum late check location harbour floor hk hong exit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,167 - 1,172 of 2,168 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I am staying in this hotel since 1986. Recently I read reviews of this hotel and found that it has recently re-furnished. I booked a partial-harbor view room. When I reached hotel, check-in was smooth. I was given room on 7th floor and being harbor view, it was the last one room. But the moment I entered the room, a bad smell welcomed me. I asked the housekeeping who came and sprayed the room but of no help. I asked the reception to change room. They allotted me room on 12th floor. I requested them to transfer my bags with as I had to go for a meeting. BUT reception asked me to wait in newly allotted room till luggage is transferred. I stayed and waited in my room for over 1 hours and after repeated calls at reception my bags were transferred to my room. But I was already late for my meeting so I had to cancel that. But no regret or sorry from the hotel side.
Next day as my flight was at 8 pm, while making booking I requested for late checkout say 4 pm and hotel promised me that they will do do their best to accommodate it. BUT when I requested at reception, they told me that maximum they can do is to allow checkout at 2 pm. I requested again and showed the emails etc. then they said that best they can do is 3 pm and if I want 4 pm, I will have to pay half day charges. It was strange for me as being so old customer, I was expecting better treatment from hotel. They asked me that after 3 pm, I can wait in lobby. But in lobby they hardly have one seating arrangement of 4 or 5 persons which is always full. So i spend around 2 hours in lobby standing.
The only advantage of this hotel is the location, right now the Nathan road, next to harbor. Rooms are small and I didnt find much difference even after refurnishing. Very small flat tv on the wall. No place to keep luggage but on floor. If you open bags then you can not move around in the room.
after this time experience, I will definitely try some other hotel next time.

Room tip: Dont pay extra for Harbor view room as its not worth as its partial only and very small view of harbor.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atycoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and taking the time to share your experience with us.
Our hotel is ideally located at the city centre and guests found it very convenient.
We first have to apologize for the room assignment and luggage arrangement; we have already reviewed your comment and passed it to the departments concerned for further improvement.
For your comment regarding to late check out, we understand on your need; and the hotel has already tried the best to arrange a later check out time. However, since September is a peak season, it might fail to best accommodate your need. We are sorry to cause you so much inconvenience.
We sincerely value you as our loyal customer and hope that you will not judge us by this single experience. We look forward to having another opportunity to restore your faith with us.

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights! A nice hotel in terms of location. Rooms are very small, too difficult for a person to walk. It has connectivity to the metro station through its basement. The breakfast buffet was okay, not too good. Harbor and the con ton road is just 5 min by walk.

P.S. Some of the staff members were rude.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rijulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you very much for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and taking the time to share your experience here.
Your comment always motivates us to provide the best hospitality to our guests. In fact, our hotel is ideally located in the hub of Tsimshatsui and you can access to all parts of Hong Kong easily.
It is our honor to serve you.
Thank you once again for staying here and we look forward to seeing you soon!

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The room is small. With 3 person sharing, luggage still can place with some arrangement. Room is clean. Pillow too soft but after requested for extra pillow, it make to do. Room service also fast n good. Eg, we requested for iron n iron board n extra pillow. They bring to us less than 15 mins. Location is near mtr.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazelfoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel.
The hotel is situated atop the MTR station to provide convenience to guests; you may travel to all part of Hong Kong by this medium.
It is our pleasure to serve you and we sincerely wish you a delightful stay here.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon on your next visit!

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Booked to stay here with a group off friends at the end of September. The hotel is superbly situated in Hong Kong with very easy access to all the sights and public transport. The rooms are very nice clean contain everything you need but are a bit on the small side so be prepared to live out of your suitcase as there are no drawers as such to put your clothes into. A small wardrobe to hang things up that's about it. The staff were great and very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to help you to enjoy your stay.Breakfast is very good with a wide selection of choice and very flexible on times to enjoy it. On the whole its very good value for money.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryScotland49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us. Our hotel is ideally located in the hub of Hong Kong and you can travel to all parts of the city within a short distance. Our staff are encouraged to know about your delightful stay especially for the breakfast. The Kowloon Hotel always aims at providing the best value and hospitality to our guests and we would continue to do so. Thank you once again for staying here and we look forward to seeing you another reunion here soon!

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years. It's clean, well run and uncomplicated. No surprises good or bad, other than it's considerably more expensive than it used to be.

Great location, good beds, enough room to walk and stand up straight in your room and nice breakfast buffet. I'll stay here again.

Room tip: I like the 17th and 18th floor, but you have to wait for the elevators in the morning...so add a few minutes.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom i
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us again and sharing your experience here.
Our Harbour Club Floor provides exclusive privileges to guests such as complimentary check-in, light refreshment and free internet service, therefore guests found it great to stay at the 17th and 18th floor.
We value your comment and it always motivates us to do better. The Kowloon Hotel will continue to provide the best hospitality to our guests and we look forward to serving you as our regular guest!

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews