We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, impersonal staff, smelly lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #50 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
241 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, impersonal staff, smelly lobby”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

well, went to stay for couple of nights during the trip to HongKong. Its a great location, nice views (if you chose the rooms facing the harbor).
The staff need to learn to smile a bit. The staff are helpful. But they just do their job!! The guys in the airport counter were more eager to sell me a private taxi service than to tell me the hotel transfer schedule!!
The Hotel room is great, spacious and well appointed. Its value for money for the room. The lobby is next to a open buffet restaurant. Well, food must smell good, but not every one should like the smell!! I found the lobby to be smelly.

Location - 7/10
Room Quality - 8/10
View from room - 9/10
service of front office staff - 7/10
friendliness of front office staff - 5/10
return - NO

Room Tip: for Euro 10 ~ 15 you will get a harbor facing room...It is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and compliments. I have relayed your feedback to our relevant departments – thank you for letting us know as comments play a large role in helping us further improve. Should we have the blessing to welcome you back to the hotel, please feel free to contact us directly so that we can personally handle your bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,508
    976
    245
    59
    31
See reviews for
675
1,242
107
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PR4 1PB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just spent 10 nights at Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel. We stayed on the Harbour Club Floor with sea view. Well recommended.
Met some great staff members, Icy and Millie at Club reception, Vicky, Gemma and Andy in the executive lounge, these staff members make the hotel great. Breakfast very good, afternoon tea and evening snacks are a great way to chill following an exciting day out and about. Keep the tummy empty and visit the Water Front Bar, meet Patrick and Toby and enjoy the food, we had Salmon and Pizza we enjoyed it. they have an happy hour, great time to try a Harbour Grand Kowloon Cocktail, worth the experience. Is the Hotel Good? it is, are staff members good? They are, is the hotel experience good? It is.
Enjoy your holiday
I ticked the couples, with the heart and arrow, but being an old couple, the experience is well worth the holiday.

Room Tip: Take a taxi to Nathan Road, around 35 HKD Get an MTR ticket to cover your stay, get your money back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryPr41pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic 5-star review. We are pleased to learn that you experienced our Harbour Club floors with sea views and enjoyed it. Your kind words have been relayed back to Icy, Millie, Vicky, Gemma, Andy, Patrick, and Toby. They are all very thankful and have enjoyed meeting you both. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we can personally handle your future bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you both back to Harbour Grand Kowloon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Excellent hotel with good facilities. Lovely pool at the top with great views. Our deal didn't include breakfast which was expensive! We booked a day in the Harbour Club which included breakfast and snacks all day including drinks but at 700 HK

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and compliments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It might be a bit late now but for future reference – it might be worth browsing through our room package offers on our hotel’s website. We run seasonal room promotions as well as offers with breakfast and other optional services to offer our guests more flexibility. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we can personally handle your future bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we look forward to greeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Service and attitude is the one thing that really stood out here.

The hotel is a nice one too and the rooms are comparable to North America sizes. The king sized bed was very comfortable and the shower was strong which I like.

Modern style hotel and get a room facing the harbour if you are able.

The buffet on the ground floor was good (until I tried the one at Grand Hyatt) and reasonably priced.

The hotel is a very as it is very popular with tour groups. The location is great for travelling on the train to Guangzhou and Dongguan which is why I stayed here.

It is located in Hung Hom around the Whampoa development. Lots of eateries and shops.

It is a bit out of the ways from TST and other districts but there are shuttles and taxis.

Overall, very happy with my stay but location will probably not bring me back unless I am taking a train to GZ or SZ.

Room Tip: Take the Hotel Shuttle from the Kowloon MTR station - free and convenient. Get a room facing the har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent 5-star review and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We do invest in our service so we are flattered by your praises in this area which serves as motivation for our team. Next time you have plans for Hong Kong - please feel free to contact us directly so that we can personally handle your bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we look forward to greeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while my husband was on a business trip in HK. It was very opulent and good quality.

The rooms are great with a huge, comfortable bed, great bathroom, tv etc. we were on the side of the hotel so we did not have a harbour view which would have been nice. The Wi-Fi was very expensive!

location - more out of the main area but we always got the shuttle bus into Kowloon which was great but occasionally filled up so be there early.

The weather wasn't great in April but one day was hot so I used the roof top pool which was nice and had stunning views but was windy and cold water!

The restaurants all looked great but very very expensive so we didn't eat in them, we just had breakfast one day but that was about £25!

The staff were very friendly and helpful with any questions.

Hong Kong is good fun - we did Disneyland, Ocean Park, the Peak and the evening laser show.

It was a nice hotel just quite pricey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juice1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Disneyland, Ocean Park, the Peak and the evening laser show are definitely great experiences and I’m happy to hear you had fun. For your future reference should Hong Kong call you over again – our hotel’s website offers room packages with wifi and breakfast as well as other optional variations to cater for differing guest preferences. Alternatively, please feel free to contact us directly so that we can personally handle your future bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we look forward to greeting you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is great, amazing rooms and great facilities.
Loved the pool on the roof especially by night.
Its expensive like all hotels but very high quality.
The staff however could really do with a lesson from the Chinese in service.
I waited forever to be served at check in, then when I asked question had really short fairly unhelpful answers.
This hotel could have got excellent if the desk staff had a better attitude

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing review and compliments. You feedback is very much appreciated and I have relayed it to our relevant departments so that further investigation and improvements can be made. Nevertheless, I hope you and your friends had a fabulous time in Hong Kong and do feel free to contact us if you require us to personally handle your future bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we look forward to the opportunity to deliver you a flawless service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

With a small kid, the hotel thankfully allowed us an early check-in and we found the services prompt too. Modern comfortable rooms. The view from the rooms and the breakfast area is great and the nearby jogging track along the bay was great for evening strolls. Free shuttle buses every half-an-hour and very helpful door attendants who marked out the city map for us, made it easy for us for find our veg restaurants. With our cramped schedule, missed the roof-top pool unfortunately. M
Downside :- Would have loved a couple of more hot Indian veg items (only 2 were provided).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArvindN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and compliments. Regarding your feedback on Indian vegetarian items – we strive to offer a wide variety of dishes on our breakfast buffets to satisfy the numerous nationalities dining at The Promenade. Apart from international and continental breakfast – we complement the spread with Chinese and Indian specialties. For vegetarians, apart from Indian dishes and salads, we also serve items such as baked beans, daily hot vegetable dish, potato dish, steamed Cantonese vegetarian dumplings, congee and fresh fruit. In the meantime, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to serving you and your family again should the opportunity arise and please feel free to contact us directly so that we can personally handle your bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#56 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,171 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,713 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Property: Harbour Grand Kowloon
Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing