We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Super Establishment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Grand Kowloon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Grand Kowloon to your Saves list
Harbour Grand Kowloon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden | Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Hung Hom)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
BOOK DIRECT REWARD
Ranked #39 of 697 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Super Establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had four nights here in early March ... our first trip to HK .... we stayed here to meet friends at the end of their trip as bit of a surprise ... everything was new to us .... we opted for a Club Room with access all day including breakfast, afternoon tea, canapés and evening drinks.

The room was excellent with views to wards HK and the old airport and the harbour .... the Club was busy each day - the food was really good and the service was attentive .... without exception the staff were excellent and helped us with our may queries.

The shuttle bus was invaluable in getting in to town ... its only a 6 minute ride but due to construction on the way you cant walk along the promenade all the way in.

Next time we are in HL we will say here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank portisheadblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    820
    202
    51
    24
See reviews for
565
1,026
93
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We used this hotel as a stopover on the way to Sydney and were absolutely delighted with it. If you can, go for the Harbour View Club room, you will love the view but more importantly the perks of having a club room. This gives you access to the club lounge ,where you can take coffee throughout the day and take advantage of complimentary afternoon tea and pre dinner snacks and wine. These both were fantastic with a wide range of food available, so much so that if you'd eaten breakfast, taken afternoon tea and pre-dinner snacks you probably wouldn't need to eat anything more. Breakfast was very good with a large range of European and Asian food on offer.
The hotel has several restaurants ,offering a range of styles of cooking.The hotel is a little out of the way but the regular free shuttle bus is reliable and quick.
I would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Use the club lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed March 2013 for four nights. This hotel is a classic example of the high quality travellers should expect from Hong Kong hotels - the foyer, restaurant and lobby areas are spectacular and harbour view rooms excellent. The location in Whampoa is a little distance from the Nathan Street and Tsim Sha Tsui shopping areas but the harbourside is very much harbourside - there is just a pavement between you and the water. The hotel offers a regular free shuttle to Hung Hom, Tsim Sha Tsui and Nathan Rd (stops at Peninsula Hotel) running every 30 minutes. Taxi always available and inexpensive to most places of interest.

The primary advantage of this hotel is that it is quiet. The Whampoa area is well serviced for shops and range of good price restaurants and is very safe to walk around - Whampoa is a up-market residential area and shopping and eating here is at local prices. You can get everything here along Tak On St from shopping malls to more traditional street shopping at the northern end. The biggest asset is the promenade walkway which follows the harbourside for 1-2km in each direction and is a lovely walk, particularly in the evening with the lights of Hong Kong Island..

For those looking to do something different take the local ferry (next to hotel) to HK North Point, walk south-west to Kings Rd through the street markets then catch the double decker rattler tram in to Hong Kong central (Peak Tram stop is on the way), come back via the Star Ferry and collect the Hotel Shuttle outside the Peninsula - this is an experience that shows off the different faces of Hong Kong and very inexpensive.

Whampoa extension to subway and local station is currently being constructed and will be finished in next 12 months, providing rapid connection to Kowloon and Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Harbour View rooms, well worth it. Rooms look over Kowloon Harbour and North P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlf_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Harbour Grand for four nights at the end of February 2013 and were absolutely delighted. The staff throughout the hotel were attentive and courteous, the public rooms were roomy and well serviced and our bedroom was roomy with one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in. We were very fortunate to be upgraded to a harbour view room which was breathtaking.

We have previously stayed at the Marco Polo hotel by the star ferry which whilst it has a better location is not nearly the standard of the Harbour Grand. We used the complimentary shuttle bus a few times into town but also used the local taxis which are very inexpensive and only took a few minutes.

All in all highly recommended

Room Tip: try for the habour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingtame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 dys in march on our way back from china , we picked the hotel on a special with harbourWa views , o my god it was increadable . The food , service and location all fantastic .if budget doesn't matter it's a must stay when in hong kong .nyou have plenty of shops around you or it's a quick taxi to ladies market .
Great hotel stay stay sty stay stay

Room Tip: Upgrade to harbour view it's worth every cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stopped over for 3 days at this hotel on our way to Sydney last November. Upgraded to a suite overlooking the harbour it was very hard to drag ourselves away from the room to see the city sights. One of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Breakfast was of a very standard with plenty of choice. We didn't try the restaurant in the evenings as we wanted to sample Hong Kong's cuisine. The weather didn't permit us to use the rooftop swimming pool. Regular free shuttle bus transports you to Kowloon centre where you can take the ferry or underground over to Hong Kong island. Would highly recommend & would return to this hotel if ever back in this part of the world again

Room Tip: Request room overlooking harbour. Fantastic view day & night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMangano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After spending a week in Hong Kong with my wife and another couple staying at the Harbour Grand Kowloon we can only say how amazing the hotel and staff are. We stayed on the 20th Floor in the Harbour Club Rooms - the view was amazing, the service was fantastic from all the staff from the reception desk upon check in very late Friday night, to our check out on the Wednesday night. It was my wife's birthday whilst we were away and the hotel sent a bottle of wine, single red rose and a birtday cake to our room on the day of her birthday, a gesture that was well appreciated. We would recoomend this hotel to any one staying in Hong Kong, they have a complimentary shuttle bus downtown every half hour or a cheap cab fare if you wish about AUD4.00.
The Harbour Club Rooms are worth the extra money, wifi is free in the Harbour Club Room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#61 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,663 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 697 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 4,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#30 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,890 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Property: Harbour Grand Kowloon
Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden | Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel with 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites located along the Kowloon waterfront offering breathtaking views of Victoria Harbour. Conveniently situated next to the Wonderful Worlds of Whampoa, the hotel is adjacent to the ferry pier travelling to North Point and is only five minutes away by complimentary hotel shuttle bus to MTR Hunghom Station and downtown Tsimshatsui's business and shopping district. Key facilities include wireless broadband Internet service - available throughout the hotel, a deluxe fitness centre with sauna, steam bath and spa services, a rooftop pool featuring a one-sided glass wall overlooking the harbour, six renowned restaurants, a 4,500 sq ft. Grand Ballroom and four versatile function rooms for meetings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing