We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rooftop pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #53 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing rooftop pool!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at Harbour Grand Kowloon again. I stayed in this hotel also one year ago. It was really nice to be back there.

The hotel has amazing harbour view, but more is, that you can enjoy the city and harbour view from rooftop with lovely swimming pool.

We had with my boyfriend again room on club floor. Must recommend it. We had a lot of complimentary food and drinks during all day. Really convenient during busy day!

The staff is super friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great condition and facilities.

Room Tip: Club floor room with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NesEvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    1,004
    250
    62
    32
See reviews for
698
1,276
109
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (949)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We chose this hotel because it had a harbour view, interconnecting rooms and heated swimming pool and wasn't ridiculously expensive for 2 harbour view rooms. Overall I would recommend for a family if you like a good amount of space away from too much noise. We got the airport train and free shuttle bus to the hotel which was fine and we got a taxi back to the airport. They cost the same amount for a family of 4 but must depend on the traffic. Obviously taxi is more convenient with luggage! My kids (9&&) loved the foyer and the beds were very comfortable, we had lots of space and were given interconnecting rooms as requested. We booked through Expedia and the rate was reduced after booking but Expedia refunded the difference. We didn't get wifi included but there are packages available. Not having wifi was a pain but you can get it in parks or pay the large hotel rates!! The hotel pool has amazing views, we found the 'no spitting in the pool' sign amusing! The kids loved the pool but it was pretty chilly. We didn't eat in the hotel but looked nice. We walked along the front a few times to get the star ferry and just for the view which is lovely. We also used the hotel shuttle bus to get to and from the Kowloon shopping area which was great as the hotel is about 25 mins walk away from the star ferry. My kids loved the Temple Street night market and Ocean Park. We did get the ferry to the nearest ferry to the hotel from North Point once but took ages and probably quicker just to get the star ferry. If you are in a hurry to get around and want central MTR access then a more central hotel is probably better but overall we enjoyed our stay. Wished we had had more time. The hotel did bill us for an Evian water for $7 after we had left but I immediately told them we hadn't had it and they have said they will refund - hope this happens!!!

Room Tip: High floor harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyhols66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHP_Zuidervliet
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I'm a regular in this hotel and I keep coming back. Yes there are more hotels in Hong Kong, yes there are maybe newer hotels in Hong Kong but the Harbour Grand just does it for me.

The location is quite convenient near Hong Hum station. So when you arrive you can easy go to the hotel by taxi but I believe there is also a shuttle. The same shuttle also does pick ups from the airport and goes throughout the city at specific locations. The hotel is located next to the harbour which is nice to see when you wake up (if you pick a sea view room). The only downside is that HK seems to be often quite foggy so the view you can't always enjoy.

The rooms are pretty basic but clean though some rooms seem to have a huge bed, as in at least 2,2 meters width. Further more they have pretty much all facilities you need and if not, give them a call and they bring it to you. A big plus for me is that they have proper pillows as well blankets for people who are allergic to feathers. It's something even big brands sometimes look over and then you endup with some terrible pillow and sheets as blankets. Here not, they got it and it's actually quite comfortable.

The facilities I can't say to much about. They have a nice breakfast though in the morning and at the groundfloor a pastry chef from Germany who does some amazing Forest cakes. Nearby there are a lot of small restaurants but then HK on itself is amazing for food.

The only downside I can think off is that some rooms still allow smoking so you have to pay attention to ask for non smoking. Last time I had a bit of a noisy AC, which can happen but still not to pleasant. Lastly and this really grinds my gears, they ask 50 HKD per booking per ticket. I think such should be basic, it's also the only hotel I've ever seen doing this. Maybe on the side note also a bit annoying is you've to pay for wifi, it's 2014 it should be basic.

Room Tip: Sea view is nice if it's not foggy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHP_Zuidervliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We chose the Harbour Grand for the first leg of our honeymoon and were rewarded with an upgrade to a harbour view suite on arrival. What a view! Staff were really helpful, speaking to taxi drivers for us as our Chinese isn't up to much. The breakfasts were amazing, I'm surprised we didn't need to have a lie down after the amount we ate every day. Although the hotel is slightly out of town, the hotel provides a courtesy bus free of charge that runs all day and if you miss the last one, taxis don't cost too much. We did eat at the waterfront one night and were fortunate to be able to sit outside and take in the fantastic view. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to HK!

Room Tip: Got to be a harbour view room, the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and stayed at Harbour Grand at the end of March and could not fault anything at all. Because we stayed for 3 nights we were automatically upgraded to Club status which was absolutely faultless. Staff everywhere in the hotel, amenities and location were superb.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Club Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wenw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking surrey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a very comfortable stay. Exceptional service from all staff. Nothing was too much trouble!
We would highly recommend it to others. We enjoyed spectacular views from our windows of the harbour. Lovely walks along the harbour too. The room was spacious and well equiped. Would like to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooldudeWokingSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed here after spending 3 nights at the sister hotel on HK Island. We found this hotel to be more accomodating with the staff more attentive than at the Grand Harbour Hong Kong. Our room was nice and the rooftop pool would have been very nice had the weather been better.

I note what people have said about the locartion of this hotel and whilst it is true that it is a fair walk to Hong Hom metro stop the complimentary shuttle service which runs every 30mins is excellent and we used it daily. The shuttle bus takes about 15/20 mins to get to the last stop and it was always on time. In fairness, if you are impatient a taxi would only cost £5 and therefore I wouldn't let this prevent you from staying at what is otherwise a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattSim1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#57 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,315 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,828 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,469 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#48 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Property: Harbour Grand Kowloon
Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing