We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If you stay over 14 days in HK this hotel is a bargain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong
Ranked #137 of 699 Hotels in Hong Kong
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you stay over 14 days in HK this hotel is a bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As my wife is HK Chinese we visit quite frequently. This time we couldn't stay with friends and being there for three weeks looked for a hotel. Harbour Plaza offers special rates for stays over 14 days and while Tin Shui Way is a good distance out from HK Island was very good value at @GBP 50 per day.
Tin Shui Way is a residential area with a really nice park adjacent to the hotel and a bus garage about 50 yards away. Journey time to Central is about an hour with buses every 10 minutes or so.

The long stay rooms are very large by any standard with a small kitchen area, a lounge area as well as beds. This hotel has a tennis court and a really good large outdoor swimming pool.

It has an airport shuttle service but the ordinary double deck airport bus is only slightly slower and much cheaper.

If you can accept the long journey time to HK Island this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: There are two towers that make up this hotel. Chinese tours tend to take the left tower (looking fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    273
    84
    19
    8
See reviews for
108
93
47
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

typing this review at the hotel.

company helped me to book this hotel as it was near to my office.

i arrived quite late (past 12mn) with 3pcs of luggage, so no one was at the lobby to help me with my bags. ok no problem..but as i stepped into the lobby, they had at least 7 to 8 front desk staff standing around. a case of misaligned manpower usage? i definitely would have appreciated someone helping me with my luggage.

after i checked in, i was told that my room is in the other tower about 200m away and the 2 buildings are not linked..so i had to drag my luggage and backpack to the other building myself. again, i would have appreciated if there was someone to help me with it.

i think the rooms in the other tower are more of serviced apartments because it is pretty big with a kitchenette (oven and convention stove) and a 2 door fridge. weirdly enough, they did not provide any pots or cutlery.

in-room safe and kettle are available.

the tv in the room is a little pathetic though, a small 14" CRT. definitely out of place in such a nice room.

1 thing which i must commend is that the wifi signal is excellent because they have a wireless router in each room. superb speeds at HKD120 per day.

breakfast was pretty decent for an asian palate. had to walk to the main building though.

there is a shopping centre just behind the 2 buildings, so you can get whatever you need there. supermarket on the top floor. i saw macdonalds, pizza hut, and a few eateries.

do not know about the transport around here though. afterall, this is not a touristy place but the general standard of transport in HK is good.

overall a nice,comfortable stay although i feel that the service when i checked in could be better. if it is raining, I dont know how anyone can walk betwen the 2 buildings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archenemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Did not include my booking with breakfast. Nevertheless went to have a look at the buffet breakfast before deciding. But the spread was quite basic for about HKG100.

We ended up going to the Tim Sum Restaurant one floor directly above the reception. Two of us spent about HKD80 in total each morning. I think the Tim Sum is quite cheap compared to Singapore standard. SGD12.8 for 2 person in an aircon restaurant with service is rather cheap.

So if you are not a Muslim, go and eat at the restaurant rather than the New York New York coffee house. If you get tired with the restaurant there are many other eating outlets in the shopping complex next to the hotel. BTW it is connected to the hotel.

The shopping at this hotel complex is something like Parkway Parade. Maybe a shade lower.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank huikwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had stayed on Feb-March 2012, nice clean hotel in a quiet not crowdy neibh of Hong Kong, very good transportation outside the hotel.

Very convienient the shuttle bus to the airport in excellent price.
The room is big and spacious and the value for money is excellent, as Hong Kong is extremely expensive for accomodation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Vanillia_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

i stayed there on 4th and 5th july 2012 with my freinds,hotel property is good,rooms and neat and clean,hotel staff is guest freindly and food is excellent but its too far from the city,taxi takes around 400 hong kong dollars for the downtown and hotel staff is very poor in english...overall good

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashiishmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Harbour Plaza Resort City was our first Hotel when we went to Hong Kong for a four day vacation. The first concern we had was the location. Apparently if you are on the go and have a tight schedule this hotel is not the best place for you since it is far from the city. They have two separate building which is not connected by bridge, we checked in on the other building and were told we have to go out and walk to the other building to get to our room, which was a bit of inconvenience. Although it is near the train station you will spend more than an hour travelling by train or bus and if you are on a tight budget it would be costly to travel back and forth to this hotel. It is however the best hotel if you want a quiet area far from the crowd. It is near a mall in case you need a late dinner or midnight snack. The room is clean and very bright. It has big windows with a nice view. The bed is pretty comfortable. We stayed on a standard room, it is not big neither small, perfect for couple. The rate we got was just right for the accommodation we received. I would not book this hotel again myself but if I would have the chance to stay in there I really wouldn’t mind. We stayed here for a night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wavemint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

i have been there for two days, they have good facilities, good market, good transport, good food. from airport it 45 mins drive. the area is having good market for all kind of foods, electronics, restaurants and malls.

Room Tip: they hv both smoking and non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamSingh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#120 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#162 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
pentahotel Hong Kong Kowloon
#67 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#50 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#71 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#108 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong

Property: Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong
Address: No.18 Tin Yan Road, Tin Shui Wai, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel & Shopping Complex situated near Tin Shui Wai Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing